Archive for March 31, 2008

A sad shopping failure

I spent 2 hours walking around the Animate shop and other anime stores in Kanazawa today and spent all of 600 yen. And that was on a set of School Rumble figures I bought because I was ticked at not buying anything else.

What gives?

I think a lot of what was on display was for shows I’m not particularly interested in or have even heard of. Amy also says that this location has only been open for a few weeks so they might have stock issues…

All I can say is, thank goodness I found that anime figurine shop in Osaka! :)

One of the more interesting stores in the building was a doll parts shop. Doll heads, bodies, wigs, outfits… all in pieces you can buy to form your own creation. If I was a local I would definitely give it a shot. The dolls they had on display were beautiful, if a bit goth-like and creepy. (Some of the make up jobs on the dolls were Blade Runner-lite. Not the kind of thing I see sold in Canada.)

I’m going to go back to Kanazawa later in the week and I’ll pop in again to see if they have anything new. I guess for now I will be content with my Osaka purchases and the Totoro music figurine I bought at a craft village.

I actually just went online to check out travelling around in Tokyo for the day since I have about 6 hours to kill between my flight from Komatsu and the one I’m taking to get home. There’s an airport limo shuttle that runs from the Narita airport to various Tokyo destinations… and one of them is Akihabara…

Should I do it? Heh heh. I think I would be ashamed of myself if I didn’t. Or at least go back to the Nakano Broadway building where I bought all of my figures last time. But Akihabara is choice number 1 right now.

Now I am off to bed at the absurdly early hour of 11 pm since I have to get up at the even more absurdly early hour of 5:30 am because I am going back to Kyoto for the day. I am going to go to the Kyoto International Manga Museum, which is conveniently located across from Nijo Castle, another hot destination point. I’m not sure what else I’ll have time to do while I’m there.

March 31, 2008 at 9:13 am 2 comments


March 2008
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com