Sadly, I bled for my art

December 1, 2009 at 10:48 pm 5 comments

Yes, another crafty post.  I only have 2 stained glass classes left, and my next 6 hours are going to be all about the soldering.

I had chosen a pattern for my second project (three flowers with a swoopy background) and picked out some glass I thought would look good together.

Then I stupidly chose to get my flu shot on the day of my class and ended up having to leave early because I got a fever.  First time ever, of course!  I was breaking glass all over the place.  It was pretty pathetic.  Then I caught a cold and had to miss the next class.**  Since the pattern I picked had over 60 pieces I didn’t think I’d have time to do it in the four weeks I had left so I had to find a new one.

I managed to get most of my pieces cut during the next class – also managed three finger slices and two embedded glass chips.  Hence the blood.  Last week I finished the cutting and ground the edges smooth so they wouldn’t be sharp and cut through the foil.  Though some of the flying glass particles got stuck in my arm while I was grinding.  There was more blood.  Sigh.  The equipment in the class isn’t exactly brimming over with safety features.

These are definitely not the colours I would have picked had I known I was doing this one!  I’m usually a little more conservative with my colour choices.  But I didn’t want to waste the glass I bought so I ended up with a flower on a disco dancefloor background. 

This picture ended up with a lot of glare due to my overhead lights and the flash, but I like it because it shows some of the textures in the glass. 

This is half of the pattern wrapped in copper foil.  I picked the black this time, so it should look quite different from my suncatcher.  I’m giving up for the night here, though.  I’ll try to finish the rest tomorrow before my class.  It feels like a waste of time to wrap pieces in foil during class – it’s the only time I have access to any equipment so I try to get as much done there as possible.

I’m feeling better about the way it looks now, however.  The foil seems to be helping.  :)

**I got sick no less than FOUR times this November.  I would feel worse about it, but I don’t actually know anyone who felt great last month.  Even the ones who weren’t actively sick felt off for a while.  Stupid November.

Entry filed under: Random Stuff.

Cleaning out my camera part 2 – the crafty post Manga is even better when it’s on sale

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badzphoto  |  December 1, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    what a troublesome month you had :(

    “… a flower on a disco dancefloor background. ”
    thanks for the laughs – I do like how the background looks. It does look better with foil.

    I guess, suffering for arts is a prerequisite :)
    Hoping for a healthy and non-bleeding December.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  December 2, 2009 at 8:17 am

    Well, now I can only look forward to December and hope that the extra hours I’ll be working at the bookstore aren’t filled with jerks. :) I’ve worked 8 Christmases at that store and people seem to get worse every year. I refuse to Christmas shop unless I’m having fun. :)

    And thanks for the vote of confidence! I’m hoping it also looks better held up to the light. I was going to replace the border with a solid green to give it a little less… variety… but the teacher said not to change it.

    Reply
    • 3. badzphoto  |  December 2, 2009 at 12:19 pm

      “I refuse to Christmas shop unless I’m having fun. :)”
      Absolutely, otherwise, what’s the point? since we can just shop at home :D
      Regarding the border, I’m thinking if the border is a whole piece with no need for soldering (I wonder if that is possible?) then it would work, otherwise it may not look as nice/interesting as it does with many colors border.
      “It gets dark now before 4:30-5:00.”
      You’re much further north than I. but yeah, it’s pitch black after 6 :( You know, I always wonder if daylight saving time actually helps. Sure we wake up later, but we need lights after dark, too and it’s longer, right?

      How many pieces do you have this time 50? Do you plan to do the 60 pieces next time or a different design?

      Reply
      • 4. pajcat  |  December 2, 2009 at 12:49 pm

        People sometimes say to me that they would never be able to live in a basement apartment because it would be too dark. My answer is, I’m never home when the sun’s up anyway! I’m jealous of your extra hour of light. :)

        This panel has 40 pieces, but most them are just squares, so they were really easy to cut. The smaller ones were harder because they’d break much more easily. I’m not sure if I could cut one piece to run along the borders – I would break it for sure! But I thought I might be able to make them 2-for-1 sized or something. I was going to use that solid light green, since I have a huge piece of it. Sadly I won’t have time to do anything else before the class ended. I had hoped I’d have time for something simple like a candle holder, but no go. And I guess next fall I’ll take the pottery class! Hopefully it will be less dangerous. :)

        Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  December 2, 2009 at 8:22 am

    And you know what *really* sucks about November? Never seeing the sun. It gets dark now before 4:30-5:00 and that half hour of free time at lunch just doesn’t seem like enough time outside! It always takes me a while to get used to the no light thing every fall.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

