A quick look at Love Com 13

July 16, 2009 at 11:33 pm 2 comments

I don’t normally buy Love Com – after watching the anime I didn’t really feel like collecting the manga (which is why I normally don’t watch the anime version of something I’m reading) since the stories were so close.  I have to admit, too, that I didn’t really like a lot of the middle of the series.  I was kind of resentful of how badly Otani was treated by everyone just because he didn’t have romantic feelings for Risa.  I’ve been giving the volumes a quick read as they come into the bookstore, though, and I do plan to eventually pick up the rest of series someday (I already have the first four).
But, ah!  Volume 13 came in and I discovered a new story that hadn’t been in the anime!  So I bought it.  Give me something new and I will reward you financially!
There’s going to be spoilers for volume 12 here, btw.
The volume opens with a continuation of the fallout from Suzuki’s failure to get into college.  A buff judo expert has declared that he will be stealing Chiharu and Suzuki stupidly says he’ll think about it.  Silly boy.  Otani complicates matters by challenging the judo black belt on Suzuki’s behalf.  His heart’s in the right place but sickly, brainy Suzuki isn’t likely to win the fight.  We get some rare Suzuki time for the rest of the chapter as he has to rise to the challenge he’s been thrown and to prove that he’s not a loser after all.  I liked it just because Chiharu and Suzuki don’t really take center stage that often and we rarely get to see any sort of character development there.  I also like that even though he’s determined to improve himself, there are no miracles in Suzuki’s sudden character growth.
The next story focuses on Risa’s brother Taketo.  He’s failed some exams of his own, and is now stuck going to the same high school as his sister.  Taketo is incredibly bitter about this as he’s convinced that her school is filled with idiots and he’ll be contaminated by association.  Risa’s offer to show him the school and change his mind doesn’t exactly go as planned, though.  It’s cute to see how much he idolized Otani, though, especially since Otani is so often the target of everyone else’s jibes.
The last third introduces a new character – Risa’s grandfather!  He’s kind of a pervy old man, who likes to con pretty women out of their email addresses.  He’s been travelling and his grand return is marred by Otani spoiling one of his email schemes.  It’s even worse when Grandpa discovers that the obnoxious and way too short kid is his grandaughter’s boyfriend!  He’s determined to break the two up so that Risa can find the kind of tall, handsome boy she really deserves.  It’s interesting to see the kind of plot he sets into motion – usually it’s the kind of thing you expect a bitchy ex-girlfriend to pull (or Sae from Peach Girl.  heh).
It’s nice to be able to pick up this series again with some fresh material.  I do like Risa, Otani and their friends and I expected the rest of the volumes to follow along with what I’ve already seen.  I’ve always liked the art and really appreciated the fact that the students at Risa’s school don’t wear uniforms.  It’s interesting to see the fashion choices that make it into the book.  I believe that it’s pretty close to the end so I’ll probably add Love Com to my purchases for the rest of the run.  I’ve been making a lot of cuts to the list of what I buy lately so I don’t mind putting this one back on.

I don’t normally buy Love Com – after watching the anime I didn’t  feel like collecting the manga (which is why I normally don’t watch the anime version of something I’m reading) since the stories were so close.  I also have to admit that I was kind of resentful of how badly Otani was treated by everyone just because he didn’t have romantic feelings for Risa which affected how I saw a big chunk of the middle of the series.  I’ve been giving the volumes a quick read as they come into the bookstore though, and I do plan to eventually start back  up where I stopped buying.

But, ah!  Volume 13 came in and I discovered a new story that hadn’t been in the anime…  So I bought it.  Give me something new and I will reward you financially!

There’s going to be spoilers for volume 12 here, btw.

The volume opens with a continuation of the fallout from Suzuki’s failure to get into college.  A buff judo expert has declared that he will be stealing Chiharu and Suzuki stupidly says he’ll think about it.  Silly boy.  Otani complicates matters by challenging the judo black belt on Suzuki’s behalf.  His heart’s in the right place but sickly, brainy Suzuki isn’t likely to win the fight.  We get some rare Suzuki time for the rest of the chapter as he has to rise to the challenge he’s been thrown and to prove that he’s not a loser after all.  I liked it just because Chiharu and Suzuki don’t really take center stage that often and we rarely get to see any sort of character development there.  I also like that even though he’s determined to improve himself, there are no sudden  miracles in Suzuki’s character growth.

The next story focuses on Risa’s brother Taketo.  He’s failed some exams of his own, and is now stuck going to the same high school as his sister.  Taketo is incredibly bitter about this as he’s convinced that her school is filled with idiots and he’ll be contaminated by association.  Risa’s offer to show him the school and change his mind doesn’t exactly go as planned.  It’s cute to see how much he idolizes Otani though, especially since Otani is so often the target of everyone else’s jokes and insults.

The last third introduces a new character – Risa’s grandfather!  He’s kind of a pervy old man who likes to con pretty women out of their email addresses.  He’s been travelling and his grand return is marred by Otani spoiling one of his email schemes.  It’s even worse when Grandpa discovers that the obnoxious and overly  short kid is his grandaughter’s boyfriend!  He’s determined to break the two up so that Risa can find the kind of tall, handsome boy she really deserves.  It’s interesting to see the plot he sets into motion – usually it’s the kind of thing you’d expect a bitchy ex-girlfriend to pull (think Sae from Peach Girl.  Heh).  Will Risa keep her trust in Otani despite the mounting pressure?  I suspect we’ll find out in the next volume.  And these two fight enough that I’m not going to say 100% that I know what will happen.  I’m pretty sure, but not 100%  :)

I do like Risa, Otani and their friends and had expected the rest of the volumes to follow along with what I’ve already seen.  I was delighted to be wrong!  I’ve always liked the art (the characters are always really expressive) and appreciate the fact that unlike most of the manga I read, the students at Risa’s school don’t wear uniforms.  I generally like the fashion in shojo books and there’s more opportunity for variety here.  I believe that it’s pretty close to the end so I’ll  add Love Com to my purchases for the rest of the run.  I’ve been making a lot of cuts to the list of what I buy lately so I don’t mind putting this one back on.

Entry filed under: manga.

Surprising excitement Ponyo

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badzphoto  |  July 17, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    yay, manga review …

    Reply
  • 2. Lists, lists, lists « MangaBlog  |  July 17, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    […] Moure on vols. 1 and 2 of Claymore (Mania.com) Lorena on vol. 1 of Emma (i heart manga) Cathy on vol. 13 of Love*Com (it can’t all be about manga…) Bill Sherman on The Manga Guide to Physics (Blogcritics) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

