Surprising excitement

July 9, 2009 at 9:37 am 4 comments

The library I work at is usually not the most exciting place to be. I’m okay with that. But today! Today the Emperor and Empress of Japan visited the hospital so we all stood inside the library doors (we weren’t allowed outside) and watched them get off the elevator by the reception area across the way from us. I normally don’t care that much when we get celebrity visitors, but I was quite happy to take a peek today. They looked very gracious.

We contributed to the visit by way of donation of one of our book podiums which was used for the guest book signing. This was especially important for us as one half of our gate counter is attached to the podium. No stats for us, today!

It’s kind of embarrassing to have visiting dignitaries arrive during a garbage strike, though…

Entry filed under: manga.

Living for Tomorrow A quick look at Love Com 13

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badzphoto  |  July 9, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    I skipped the word “not” in the first sentence :)

    “It’s kind of embarrassing to have visiting dignitaries arrive during a garbage strike, though…”
    Ugh …

    It’s nice to see you posting.

    Reply
  • 2. cathy  |  July 9, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    Ha, well I really appreciate the utter routineness (if that’s a word) I get to experience at the library. Especially after a stressful day at the bookstore!

    I’ve been too busy reading manga to post! The irony…

    Reply
  • 3. badzphoto  |  July 9, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    “I’ve been too busy reading manga to post! The irony…”
    Oh? Do tell!

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  July 10, 2009 at 7:58 am

    Sadly, nothing exciting. I’ve been rereading stuff from my shelves and books from the library. And a lot of my favorite authors have books released in the summer so I’ve been reading regular novels as well… and baking. Trying to make something interesting with strawberries that hasn’t gone especially well.

    Though I did pick up one massive amount of manga at a sale at the bookstore. Heh. The kind of load that makes you feel guilty and slighty ill afterwards…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

