Christmas is a good excuse to spend money (on things for yourself)

December 12, 2008 at 10:59 pm 2 comments

I placed a semi-large order at J-List tonight. Some figures that my nephew picked out (he seems to still be in Haruhi Suzumiya mode, which I am happy to indulge) and then chose some winter treats at random.

They have tasty looking KitKats right now – I got the Strawberry Cheesecake, Blueberry Cheesecake, Azuki bean and whatever the hell Muscat is. It sounds kind of terrible, but I’m going to give it a try!  I also chose some Pocky I haven’t seen around here.  (I was tempted by the Meltykiss chocolates, but I’ve found a place to get them in Toronto.  They’re terribly good.)

I also ordered a little R2D2 gum pot for my brother, because even though I said everyone would be getting gift cards this year it goes against my nature to NOT throw something weird into the mix. Yes, that’s me. I’m the one who gives slightly odd presents to people at Christmas in the hopes that they like them. Sigh. You see the reason for the gift cards… 

Anyway, they have really fast shipping there, so I should get everything in plenty of time for Christmas.  If you’re looking for something different for your manga/anime fan for Christmas (or if you’re looking for something for yourself for the holidays) it’s a fun site to browse for neat Japanese stuff. I love looking through the bento accessories especially. If I actually ate onigiri or other Japanese food I’d probably max out my credit card just on impulse shopping alone.  (C’mon people!  A Hello Kitty onigiri shaper!  How could you not want Hello Kitty onigiri?!)

Entry filed under: Random Stuff.

My Sony ereader – two weeks later

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badzphoto  |  December 13, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    oh man, jbox is a dangerous site ;)

    just curious, from their faq:
    “For example, we’ve decided to stop shipping all 18+ manga items from Japan to Canada. ”
    why is that? it can’t possibly because of the case in the US.

    “Sigh. You see the reason for the gift cards… ”
    At least something will make both the giver and givee happy :)

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  December 13, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    Yeah, that actually makes sense that they’d stop shipping stuff like that. Our yaoi gets delayed at the border here for comic stores, and I know one store that doesn’t order from a publisher ’cause they’re afraid it’ll get tied up in customs. Weird. We’re very liberal here except for our border/customs people….

    I actually like getting the gift of shopping and am always sad that my family never seems to get me book gift cards. That’s always a very safe choice for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

