Kimi Ni Tokoke 2

October 8, 2009 at 12:02 am 4 comments

I posted a note about the defective copies of Kimi Ni Todoke #1 that the Indigo stores in Toronto received, but I just realized that I never mentioned how much I liked the first volume.

In what I hope isn’t a new tradition, I was foiled in my attempts to buy volume 2 this weekend at work at the bookstore.  Some days the thought of getting to buy new manga early is the only thing that gets me there (I work the opening shift every Saturday morning, if that helps explain my reluctance to go in).  I was so happy at the thought of buying the new Skip Beat, Baby & Me and Kimi Ni Todoke… then I found out that none of the stores in Toronto got them in.  Ours didn’t even have them on order!  (Though that meant I got to make a manga list of titles we needed to get.  One of my favorite ways to kill time there is to make lists of things to order.)

Today after work I remembered it was new comic day and popped into the comic store.  I managed to spend $99 instead of the $28 I had planned.  Oops!

The first thing I read from my new stack?  Kimi Ni Todoke #2.  If you haven’t read the first one, it’s the story of a pleasant, helpful girl who is nicknamed Sadako (a horror movie name) and the object of much fear and scary rumours among her classmates.  In volume 1, a popular guy in class helps her break out of her shell a bit and make some new friends.  I liked the interesting mix of characters introduced in the first book and found Sadako’s odd situation both sad and amusing.   She’s just so weirdly helpful about the oddest things!

Volume 2 continues with a plot introduced at the end of volume 1.  Someone at school starts spreading rumours about Sadako’s new friends Yano and Yoshida.  Nasty enough on its own, but Sadako is also getting the blame for starting them.  This leads to misunderstandings among the group as Yano and Yoshida try to keep faith in Sadako while getting hit with hints that she might not like them as much as they like her.  Sadako hears part of what is being said and tries to find out what’s going on, but is also horrified that the two girls who were so nice to her are being hurt because of her.  She starts avoiding everyone, which sets off Kazehaya who wants to know why she won’t talk to him anymore.

Part of what elevates this a bit above the usual nasty rumour storyline that pops up in shojo stories (for me, anyway) is the fact that these characters actually spend time trying to figure what’s really happening and the confusion generally stems from half heard, half finished and half understood conversations.  Complicated (of course) by Sadako’s inexperience.  She’s used to being alone and not talking to people so she’s not the best at getting her meaning across.  Or even feeling like people want to get her meaning.

I think if I have any complaint at all about the story it’s that there’s far too much repetition.  Kazehaya will say something to Sadako, and while it’s nice that she takes it to heart and it helps her, I don’t need to hear her repeat things over and over again.  I have a low tolerance for that sort of thing.  I feel like it’s wasting time and space.  :)

I’d also like to mention that if Sadako was lifted from her book to replace Sunako in Wallflower, it could only be an improvement to that series!

While I think some of the characters designs are a bit odd, I really like the art in the book.  I also appreciate that although the supporting characters are nothing new, I like the mix of personalities and the relationships they have with each other.  I will also admit to getting a bit misty when Sadako was struggling with keeping her friends vs. abandoning them to protect them.  sniff!

(Whatever.  It’s late, I haven’t slept in two days and I think I’m coming down with a cold.  That’s why I was getting emotional.  Really.)

Two thumbs up!

Entry filed under: manga.

Yotsuba 4 vs. Yotsuba 4 Kimi ni tokoke anime?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badzphoto  |  October 8, 2009 at 1:28 am

    I’m saving up this series untile there are more than 2 volumes to read :) This series will take place of Monkey High on my buy list when MH is over (which is next year)
    ” I managed to spend $99 instead of the $28 I had planned. Oops!”
    I can totally see how that happened.
    “I’m coming down with a cold.”
    :( – Have a good night sleep and I hope you feel better tomorrow.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  October 8, 2009 at 7:37 am

    Thanks! I think I do… Part of it might be psychosomatic. Almost everyone I know is coming down with something and they’re talking so much about flu season at the hospital at work I get worried about coming down with something. I never do, but I worry about it. :)

    I was annoyed that we got Magic Touch this week (which I think is horrible) instead of Otomen. Slightly consoled by the other three SB titles, but still. And I got a couple of cmx titles, too.

    I admire your ability to wait, though. Especially as you seem to be thinking in terms of a year! :) (It’s kind of half killing me that I have to wait until next June to read things like the next Venus in Love… not sure I’d have the willpower to do that on purpose!)

    Reply
  • 3. badzphoto  |  October 8, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    I’m glad you feel better after a night rest.
    “I admire your ability to wait, though.”
    It helps to have lots on to be read pile – like Tower of the future, Moon Child, and Nana (I only read the first 2 books). I also preorder the last 3 volumes of Monkey High, so the next time I order something by Viz, Kimi will be on the list :)
    I prefer reading finished series first since on-going series take months and months to amass :)
    I really like Otomen. I’m sad that Skip Beat is slowing down now that we almost catch up with release in Japan. Have you read Ooku, Rasetsu, or we were there?

    Reply
    • 4. pajcat  |  October 8, 2009 at 2:04 pm

      I’m with you on the stack of stuff to read! That’s sort of been my motivation for not buying more manga, but then I got into books so the unread manga pile has slowly grown rather than shrunk. I also have a bunch of Tower of the Future to read, btw.

      I’ve read Ooku (last night when I took the bus home the guy behind me was reading it too!), and the first Rasetsu (it was okay). I’m collecting We Were There and I quite like it, though it gets a bit depressing and/or confusing sometimes.

      I’m trying to remember if there’s been anything lately that’s made me giddy with excitement. Other than Empowered (which is not manga) nothing is coming to mind, but I’m sure there was *something.* Arg.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

