Archive for August 30, 2006

They’re just coming out at random now….

It was quite an odd week at the comic store for manga again.  I’m not sure what’s up with Viz this month, but it looks like they’re channelling Tokyopop when it comes to random release dates. 

This is what I bought this week:

Hands Off! 7 (next volume ends the series, sniff!)
Innocent W 1
Hot Gimmick 12 (!!! Last volume !!!)
Bus Gamer (a standalone from the author of Saiyuki)
Fullmetal Alchemist 9
Gerard & Jaques 1
– I decided to make this one a seperate post.

Bleach 15 – This was slated for an OCTOBER release!  Buso Renkin also came out this week – that’s two volumes in the same month.  wtf?  My first manga purchase of the day, and one I bought when I was picking up my comics at lunch.  (I have a comic store and a manga store)  What I’m finding interesting about the current Soul Society story is not (yet) another “Ichigo trains to get stronger” storyline, but the secondary characters.  There was a lot of backstory and a pretty good fight for Uryu (the Quincy) in this volume and a shocking development in the murder mystery as well.  The volume also had a short story at the end with some of the Soul Society members when they first joined the academy.  It was a good story, but I confess to being confused about who a couple of the characters were.  Guess I have to go back and reread a few volumes.  :)

Tuesday’s purchases were:

ES: Eternal Sabbath 2
School Rumble 3

And last week’s Friday stragglers:

Let Dai 3
Boy Princess 3
Kare First Love 9
Dazzle 3
Menkui! 2
W Juliet 12

Is that enough?  Am I done now??  All kidding aside though, this is what my “not yet published” dates for September look like now:


Anne Freaks Volume 3 by Yua Kotegawa – Sep 25, 2006 released
Beauty Pop volume 1 – September 5, 2006 released
Death Note  volume 7 – September 5, 2006 released
Fullmetal Alchemist volume 9 – September 19, 2006 released
Hands Off! volume 7 – September 12, 2006 released
Hot Gimmick volume 12 – September 19, 2006 released
Kare First Love volume 9 – September 12, 2006 released
Naruto, Volume 11 by Masashi Kishimoto – September 5, 2006 released
Ouran High School Host Club volume 7 – September 5, 2006 released
Read or Die, Volume 4 by Shutaro Yamada – September 19, 2006 released
Shaman King, Volume 10 by Hiroyuki Takei – September 5, 2006 released
Skip Beat!, Vol. 2 – September 5, 2006 released
Prince of Tennis volume 15 – September 5, 2006 released
W-Juliet volume 12 – September 12, 2006 released
Whistle! volume 13 – September 5, 2006 released
Yakitate!! Japan volume 1 – September 12, 2006 
released

Afterschool Nightmare Volume 1 by Setona Mizushiro – September 25, 2006
La Esperanca, Volume 4 by Chigusa Kawai – September 6, 2006
Little Butterfly Volume 2 – September 6, 2006
Ghost Hunt  volume 5 – September 26, 2006
The Wallflower volume 9 – September 26, 2006 

(I passed on getting Naruto last week because I still haven’t read the last two volumes, a fact which shames me considering the trouble my poor little nephew has while trying to find new volumes…)

August 30, 2006 at 6:54 pm 2 comments

still not blogging….

… because I’m still not sleeping!  arg!  Actually, last night was an improvement as I fell asleep at 9:00 pm and woke up at 4:30 am, as opposed to my usual sleep at 9:00, wake up at 1:30, sleep again at 4:30 or 5:00, wake up at 8:30 to be late for work…

Bah, enough whining!  For today is Wednesday, the greatest day of the week!  (Only trumped by Friday, if it’s a payday.)  Due to last week’s flood of Viz manga, it looks like most of the titles I had planned to buy in September have already been released.  I’ll be interested to see what manga makes it’s way into the stores this week.  The two I’m most looking forward to are Hands Off! and the last Hot Gimmick.  Yes, it’ll finally be all over, sniff!  I must say that I liked the first half of HG more than the last part, but it gets total props and extra points for single handedly getting at least 4 people I know (and keep in mind that I don’t know that many people) into reading manga.  There you go.  Instantly addictive and good for luring people in.  :)

Tonight is also the season premiere of Bones, which according to Entertainment Weekly will have a vampire theme.  heh.  Poor David Boreanaz.  He just can’t escape the vampire thing…  Gah!  There were no vampires.  I’m so disappointed.  Entertainment Weekly – you failed me!  Still a very entertaining episode, though.

My new Sex BoB-omb t-shirt arrived from Oni last night.  It’s pretty, but be warned if you plan on buying one – they’re made small.  So a large isn’t quite a large.  Mine was really tight but loosened up after a few hours, but still nothing I’m willing to wear in public, at least not without something to wear over it.  Still, I now have a t-shirt for my favorite fictional band.  (That’s from Scott Pilgrim, for those of you who aren’t cool enough to know all by your lonesome.)  When I ordered it, the men’s t-shirts were AWOL, but they seem to be back now.  I might have gone for one of those, just because I prefer to wear my shirts loose. 

And speaking of weird purchases of stuff I probably didn’t need, last nights jaunt into Chinatown revealed that Ouran merchandise has finally made it’s way to Toronto!  Or, I’ve finally noticed it.  :)  I saw a Tamaki charm/strap thingie (it attaches to a cell phone or cd player, but has a handle), a tin box featuring all of the characters and some sort of compact that I declined to look at more carefully (it was behind glass).  Did I buy any of it?  NO!  My inner fangirl clashed with my inner cheapskate and I decided not to spend $30 on something I didn’t really need.  (They were $30 each, btw.)  Especially when Amy just brought me a bunch of peachy keen Ouran stuff from Japan.  She was so nice to me!

Oops!  Gotta go get ready for work, or I’ll be late again.  And there’s no real excuse for that considering I’ve been awake for four hours…

August 30, 2006 at 7:18 am Leave a comment


August 2006
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com