I’m feeling crafty!

August 21, 2009 at 2:28 pm 8 comments

Last night I signed up for a class to learn how to make stained glass through the Toronto District School Board. I’m so looking forward to it! I was torn between this and taking pottery, but the beginner’s pottery class filled up a little too quickly. What I found funny about the course catalogue is that stained glass was listed under crafts, but pottery and mosaics are art. Apparently I’m more crafty than arty. :)

The course runs for 10 weeks through the fall to the beginning of December. That means handmade Christmas presents! To add to the Christmasy themed dishcloths I’m already knitting as gifts. I don’t usually do so many handmade gifts in one year, but I’m starting early this time.

Posting has been non-existent lately as I’ve been busy with family visits (one more to go!), an apartment flood (don’t worry – my manga is safe, but has everyone been getting as much rain as Toronto this summer?), the aftermath of the apartment flood, the waiting for someone to come look at my floors which never quite happened and sleep deprivation + drama due to my noisy, noisy upstairs neighbours. If I do a posting in the spring about how I’m moving again (damnit!) it’ll be because of those yahoos.

I also haven’t bought much manga this summer. I did two months where I wasn’t allowed to buy any – a period that I had to extend because of a rather fabulous sale my bookstore had – and I found that once I broke the manga buying habit it was a lot easier to be selective and leave books on the shelf. I imagine I’ll do a catch up sometime in the fall, but I’m quite proud of myself for being so good this summer. :) Except for the 24 volumes I bought during the sale. Buy 3 books get the 4th one free AND I got my employee discount! Resisting that level of temptation was beyond me….

Entry filed under: manga.

Printing problems with Kimi Ni Todoke 1? A new Yotsuba day is a good day

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badzphoto  |  August 22, 2009 at 12:34 am

    “… that stained glass was listed under crafts, but pottery and mosaics are art.”
    That’s interesting. It sounds like a fun class, I think. Sorry to hear about the sleep deprivation :(

    “Buy 3 books get the 4th one free AND I got my employee discount!”
    That’s an awesome deal.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  August 22, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    I saved so much money! And I remembered that you recommended The Girl Who Ran Through Time once (though I think it was the anime) so I picked up those two volumes in the sale. I’ve only read the first volume so far, though. A good chunk of what I bought was some Naruto that I was missing.

    Reply
    • 3. badzphoto  |  August 22, 2009 at 9:27 pm

      The anime is called “The girl who leapt through time” – kind of a sequel. This time it’s Kazuko’s niece’s story. There is the manga of same name which is pretty confusing since it tries to do what the anime does in 1 volume – don’t buy the manga unless you’re a completess and have to collect it. The anime is much better. How do you like #1 of “The girl who ran through time” so far?
      There are 2 very good manhwa that I’ve read recently:
      1) Forest of Gray City: (josei – yen press – 2 volumes) it’s similar to Tramps like us (younger guy, working woman) condensed in 2 volumes
      2) Naration of Love at 17 (shojo – net comics – 4 volumes)
      I can’t wait for Yostuba&! #6 next month

      Reply
  • 4. badzphoto  |  August 22, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    The anime is kind of a sequel. It’s a story of the niece – and it’s called “The girl who leapt through time” Bandai also released the manga which is pretty confusing since it tries to do what the anime does in 1 volume. The anime is much better- don’t buy the manga unless you’re a completess and have to collect it. How do you like #1 so far?
    There are 2 very good manhwa that I’ve read recently:
    1) Forest of Gray City: (josei – yen press – 2 volumes)
    2) Naration of Love at 17 (shojo – net comics – 4 volumes)
    I can’t wait for Yostuba&! #6 next month

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  August 23, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    I liked volume 1, though it seemed kind of rushed somehow. Figured I’d catch the anime sooner or later.

    Latest anime I watched was K-On! which was awesome, but too short at only 13 episodes.

    I liked Forest of Gray City! Though it’s another one that I have both volumes and have only read the first one. Well… I’m pretty sure I have both. That’s part of the reason I decided I had to stop buying stuff for a while. I have too much on my shelves I haven’t read yet!

    Have you read Solanin? It’s a josei title and a standalone. But it’s BIG so you get a good story out of it. I really liked it!

    Ah, Yotsuba… how I’ve missed you so…

    Reply
    • 6. badzphoto  |  August 23, 2009 at 11:43 pm

      Sorry about the double post. I didn’t see the first one, so I reposted!
      I’ve read good things about Solanin but I haven’t read it yet – now that you recommended it, I’ll definitenly check it out. I’m planning of trying crunch roll for anime since not a lot of series that I want or have time to rewatch when I do, I’ll check out K-On. Honestly, too many things to watch and read, so little time.

      Reply
  • 7. pajcat  |  August 24, 2009 at 8:03 am

    Oh, your comments got caught in the spam filter for some reason. I released them into the wild. :)

    I’ve been thinking lately that I want to get cables to connect my pc to my tv set. I think that’s the only way that I could watch any sort of volume of stuff off of the computer. Especially since I just cancelled my cable! (There’s just nothing on anymore… until Supernatural starts and even that isn’t enough to justify $45 a month!)

    Reply
    • 8. badzphoto  |  August 24, 2009 at 10:43 am

      “Oh, your comments got caught in the spam filter …”
      maybe because it’s too long ;)

      “I want to get cables to connect my pc to my tv set.”
      Then, you don’t even need dvd/cd player :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

