Fall in Love Like a Comic 2

March 17, 2008 at 6:22 pm 17 comments

The latter half of last week had been a wee bit crappy (I wanted to shout “F–K!!!” a lot), but instead of regaling you with a rather personal story I will substitute a review of a rather crappy manga.  Hmm.  Actually, that may be harsh.  I think I will say that it disappointed me greatly and so I am kind of bitter towards it.  :)

As I was sorting my new manga on Tuesday night and adding it all to my list, I came across Fall in Love Like a Comic and King of the Lamp.  Both got chucked into my trade-in box without the honour of being added to my holdings list, even if only temporarily.

(I have only read these once, and it was when they first came out.  I’m not rereading them – I’d rather use the time to read something new – so forgive any errors in my vague plot recap.)

Fall in Love Like a Comic  – here I fell victim to my two volume rule.  The first wasn’t bad.  Teenage girl is secretly a manga artist, decides she has to fall in love to add depth to her work (or her editor suggests it) and picks an appropriately hot guy.  The hot guy has also been in training to be the perfect guy, so he’s kind of boring.  But!   I liked the first volume enough to give the second a chance.  It was one of those titles that I’m not thrilled with but think will probably get better.  (S.A. for example.  Volume three is much better than the first because aside from any interesting plot or character developments they at least stopped recapping the S.A. members at the start of every chapter!) 

Where was I?

Oh, volume 2.   The reason this is getting tossed on my next trade in trip to the comic store.  The story itself started out shallow, but fine.  Girl continues to write manga, boy kisses her to make her blush… One of her stories was getting turned into a television drama, and the boyfriend got cast as the lead (because he’s perfect, don’t forget).  There is some angst when the girl finally clues in to the fact that he is going to be kissing someone else during the filming.  The last bit of the story is what I got so disgusted about.  When I describe why I hated the volume so much to people I tend to use the phrase, “bad cheese injected with super sweet syrup.”  Basically the girl gets stuffed into a poofy wedding dress, plunked in a church and in a grand gesture in front of all of their friends, the perfect boyfriend has a ceremony where he vows to marry her someday. 

Oh, please!

I know it doesn’t sound so bad, but good grief it was over the top.  Cheesy overdramatic gestures like that tend to make me roll my eyes anyway, but this one made me slam the book shut and regret my lost money and my two volume rule.  After that there was a short story about a perfect 5 year old kindergarten boy (their son) and just when I had made a vow to stop reading the book entirely (it was about half way through) it switched into drawing tips from the manga artist.  I have no idea if that was what filled the rest of the volume and I don’t particularly care.  I’m never going back to check. 

I think I was also annoyed by the fact that the reason he loved her was because she was very passionate about something.  Really?  That was it?  What if he had wandered by the track and saw some random girl trying really really hard to break a high jump record or something?  Would she have been good enough? 

I guess I’ll say that if you don’t mind shallow characters who never gain any depth, you like cheesy wedding dress scenes in your manga, or you like drawing manga and want some pointers, I would say go ahead and get this.  Otherwise, steer clear.

(I’ll try to do King of the Lamp soon.)

** I wrote the above review last Friday.  On Saturday I had a mom and her little girl come through my cash with some manga.  Pokemon, some other kid title and this volume.  I had a huge internal debate in my head while doing the transaction.  Did the mom know that this was rated older teen?  Did she care?  The little girl looked about 9 but I decided if I did point it out I was probably just being a jerk.  Telling her it was really bad wasn’t even an option, since nine year olds probably would like this book.  (And I do realize that not everyone shares my opinion on what is and isn’t good.)  :)

The little girl and I had this weird little staring match going on the whole time, too.  I know I was debating whether or not I had the right to attempt to ruin her manga purchasing fun, but I have no idea why she was staring at me…. 

So, yeah.  I don’t know if parents would appreciate a random cashier pointing out the age appropriateness of a title.  Would they get offended, thinking I thought they weren’t paying proper attention to what their kids read?  Would they be happy to know that there are ratings on the book if they didn’t already?  I know I pretty much always read “older” books growing up, and my parents didn’t care much about what I was reading.  (In a good way, though.  My dad started borrowing my books when I was in my teens, so it’s not like he didn’t know what was on my shelves.)

I think I tend to side with the kids.  Forgive me parents, if that’s wrong.

Entry filed under: manga, rambling.

An evening of maintenance Getting ready to go

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anna  |  March 17, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    I’m glad you posted about this – I thought the first volume was pretty cute, but that whole wedding dress thing in the second volume just sounds icky. So thanks for the warning!

    Reply
  • […] among his purchases. At It Can’t All Be About Manga, Cathy explains why she doesn’t like vol. 2 of Fall In Love Like a Comic, and she also presents an interesting cashier’s dilemma. Margaret Veira reviews vol. 16 of […]

    Reply
  • 3. pajcat  |  March 18, 2008 at 7:03 am

    I’m glad you found it helpful, Anna! I remember reading your review of the first volume and thinking that I had the same impression of it. Hence the bitterness with volume two. :)

    Usually the two manga rule is a force for good.

    Reply
  • 4. badtzphoto  |  March 18, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    “Otherwise, steer clear.”
    Thanks for the warning. I’ve read other reviews and almost all of them aren’t very favorable toward this series.

    Reply
  • 5. cathy  |  March 18, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    I was pretty surprised at how much I didn’t like it considering how well Viz has been doing for me lately. I liked and/or loved all the other new titles of theirs I’ve read.

    Reply
  • 6. Nunya  |  August 17, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    well D.U.H. it’s a chick book it’s SUPPOSED to be like that

    Reply
  • 7. pajcat  |  August 17, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Hmm, no. I know from experience that chick books DON’T have to be like that. They have have an engaging plot, or characters that aren’t completely shallow. If you like this manga, fine. Everyone likes different things, but please don’t say that all shoujo is supposed to be like this one. I’d stop reading them entirely…

    Reply
  • 8. Artist_At_Work  |  March 6, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Artist at Work, I’ve removed your comment. If you want to try again, go for it, but unless you can manage to be polite I’m going to be deleting it again.

    Not everyone is going to like every book. Since I’ve been reading manga for over 15 years and my collection is at around 2000 volumes, I’m going to come across books that don’t appeal to me. It’s allowed.

    Reply
  • 9. Artist_At_Work  |  March 6, 2010 at 11:29 am

    AND IM 10 AND ITS RATED FOR 17 YEAR OLDS SO YEAH IT ROCKZ

    Reply
  • 10. Www.backpainhelpinfo.com  |  February 16, 2013 at 2:00 pm

    XypStix also includes exercise, does your strength increases, you do not need to be more aromatic,
    flavourful and wonderfully tasty. Look around,
    even when other veggies are cooked in milk or perhaps risky as surgery, and slows the flow of blood sugar
    in our blood vessels? Learn how to how to grow taller fast.
    You may even be harmful to your health allows. Finally, you can eat an apple.

    Reply
  • 11. grow taller surgery uk  |  June 10, 2013 at 6:32 am

    It’s going to be end of mine day, however before finish I am reading this fantastic piece of writing to increase my experience.

    Reply
  • 12. garmin gps systems forerunner 910xt review  |  June 11, 2013 at 9:31 am

    Hi! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick
    shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading
    your articles. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same subjects?
    Many thanks!

    Reply
  • 13. Acai Berry france  |  June 18, 2013 at 12:11 pm

    Йthйrй Acai Berry Max nous-mкmes collaboration a
    perte en tenant densitй, detoxifie ameliore ce metabolisme.
    L’origine 100% naturelle est bizarre assurance pour ce bon fonctionnement, sans effets secondaires alors
    rempli ceci bien qu’un pamplemousse a. Naturel Acai Berry Max est l’un sыrs
    peu supplements alimentaires qui circulent assurйs commentaires entierement
    positifs. C’est pourquoi ceci garanti en mкme temps que remboursement d’argent qu’il donne
    levant parmi les formй lequel existent. l’objectif levant avec oublier du faix facilement et chez rempli securite celui-ci
    orient intйgral simplement cette meilleure fin.
    malgrй un dйmonstration quelconque n’etes pas satisfait, vous avez 180 jours contre acheter tout votre argent.

    Reply
  • 14. sleeping bag accessories  |  June 22, 2013 at 8:37 am

    My brother suggested I would possibly like this web site.
    He was entirely right. This submit truly made my day.
    You can not consider simply how a lot time I had spent for this information!
    Thanks!

    Reply
  • 15. sleeping bag en rating system  |  July 1, 2013 at 3:42 pm

    I all the time used to study post in news papers but now as I
    am a user of internet therefore from now I am using net for articles, thanks
    to web.

    Reply
  • 16. memory foam mattress illness  |  July 13, 2013 at 2:51 am

    memory foam mattress unhealthy memory foam mattress memory foam
    mattress or spring mattress memory foam mattress usa memory foam mattress topper full memory foam xl mattress topper

    Reply
  • 17. juicer reviews 2012  |  September 12, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    Ridiculous story there. What happened after?
    Take care!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2008
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com