Dragonball: Evolution… yes, I paid money to see it

April 13, 2009 at 7:36 pm 13 comments

What can I say? I liked the preview and had no prior love for Dragonball. In fact, my experience with the anime was the English dub which seemed to consist of a group of guys standing around while they get beat up one by one while waiting for Goku to come save them. Goku was usually dead. Every. Single. Episode.

Sigh.

Anyway, I had no baggage going into the movie but I was expecting it to be bad. It turned out to be… meh. I’m kind of neutral about it, actually. It certainly wasn’t *good* but it wasn’t really horrible either. I think my problem with it was that it seemed too short. The fights were over quickly and rather choppy (seriously, if I’m going to a fighting movie I want to see FIGHTS damnit!) and Goku’s big character moment at the end was basically him repeating some advice he got and then suddenly figuring it out. And the big fight with Piccolo was barely there as well.

Stupid Dragonball movie. I was totally giving you a chance there…

What I’m *really* looking forward to? 9.

I had never heard of it until I saw a preview for it at Monsters vs Aliens.  It looks fantastic and I’m guessing that even if the plot sucks I’ll still be blown away by the visuals. And I’m always up for a good animated sci fi movie.  (Not that there have been many so far…)  But we have to wait until September for this one.  I’ll try to be patient.  :)

Entry filed under: movies.

Sayonara, Zetsubou-Sensei 1 Random short post

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badzphoto  |  April 14, 2009 at 11:57 am

    hm, interesting. It’s a given to me that live action made from anime always turns out not to be good!
    btw, I’ve watched a few episodes of Samurai Champloo based on your rec and quite liked it, even though I can’t say that hip-hop and bloody fights are my cup of tea. But it’s done pretty well, I think. Thanks.
    Have you seen Coraline?

    Reply
  • 2. cathy  |  April 14, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    Yeah, I saw Coraline when it opened. I didn’t like it as much as I thought I would – it seemed too jerky or off kilter to me – but I liked it well enough. I was amused by the two boys down the aisle from me talking about it afterwards. The 10 year old said he’d have nightmares that night (he didn’t seem traumatized, so I think he was okay with being scared). Did you see it?

    I keep saying I’m going to go to the movies and then never go, so last night I said the heck with it! I didn’t even know Dragonball was out because none of the papers I read reviewed it (probably a good thing). I’ve been half jokingly meaning to go to Fast and the Furious 4, even tho I haven’t seen any of the others in the series.

    Summer movie season starts in a few weeks! I’m so looking forward to it!

    Anime movies –> live action… Can’t say I’ve seen a lot of them. The ones I have seem to be played for laughs though, so that might not help. I thought Nana was okay. BTW, I finished the live action Sailor Moon series shortly after I started it – cheesey yet addictive and I’ve managed to hook several other people on the show. THAT one I didn’t expect to like as much as I did!

    Reply
  • 3. badzphoto  |  April 14, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    “Did you see it?”
    No, I haven’t. Can’t say that I like the movie theater going experience – too loud – I’m getting old ;) but I’ll check it out when it’s out on dvd – I’d regret not seeing in 3-D – oh well. I’ll probably have to check out the book first, though.

    “Anime movies –> live action”
    I haven’t seen many, either, but I have low expectations with anything Hollywood makes nowadays. Sounds cynical, doesn’t it? Anyway, I prefer my anime characters being 2-d. Hee.

    “The ones I have seem to be played for laughs though, so that might not help.”
    True, that.

    “cheesey yet addictive and I’ve managed to hook several other people on the show.”
    Don’t remind me ;)

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  April 14, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    “No, I haven’t. Can’t say that I like the movie theater going experience – too loud – I’m getting old ;)”

    Arg, I was ready to scream by the end of Monsters vs Aliens. The people behind us WOULD NOT shut up!! What is with people who feel the need to talk through movies you’re paying so much to see?

    I like going by myself during off hours to theatres that are likely to be pretty empty. That way at least you can move if people are bugging you… :)

    Reply
  • 5. badzphoto  |  April 14, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    “I like going by myself during off hours to theatres that are likely to be pretty empty.”
    Martinees are the best options. But I was talking about the sound volumes of the threatres … I have a low tolerance for loud noises.

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  April 14, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    Oooh, that’s very different then.

    I like going to loud movies with lots of explosions, but my hearing is pretty good so the talking people annoy the hell out of me. :)

    BTW, you recommended March on Earth to me, right? I picked it up a few weeks ago and quite liked it. Though I read it on a plane with my friend sitting next to me (we went to New York for a long weekend!) and we have this jokey thing about orphaned manga children so she found the premise really really funny…

    Reply
  • 7. badzphoto  |  April 14, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    “BTW, you recommended March on Earth to me, right?”
    That’s good. I’ve yet to picked up the volume. I’m waiting for #2 to come out and read the whole series :)

    Manga heros/heroines really do have the worse fate!
    CMX does license some good series, I hope they are doing well. I may have plugged for these series already: The Name of the flower (4 volumes – completed) and Astral project (this one is quite eerie, but volume 1 is not bad so far).

    It seems that you liked “Descendants of Darkness.” I’m thinking of checking it out – but am reluctant since it’s on indefinite hiatus. Does it stop at a good place or a cliff hanger?
    I just finished Mars and From Far Away – I liked them a lot.
    Have you read any new interesting ones?

    Reply
  • 8. pajcat  |  April 14, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Descendants of Darkness stops in the middle of a story, but it wasn’t one I was enjoying so I didn’t mind too much. I liked the earlier volumes a lot.

    My comic store friend recommended Tower of the Future to me when we were talking about CMX titles. I’ve read the first three now and am really liking it. It’s part schoolboy coming of age/romance with some fantasy thrown in. Not sure how long the series is but the store had 11 volumes. I’m trying to buy one a week until I’m caught up. :)

    Other than that I’ve been trying to not start any new series. I was saving for my trip (and I have to pay off my furniture next month!) so I’ve been cutting back on the manga I’ve been buying. I absolutely loved the newest Baby and Me, however. I think there’s only been one vol of that series that I thought was just “okay.” heh heh.

    Hmm. Fujoshi Rumi? (I’m pretty sure that’s what it’s called) Boy falls in love with yaoi fangirl who knows nothing about 3-D boys, he knows nothing about yaoi… will those two crazy kids ever get together?? I have the first three vols and quite like it. I found it rather amusing, actually!

    I have the first volume of Name of the Flower but I hadn’t realized any more came out. I liked that one, though I thought it was a bit repetitive…. I”ll definitely check out Astral Project too!

    My next big manga binge (planned for either late may or june) will be catching up on Naruto. The last volume I read was #27 so I’m just going to do a Naruto marathon. :)

    Reply
  • 9. badzphoto  |  April 14, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Thanks for the rec.
    “Fujoshi Rumi”
    I’ve gotten #3, now waiting for 1 + 2 to show up.

    “Tower of the Future”
    11 vols complete. I’ll check out a couple vols then.

    I like Baby & me, too. I think the most recent vol is about his father, right? I’m behind on that, just waiting for a few vols to come out and binge on those :)
    Naruto, my nephew is reading it but I can’t get into it as Hikaru No Go, though.

    Reply
  • 10. badzphoto  |  April 20, 2009 at 1:18 am

    “Fujoshi Rumi … I found it rather amusing, actually!”
    It definitely is. I finished the 3 vols in one sitting. It seems that Abe is similar to the pathetic pres from Gatcha gach. It’s an uphill battle. I hope that #4 and #5 come out by the end of the year!
    I have a feeling that this series is kind of like Strawberry chan – you know?

    Reply
  • 11. cathy  |  April 20, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Sigh. I miss Gacha gacha. Or however that one is spelled. It’s been so long I don’t even remember anymore…

    Curse you Tokyopop!!

    Ahem. Glad to hear you liked Fujoshi Rumi. I have a friend who initially told me about the book and I remember being surprised she liked it after I read it. She’s not really into yaoi (though I’ve started giving her some of the pg-13 rated shonen-ai) so I was happy she thought it was so funny.

    And I thought of an anime –> live action film that I liked! Speed Racer! Yes, I actually thought the la was very entertaining and I was never into the cartoon so I had no fond memories to crush…

    Reply
  • 12. LG  |  April 30, 2009 at 12:13 am

    Ooh, 9 looks like fun. I agree, even if the story stinks, the visuals at least look worth it. I’m hoping it’ll actually come to my town’s dinky little theater. We only got Coraline for a week (if I had known it would be gone so quickly, I would have gone to see it – the only good thing about our theater is that it’s possible to see a movie for under $3).

    Reply
  • 13. pajcat  |  May 3, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Coraline was definitely worth seeing. Too bad you missed it! We have a theatre here in Toronto that has $4 Tuesdays but I’m pretty bad at going that night. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

