Archive for March 28, 2008

Just eat your souvenirs

This blogging while on vacation thing is always harder than I think it will be.  By the time I have time to write I’m wiped and ready for bed.

As you probably know, right now Japan is entering Sakura season.  I had the chance to see some cherry blossom trees in bloom while in Kyoto (they look especially nice next to the plum trees which are more of a pink/purple colour) and they’re beautiful.  I didn’t feel like *too* much of a tourist when I saw all of the Japanese people taking the same kinds of pictures that I did.  Far away, close up, posing in front of the trees…

It’s also the time when sakura snacks hit the market.  The omiage shops are all starting to sell sakura flavoured treats and the sakura Kit kats have appeared in the stores.

That’s what people are getting for souvenirs this trip.  Sakura Kit Kat bars, which are very tasty – cherry flavoured, and very sweet.  I’ve also bought candied sakura blossoms (I’m pretty sure that’s what they are) and today we were in a craft village and I bought some sakura mochi-type treats.   The omiage counters lure people in with free samples and it’s hard to say no to buying things when you know how good they are.  :)

So, sakura treats for everyone!  And Meiji Black chocolate bars.  If you ever have a chance to eat a Meiji Black, go for it.  It’s a very smooth dark chocolate.  I’ve seen other Meiji products around (like on Amazon) but so far I’ve only been able to get the black bars from Japan.  I even asked for some for my Christmas present this year.

I haven’t been able to do the anime junk shopping that I got in last trip so far, but I still have time!  I’ve resisted buying manga so far (and it’s been hard to not even pick anything up) and I might buy one or two but that’s all.  I did find a wee shop in Osaka that sold anime figures and bought some sets…. Okay, I bought a bunch.  :)  I was really happy to see that they had the Maison Ikkoku set I passed up last trip due to the cost and regretted afterwards.  And these were cheaper!  Only 1650 yen, which is so much cheaper than at home.  And the store guy gave me a discount!  And when I went back to the store a couple of hours later to buy more I got another discount!

Heh.

(BTW, omiage = souvenirs.  I think I spelled it wrong, though.  Please forgive me.)

March 28, 2008 at 10:12 am 2 comments


March 2008
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com