My Sony ereader – two weeks later

November 26, 2008 at 4:57 pm 9 comments

I’ve been spending a rather stupid amount of time the past week or so using my new Sony ereader.  Stupid because it’s not like I’ve been on vacation, and I really should have been doing other things… like sleeping or laundry.  I think I’ve read about 15 books so far and I’m slowly working out my own preferences for formats, file names, etc etc.  So far my rating is one and a half thumbs up.* 

One thing I would like to mention just in case someone else has the same kind of question:  one of my justifications used to buy the ebook reader was knowing that I could borrow ebooks from the library through Overdrive.  (My enthusiasm dimmed when I found out the TPL only has about 90 fiction titles right now.) It took me more than a few tries to figure out how to get the damn things onto the reader.

I tried a couple of Google searches** but the mentions I found generally ran along the lines of “I just clicked and dragged the books to my ereader! It was so easy!”  I tried dragging the books to the reader software (which didn’t work) and tried importing the books the usual way (I got a license restriction notice) and spent some time feeling dumb before I finally got it.

To read books borrowed through Overdrive you have to download yet another type of software – this one from Adobe.  I’m more than a little sick of loading stuff onto my computer and I figured that since I didn’t want to read them on my monitor I didn’t need it.  It took me a while to admit that I actually did.  So I scowled my way through yet another installation and registration… which is when I found out that the “clicking and dragging” thing didn’t work. 

What you *actually* have to do is open the Adobe software while your Sony reader is plugged into your computer.  Then it shows up in the menu of the program and *that’s* when you click and drag the book from the center window to the side menu where it’s listed.  Arg!  That all important step may have been more apparent if I wasn’t short of sleep from reading too much.  I’m not quite sure if the syncing takes place automatically or if it needs to be prompted since I was doing some other file maintenance at the same time.  One neat thing about it is that the reader will tell you how many days you have left in the borrowing period for each book.  I have one set to expire in a day so I’ll see if it’s automatically disabled or if my reader needs to be plugged into the computer for the update to take place.

___________________________

*It would be two thumbs up, but I wanted to buy the e version of Sharon Shinn’s new book and found out that it’s $17, which is how much I’d pay for the hardcover.  I’ve informed Penguin and the Sony bookstore that it’s silly to charge the same amount of money for a pdf that you would for a book that needs to be printed, bound, shipped and sold at a bookstore.  I ended up borrowing it instead.  Sheesh.  I’m also expected to pay $18 for the new Jim Butcher novel.  It didn’t make me feel better to see that JD Robb’s new book is only $11.  I think sci fi/fantasy readers are getting screwed here.  They also lost out on some $$ since my original plan was to buy the ebooks to read now, and the paperbacks for my collection later. 
**The info might be somewhere on the Sony site, but since the rss feed FAQ answer required yet another plug in that I didn’t bother installing, I’m not sure how useful the site is for nit-picky instruction.

Entry filed under: manga.

My new toy Christmas is a good excuse to spend money (on things for yourself)

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badzphoto  |  December 1, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    hm, ereader is getting less and less attractive to me. I think I’d get it if I commute a lot and wants to have a lots of books without carrying the weight. Having 100 mangas in the ereader seems an attractive option – when that’s available.
    Do they have any of Diana Wynne Jones books available on ereader? I don’t imagine you can print it out.
    Also, does ereader work well for reread purposes? For ex, one can just leaf through a random page or chapter of one’s favorite book and read it. I remember there was a search option but does it work if you don’t remember correct phrase?

    Reply
  • 2. cathy  |  December 1, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    Yeah, I admit it’s not so great for rereading. The Sony doesn’t have a search function, but what you do is put an electronic bookmark on passages you like. That wouldn’t really work for me, as I tend to be a flipper when I reread stuff. Browsing is kind of awkward with the Sony.

    It’s probably not for everyone, but I’m enjoying it so far. Have only read a couple of new books on it, the rest have been rereads. I honestly think that if it had been available I would have been better to get a Kindle. The differences in prices alone would have decided me, plus I think there’s mroe selection. I’m not sure about Diana Wynne Jones books though. I admit I probably wouldn’t get them anyway. I have an aversion to US editions of British books.

    I’ve barely touched any of my new manga from last week, though. I bought a bunch last week and on the weekend and the only one I’ve read all the way through is Baby and Me. Only other manga I’ve read lately has been during my breaks at the bookstore. Poor neglected manga…

    I think if I were in the market to read manga on the go, though, I’d just get a laptop for my next new computer. :)

    Reply
  • 3. badzphoto  |  December 1, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    “I admit I probably wouldn’t get them anyway. I have an aversion to US editions of British books.”
    Do they edit or change something?

    How’s “Juvenile Orion”? I’m thinking of getting it. I assume you liked it since you have the complete series.

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  December 1, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    Yeah, American publishers assume that their countrymen will be bewildered and offended by British slang and terms so they “translate” everything. Or that you won’t get stuff, which is why they changed the title of the first Harry Potter book and movie, but only in America…

    Juvenile Orion was okay. It was a short series and back when I would buy anything… Um, pretty, angsty guys… don’t remember much about that one other than there was a hot priest and some kid who had wings coming out of his head. Huh.

    Reply
  • 5. Roxanne  |  December 7, 2008 at 4:02 am

    My friend owns a Kindle and one plus is I believe one doesn’t have to worry about reformatting the ebook before reading it… Only drawback from my view point is if and when I drop and break the bloody contraption I would have to ship to France to get it repaired. That and I would to have save up for it. Plus, I sort of want to save up for a laptop too… ugh. Glad you’re having fun with your e-reader though.

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  December 7, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Actually, I read the Kindle boards a lot and I’m getting the impression that once you buy the book it’s locked to your reader. So if your reader breaks, do you lose all the books you bought? I know you can’t shift them into another format. I think I’d have to do more digging into that if the Kindle became an option for me. The biggest plus would be that their books are cheaper. I’m cheap. :)

    Reply
  • 7. pajcat  |  December 7, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Oh! And I paid a bit extra to get an extended warranty on my ereader, which is comforting!

    Reply
  • 8. Alex  |  October 11, 2009 at 8:17 am

    I think the software for the Sony ereader is little short of appalling, instead of allowing you to store in directories from where you could sub-direct to authors you are required to pile all 1300 books (their boast with SD card) into one directory then set up collections which are shortcuts back to the single directory. My suggestion is keep away until they sort out A. the sofware and B. The criminal overcharging for the books. A great idea, spoilt by poor software and greed.

    Reply
  • 9. feedup e-reader user  |  November 5, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Wow: the e-reader software is the most inefficientcrap software I’ve ever used. It constatly slows down, or is slow or is not responding. So bad I want to hurl the whole thing at a wall and buy a kindle. SONY have really screwed up with this. Plus, did you know the end user license agreement allows them to monitor and/or control your computer? Nice touch.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

