Reborn! volume 1

May 7, 2009 at 10:36 pm 12 comments

I blew through the first volume of Reborn! today at lunch.  It’s one of those books that I’ve seen around but had little interest in reading.  Then I was at the bookstore and looking for a manga to borrow and thought, what the heck.  Sometimes I pass on a good series because it looks strange so I like to check and see if I’m missing anything.

The story revolves around Tsuna, a boy everyone labels as a loser.  Worst grades in his class, if he’s on your team during a sports game it means you’ll lose, he’s unambitious and too chicken to tell the cutest girl in class that he has a crush on her.

Enter Reborn – the mafia assassin toddler decked out in a suit and fedora… and lizard.  There’s a magic lizard that sits on his hat.  Tsuna’s mother hires him to tutor her son (Yeah, I don’t know.  Maybe since he talks like he’s 40 people just assume that a toddler could tutor a middle school student with no problem) and then is thrilled when Reborn says he’ll be moving in with them until Tsuna’s grades improve.

He has his reasons, however!  It turns out that Tsuna is next in line to be boss of the  Vongola family.  Reborn is going to train Tsuna to be man enough to take the job.  His secret weapon for this is his gun that shoots magic bullets… or something.  We first see the Deathperation shot.  Basically, if you get shot and die with regrets the shot brings you back to life and gives you the power to fix your regret.  It’s kind of lame, actually. 

Much of the first volume is spent with Tsuna screwing something up, Reborn shooting him with whatever shot is most appropriate (ie if he gets shot in the legs he gets super jump abilities), Tsuna saves the situation (sports, girls, a fight) and may or may not be learning important lessons about not giving up.  It seems like kind of a cheat that all of his problems are solved by a toddler with a magic gun giving him superpowers.

I was also kind of horrified during the scene where Reborn, Tsuna and a girl in his class decide to play Russian Roulette with one of Reborn’s guns.  (The girl thought it sounded fun!) I did a quick check of the back and yes, this has an older teen rating.  I’m not sure why that scene bothered me more than all of the others of Reborn shooting people, but it did.  Maybe because it seemed more realistic and dangerous than the other weird happenings.

To be honest I wasn’t a fan of this book.  It was repetitive, none of the characters were really that interesting and some of the concepts were just inexplicably weird.  But!  It’s a first volume and first volumes are often repetitive and shallow.  I’m guessing/hoping that as the series goes on we see more of Tsuna getting stronger on his own and quite possibly even an explanation for why Italy has so many toddler assassins.  I’ll probably read the next volume when I’m bored and nothing else appeals to me.  I’m pretty sure the story can only get better.

Entry filed under: manga.

Random short post a very indulgent kind of Wednesday

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badzphoto  |  May 8, 2009 at 12:24 am

    this reminds me how I miss your manga posts :)
    Have you read Dinosaur hour?

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  May 8, 2009 at 7:26 am

    That’s why I want the netbook! I never have the energy to write at night.

    I haven’t even HEARD of Dinosaur Hour. Is it good? It sounds like it’s for younger people (dinosaurs = little boys). :P

    Reply
  • 3. pajcat  |  May 8, 2009 at 7:55 am

    And thanks for liking my weird manga posts. :)

    Reply
  • 4. badzphoto  |  May 8, 2009 at 11:14 am

    “That’s why I want the netbook! I never have the energy to write at night. ”
    Yeah, that’s the time I just want to vege on the couch or lie in bed to read …

    “It sounds like it’s for younger people (dinosaurs = little boys). :P”
    True, but you can check it out at your bookstore, right? It’s amusing, nevertheless.

    Reply
  • 5. cathy  |  May 8, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Oh yeah. I have no problems reading boy manga. I just read the title and thought, “there’s no way that’s a shojo title…”

    I’ll see if our bookstore has it, and if not I’ll nag them to put in an order.

    Reply
  • 6. badzphoto  |  May 8, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    “there’s no way that’s a shojo title…”
    I see what you mean :) Personally, I’d love to read that. Just imagine all characters as dinosaurs and headbutt, terrorrize or eat each other to resolve love triangle. Wouldn’t that be awesome?

    Reply
  • […] Resurrection (dashPunk) Justin Colussy-Estes on vol. 7 of Puri Puri (Comics Village) Cathy on vol. 1 of Reborn! (it can’t all be about manga) Stephen Taylor on vols. 1-6 of Reiko The Zombie Shop (The Daily […]

    Reply
  • 8. pajcat  |  May 11, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    “Just imagine all characters as dinosaurs and headbutt, terrorrize or eat each other to resolve love triangle. Wouldn’t that be awesome?”

    Heh.

    It would definitely give a different spin to the usual story. The ex-girlfriend shows up and instead of getting insecure and crying about it the current girlfriend just eats her…

    Reply
  • 9. Shadow  |  May 11, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    I tried reading that. It was interesting enough, but never peaked my interest.

    Reply
  • 10. Roxanne  |  May 12, 2009 at 1:19 am

    Hey.
    I enjoyed reading your blog since I haven’t “dropped by” in a while. I second what badzphoto said about liking your manga posts. It helps me to decide to a series or one shot is worthwhile!
    =D
    I thought I would drop a line to find out if you picked up your copy of Scandalous Seiryo University Class Reunion? The story focuses on younger brother and their guardian and I thought it was a sweet love story – I don’t think the 18+ rating was needed for the fourth volume…
    Reading your blog also reminded me I need to finish watching the live action adaptation of Sailor Moon – I held out for over half a year but my friends wore me down and I became a fan.

    Anyway, that’s it for now.
    ttyl

    Reply
  • 11. pajcat  |  May 12, 2009 at 7:42 am

    Yes I do have it! I have to admit I didn’t like it as much. It was the art. I found it stranger than the other volumes. Not pretty enough for me, I guess. :)

    Ah, Live Action Sailor Moon… that just consumed my life for a while. You should really really finish watching! I’m trying to get Sam to start it but she’s being stubborn… Which is unfair considering she gets me hooked on Korean dramas on a semi-regular basis. :)

    Reply
  • 12. pajcat  |  May 12, 2009 at 7:57 am

    Yeah, Shadow. To me the book seemed like it was trying too hard to be wacky. (The whole running around in his underwear thing, I think.) It just didn’t make me want to pick up volume 2.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

