I can’t believe I’m admitting this, but…

January 7, 2009 at 11:33 am 1 comment

I spent the last night of my Christmas vacation pulling an all nighter with my nephew to watch this:

Yes, it’s so cheesey it hurts.  It’s unintentionally funny at times.  But wow, did we get hooked on it pretty quickly.  That’s the trick, folks.  Embrace the cheese, turn off your brain and enjoy Sailor Moon with real live people.  The nephew was disappointed with how quickly Mercury faded into the background – she was always his favorite when he was little (tho I’m assured by a friend who’s watched the whole thing that she makes a comeback later on) and I’m not a huge fan of the actress playing Venus (my favorite!) but we started watching at 10pm at didn’t stop until 5am and that’s only because I was catching a bus back to Toronto in two hours. 

I was happy to see that it follows the manga a little more closely than the anime did (Venus has a much bigger role here) so at least there are some differences in the story.  I also kept forgetting who Zoicite was in the show – they had him dressed like Malachite from the anime and he mostly sat around and played the piano really really intently.  They also kept the backstory of the generals (so far anyway) closer to the original story – that took some explaining to the nephew – and Tuxedo mask doesn’t throw magic roses here.  He doesn’t seem to really have any powers at all, really.  One moment that had us pausing the show to stop laughing was after he showed up to save Sailor Moon… then walked off through the park in the middle of the day.  Just casually strolled off…

This definitely earned the label of guilty pleasure, but I kept thinking while watching that the actors must have had a lot of fun doing this.

Entry filed under: anime, manga.

Not quite Christmas cookies My new “to buy” list

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. XenMaster  |  January 10, 2009 at 12:24 am

    Wow. Ummm Those wigs look horrible. I don’t know what else to say.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

