A new Yotsuba day is a good day

September 10, 2009 at 3:55 pm 4 comments

I declared today to be an unofficial Yotsuba day! Yes, I was happy to traipse off at lunch to the comic store to pick up volume 6 of Yotsuba, which I have been very eagerly anticipating! (Thanks ADV!)

So I went shopping today expecting to get Yotsuba 6 and the first volume of Super Human Resources (because I loved what I saw of the free online preview, but was too lazy ass to finish reading. I hate reading comics on my computer!). Sadly, after my Summer of No Manga I have little control over myself when presented with new books and I ended up spending $85 instead of $25. Oops!

I was curious about how different the Yen Press translation of Yotsuba would be from the ADV so I ended up picking up volume 4 as well… chosen at random because I didn’t really remember the scenes I saw when flipping through that one. Ah, crappy memory… you’re finally good for something! I decided to read #4 at lunch since I didn’t have much time left after shopping and there were a few things that stood out as being pretty different. For instance, I don’t remember Yotsuba referring to herself by name before. (That’s one of the manga standards that annoys me, I admit. At least she’s probably doing it because she’s 6, though, and not because she’s trying to be precious and cute.) I’m probably going to do a closer comparison when I get home and if there are a lot of changes, I’ll probably end up rebuying the other 4 at some point. What the heck. I’m trying to send what extra love I can to Yen because I was so happy about them picking this title up. :)

Entry filed under: manga.

I’m feeling crafty! Yotsuba 4 vs. Yotsuba 4

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badzphoto  |  September 10, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    can’t wait to see what you think about #6 and the comparison of #4
    bookstore is a dangerous shop for the pocket ;)

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  September 10, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Ha. I was actually tidying in fiction a couple of weekends ago and I got depressed looking at all the titles I hadn’t even heard of. This summer of no manga thing might have been good in theory (basically what I’m doing is trying to break habits I have to see if it’s actually stuff I like or I’m just doing it because it’s a habit. Hence the cutting back on manga and cutting the cable…) but it’s probably not something I’m going to stick with long term. :)

    BTW, I picked up The Girl Who Leapt Through Time from Bandai while I was there. Is that the one you meant before? It does say it’s based on an anime. I feel I’m going to be getting it confused with the girl who runs through time. Though if they ever have a book about a girl who skips through time, or dances through time, I’ll probably end up with those, too. :)

    Reply
  • 3. badzphoto  |  September 10, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    “The Girl Who Leapt Through Time” from bandai.
    It’s kind of a sequel from the cmx manga. The heroine (from the bandai one) is the niece of the heroine of the cmx one. Let me know what you think.
    I’m getting a bit more selective on manga I bought, too. Not starting any new series, until the ongoing ones are done. But I must have Bunny Drop and Kobato (by clamp) published by Yen press next year. There was a rumor that Chi’s sweet home is licenced – that’s another cute manga about a kitten – that I have japanese volumes but probably will get the english version :)

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  September 11, 2009 at 7:36 am

    I guess it doesn’t help that I’m working less at the bookstore. I read less manga that way. Before I could usually get 2 read at lunch and on breaks, and then I could borrow two a week since I worked one evening, but now I’m only one day a week and my lunch is only half an hour. :( I have Four Eyed Prince #1 from the store right now, but I haven’t read it yet.

    I like trying new titles, but I think last time I went through my shelves I had too many that were only “okay” so I felt bad for always being so impulsive. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

