a very indulgent kind of Wednesday

May 20, 2009 at 11:45 am 10 comments

I’ve been trying so hard to cut back on manga for the past few months that I’d almost forgotten the heady rush of guilty pleasure that comes from spending way too much money at the comic book store.  Especially as everyone who talked to me opened with, “Are you going to Anime North?”  Why yes, I am!  My family is coming to visit for it and I’m hoping I don’t go too crazy shopping.  I don’t have much hope,  but I do have some.  :)

I went to the store after work expecting to buy about four volumes of manga and I ended up getting:

Brilliant Blue 1 – a Doki Doki title I bought because I liked the cover and back art.  The blurb was a secondary consideration.  :)

Living For Tomorrow – another Doki Doki book by Taishi Zaou who is also Mikiyo Tsuda.  I loved Princess Princess and Family Complex so this was a definite buy.  I have no idea what it’s about yet.  I didn’t bother reading the back.

In the Name of the Flower 2 – the only one I’ve read so far.  Even more enjoyable than the first one, I thought, and I liked that there was a lot of humour in it.  Mostly due to the addition of several new characters.  (I also enjoyed sitting in the courtyard of City Hall after work basking in the first nice weather I haven’t had to work through!)

Lapis Lazuli Crown – uh, there’s magic in it?  I picked it up for the energetic art and because it’s a CMX title.  I have good experiences with their books so I try to be open to their new titles.  (I’m currently enjoying their Tower of the Future series that my comic store friend recommended.)

Fullmetal Alchemist 18 – no explanation necessary!  Though this one was guilt free because I A) bought it at my bookstore with my staff discount and B) used a gift card I found when I was cleaning.  Free manga!

Flower of Life 4 – by Fumi Yoshinaga!  I’d been waiting for this one for so long that I’d forgotten a fourth volume was even in the works.  I really really like this series and it’s one of the few non shonen-ai/yaoi titles that DMP publishes.

Kurosagi Corpse Delivery Service 9 – again, no explanation.  I love this series.  It’s so dark and twisted but still manages to bring the humour.

Johnny Hiro – by Fred Chao.  Not a manga, but I was interested in this while it was coming out in single issues, but could never find them.  (And I refuse to shop in the store that was likely to carry it.)  I have little idea what it’s about yet (I’m not big on reading blurbs, if you haven’t guessed.  They can be far too spoilery!) but the art appeals to me.  I gather it’s about a busboy, but the first few pages has a dinosaur in it, so I’m guessing it’s a little twisty.  :)

Clover, the huge ass omnibus edition – I went to the comic store not sure if I’d be leaving with this one and feeling a little defiant about it.  It’s by Dark Horse, the publisher which is mostly responsible for the fact that I don’t buy a lot of adult-oriented manga.  (The rest of it leans heavily towards the Viz signature line and Tokyopop to a lesser extent.)  I have a thing about publishers who don’t bother to do proper sound effect translations, but Dark Horse kind of offended me by trying to convince me they were doing me a favour by leaving them out.  Apparently sound effects and mood enhancers distract from the story.  Sigh.  For someone who buys books FAR too impulsively I need checks and balances.  Rule one is No New Series From Tokyopop and rule two is No New Manga With Incomplete Translations.  

Since I’d be buying this primarily because it’s by CLAMP, and I remember being less than overwhelmed by the volumes I read way back when it was first released in North America, the translation thing was really going to be my tipping point.  But yay!  They finished the book!  In flipping through it at the store, I thought the paper they used was pretty good (but oddly seems too white), though the thickness of the volume means the spine will probably get damaged easily.  There’s also colour pages at the beginning of each separate volume, which I liked.  So, yeah.  I ended up buying it.

That was an unnecessarily long story, but since my other purchases were so haphazard I guess I was impressed that I had to waffle on this one.  :)

I was also going to buy volume 2 of Sayonara Zetsubo-Sensei but had to reconsider as that would have meant going to a third store and I was already lugging too many bags.  Soon, though!  

Tomorrow I start reading!

Entry filed under: manga.

Reborn! volume 1 Days of Cool Idols

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badzphoto  |  May 21, 2009 at 12:45 am

    “Flower of Life 4 ”
    I like this series very much and am waiting for this one to ship! There is a one-shot by her called “Garden Dreams” which I also like.
    Have you read “Princess Princess +”?
    Yay for “The name of the flower” and “Full metal Alchemist”
    I also picked up 2-4 vols of “Tower of the Future” based on your rec – haven’t read it, waiting for #1. I tried “Kurosagi Corpse Delivery Service 1” but it’s too much horror for me :(
    “But yay! They finished the book! ”
    I’m debating about Clover since I have #2 and #4. You mean that there are more after 4, since I remember reading somewhere that there is supposed to be 1 or 2 more vols. So, if it’s really complete, I may pick it up :)

    Reply
  • […] lists her picks from this week’s new manga at it can’t all be about […]

    Reply
  • 3. pajcat  |  May 21, 2009 at 7:44 am

    RE: Clover first. The blurb on the back says that it’s the complete story, but one of the comic store people said it’s kind of like Legal Drug and they didn’t complete the series. I confess to not looking into it. (bad Cathy!) When I said they finished the book I meant Dark Horse translated the sound effects. Actually, they did the thing where the sound effects are replaced by the English.

    I was being snarky, but in a happy way. :)

    Though there aren’t that many sound effects in the book, so maybe it wouldn’t have mattered much. :)

    “I’m debating about Clover since I have #2 and #4. ”

    I had two volumes of the old print run, too! When I couldn’t find the rest of them I ended up giving them to a friend who had the other half. One of us should have a complete set! But the volume is only $19.95 US, and was around $25 CDN. With my manga discount I paid around $19. I figured that was a good deal for a four volumes in one book.

    Reply
    • 4. badzphoto  |  May 21, 2009 at 9:35 am

      “I figured that was a good deal for a four volumes in one book.”
      That’s true. And it’s unflipped with color pages- I’m sold :)

      Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  May 21, 2009 at 7:50 am

    Garden Dreams: Yes! I have all of her books and enjoy most of them. Solfege stand out as being sort of melancholy… I had been waiting for All My Darling Daughters forever, and then I realized that either Amazon had the publication date wrong or I was waiting for a French edition. Sometimes I put a French manga in my wishlist and don’t clue in for a while. :)

    “Have you read “Princess Princess +”?”
    Yep! Did you? I thought it read more like a short continuation of the main series. Definitely not something that could stand on it’s own. Too many characters you were expected to know! But Train Train 1 came out at the same time and I liked that one a lot more.

    “I tried “Kurosagi Corpse Delivery Service 1″ but it’s too much horror for me :(”
    Ha, well the beginning of the series is like that. I went through this period of time where a good chunk of what I was reading had dismembered women in it and I’m afraid I got a bit blase and bored about it. Kurosagi definitely picks up once a stronger plot thread starts running through the volumes, but yeah. You have to be okay with horror books. :)

    You’ll have to tell me if you end up liking Tower of the Future! I almost scored some $4 volumes at a used store (everyone who knew I was reading the series kept telling me about them) but I either got there too late or went to the wrong location. :(

    Reply
  • 6. badzphoto  |  May 21, 2009 at 9:49 am

    “All My Darling Daughters”
    That’s her sojei title, right? I remember reading somewhere that it was licensed by Viz.
    “Yep! Did you? I thought it read more like a short continuation of the main series. ”
    Of course. I totally agree. I thought the story could be a couple volumes more if the mangaka wanted it to be a series by itself. I can’t complain to see some of the old characters :) The 3 princesses have a more prominent role than Akira and the evil princess :)
    I’m thinking of getting “TrainTrain”, but probably after some of the short series are complete.
    btw, remember “Honey Bitter”, #5 was just published in Japan recently – and it’s a still going-on series. I picked up the french version recently.
    I am excited about Yotsuba&! #6 which comes out in Sept :) and Bunny Drop.

    Reply
    • 7. pajcat  |  May 21, 2009 at 11:52 am

      I’ve never heard of Bunny Drop. Should I be feeling bad for rabbits, here??

      Ah, Yotsuba… I’m feeling very nicely towards Yen Press for picking that one up. I always try to make sure to consider their titles when shopping and I’ve been bugging our manga orderer and the fiction people at the bookstore about getting their stuff in. I don’t want them to go under!! :)

      Reply
      • 8. badzphoto  |  May 21, 2009 at 2:52 pm

        “Bunny Drop”
        It’s the opposite of “March of Life” – a single 30 year old man becomes a reluctant foster father for his toddler niece. I checked out the scans and really liked it. I’m not sure why the title is what it is!

        Reply
        • 9. pajcat  |  May 21, 2009 at 3:07 pm

          That sounds interesting! I like family focused manga. I’ll try to remember it when I see it in the store. My comic book store friend is quitting so I won’t have my usual source of spontaneous recommendations anymore. I might have to be more proactive. :)

          Reply
          • 10. badzphoto  |  May 22, 2009 at 12:31 am

            I should mention that “Bunny Drop” #1 is scheduled for march 2010.

            Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

