Archive for March 10, 2008

It’s all about me this time

This post, I mean. 

Ahem.

First I would like to add my voice to those calling for the end of snow for the season.  Really, Winter, I’ve had enough.  And I’m from Northern Ontario and can trot out “I waded through hip deep snow to get to school that wasn’t cancelled” stories.  (BTW, a new co-worker at the library is from the Prairies.  She’s hardcore when it comes to snow.  It’s really funny to see her so laid back and amused at the panic Toronto descends into whenever a few inches fall.)

Basically, I’m tired of slipping on the ice that forms because of all the temperature fluctuations.  I actually like snow.

Due to my excessive non-blogging lately (was it the winter blahs? I’ve vowed to take more vitamin D to counteract it) I haven’t mentioned that Amy has graciously consented to let me come visit her in Japan again this year.  I’m leaving Easter weekend and staying for two weeks.  Yay me!  Tonight I bought my ticket from Tokyo to Komatsu at the ANA Airlines site.  (Heh.  Notice the lack of the “L” on the end there…) 

I was amused by registering for my ticket though.  They only wanted my name, gender and age.  (Cathy, female, 34)  That’s it.  And there were two payment options.  You could either pay by credit card online (which I did) or bring cash to one of the convenience store chains and pay there.  Awesome.  

On my way to Amy’s I’m definitely going to be depending on the kindness and organization of the Japanese airline people.  There’s only 2 hours between me landing from Canada and then taking off for Komatsu.  I’m feeling hopeful since the employees on the train system were so nice.  On my way to the airport in Osaka I accidentally got on the wrong train (arg!) and a nice conductor came and grabbed me.  I would have been embarrassed but I was so busy being grateful and tired from hauling my suitcases that I didn’t have the energy.  :)

And finally…. I was going to blog about some of my new manga last week, but of course the days where I had time I couldn’t get into WordPress.  Darnit!  I had had the kind of Wednesday/Friday/Saturday manga buying sprees that give me guilt and a vague panicky feeling about how much cash I just spent on graphic novels.  Then I reminded myself about the two jobs and how I used to buy books with words like that until I started spending all of my money on manga.  :)  It’s was all the fault of Viz, though.  Why did all the Shojo Beat stuff have to come out at once??

I had fun reading it though.

March 10, 2008 at 10:05 am 3 comments


March 2008
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com