My new toy

November 6, 2008 at 10:44 pm 18 comments

So the move went well – I only have my bedroom left to unpack and I’m kind of waiting on the closet door to be fixed before I do anything major in there… and waiting to have my energy levels get back to normal!  I crashed once I realized I no longer had to do anything on a schedule.  :)  I now have a great wall of manga in the living room and a closet packed with boxes of manga to be stored – I actually got to 550 manga wrapped before I stopped.  So the important stuff is done.  :)

Tonight I celebrated by buying a new toy.  Keeping with the new apartment –> weed belongings –> conserve space kick I’ve been on, I decided to get an ebook reader.  Since the Kindle is completely unavailable in Canada, I got one of the readers from Sony.  It’s red.  Heh.

The reason I’m mentioning it here is that while I was browsing the Sony ebook store, I noticed something very interesting!  I was excited to see that they had a manga/graphic novel section!  Excitement levels abated once I saw that pretty much the only manga available was the OEL stuff from Tokyopop… and the excitement completely took a hike once I saw that they were only available in the US anyway.  Too bad.  I might have actually forked out for one just to see how readable it was on the smaller screen.  And (by the way) it completely sucks that they don’t have a Canadian ebook store with Canadian prices, books we’re actually allowed to buy here, and Canadian editions to choose from.  I was also slightly perturbed to see that I couldn’t buy The Graveyard Book from Canada but felt better when I realized I was also being protected from buying the US edition.

I’ve already loaded some classics onto the reader (those books I always felt I should read but never got around to) and I’m going to do some more poking around on the TPL website for ebooks.  The library subscribes to Overdrive, which has ebooks I can load on my reader, but they’re a bitch to find and they don’t seem to have the books I was interested in.  sigh.  But I’ll figure it out!  :)

Entry filed under: manga.

Why is that there?? What is it?? My Sony ereader – two weeks later

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badzphoto  |  November 7, 2008 at 12:33 am

    Glad to hear the move went well and you’ve settled in :)

    so … what books can you get on the ereaders? classics and ???? There seems to be a lot of talk regarding kindle since it’s on sale and was on Oprah’s show …
    btw, I’ve been reading Usagi drop and Midnight Secretary (based on your rec :) ) and a webcomic called “Red String”
    I’m still waiting for Paradise kiss #5 to finish the series. So far I enjoyed the manga as much as the anime – since there are things that are in the manga but not anime (the fabric shopping trip and the reason why they had to bead.)

    Reply
  • 2. cathy  |  November 7, 2008 at 11:52 am

    You can get pretty much any kind of book for ereaders, though I don’t think you can get everything yet. Last night I bought Janet Evanovich’s new book, and I almost bought a novella by Patricia Briggs (a werewolf story) since it was under $3. The classics are out of copyright so they can be downloaded quite easily for free around the Internet. I think the most famous site is Project Gutenberg, which I will have to poke around in now. No point before as I’m not a huge fan of reading books on the computer!

    This morning on the subway this guy actually asked me about my reader and how it compared to the Kindle… so I had to tell him it didn’t matter in Canada yet. Everyone in the library really likes it, too.

    I forgot all about Midnight Secretary! Thanks for reminding me. I suck at reading scanlations, apparently. And I had a friend ask me for a new anime to watch and I completely drew a blank. The only semi-new thing I’ve seen lately is Haruhi Suzumiya and he was the one who told me to watch it! I mentioned Skip Beat (which is shojo, but also… not, I think) and Ponyo on the Cliff, the new Ghibli movie.

    What’s Usagi Drop?

    Reply
  • 3. badzphoto  |  November 7, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    Anime: how about “a girl who travels through time”? I’m not up to date with anime – another expensive hobby.

    “Usagi drop” is a sojei manga about a successful single 30’s man who became a reluctant single dad for his 5-6 year-old aunt (his grandfather had an affair with his caregiver) after his grandfather’s sudden death (the grandfather was 80+ year old). There is no romance so far. I hope that it’ll be licensed, since it’s already licensed in French.

    It seems that you prefer reading books on the ereader than computer?

    Reply
  • 4. cathy  |  November 7, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    That sounds interesting! I like family drama manga – hence my love for things like Baby and Me. :)

    The ereader is lovely to look at – your computer screen is constantly refreshing, which is what (I believe) causes eyestrain (or at least I can stare intently at paper without the same effects as staring at a monitor) but the ereader screen doesn’t do that. It forms the image of the words and then stays like that until you turn the page. It also helps that if you’re in low light you can up the font size, etc. It actually looks like a book to me, I guess.

    Reply
  • 6. badzphoto  |  November 7, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    that looks cool – just like holding the paperback, no?
    I’ll definitely consider it when manga is available for it :)

    Reply
  • 7. pajcat  |  November 7, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    Well, I’ve just determined that scanlations work on it! You have to make sure all the files are named so they list by page order (which they are anyway) and load them as pictures. Then you can scroll page by page. Neat! If they were saved as one big pdf fiile then I could load them as a book, but as it is, I have about 50 pages of Sailor Moon loaded right now!

    Bad point: there doesn’t seem to be a way to make collections of pictures the way you can books, so you wouldn’t be able to load much if you’re using jpegs.

    heh.

    Reply
  • 8. badzphoto  |  November 8, 2008 at 1:33 am

    ah, so you don’t need boxes nor shelves ;) – you can have your whole library in your purse. That’s awesome.
    does word doc work? or only pdf?
    if word doc works, one can copy jpg files to a word doc.

    Reply
  • 9. pajcat  |  November 8, 2008 at 1:42 am

    I don’t think the doc works – I think you need to convert it. But I admit I haven’t done a lot of playing around with formats yet. I could be wrong!

    For manga, though… still gotta love the paper versions!

    Reply
  • 10. Domino  |  November 16, 2008 at 2:46 am

    http://panpanmanga.wordpress.com/2008/11/14/love-award/#comment-187

    You’ve been loved

    e book, that sounds cool

    Reply
  • 11. Jeremiah The Litigeous  |  November 19, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    I got equally jacked over seeing a manga app released on my iphone and then equally depressed when I realized what it was limited to.

    :( I share your level of dissapointment.

    @badzphoto – Do you mean “The girl who lept through time”? Cause that is an amazing movie. BTW what do you mean anime is expensive… its free. Learn to Torrent… @_@

    Reply
  • 12. cathy  |  November 19, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    I admit I don’t buy a lot of anime, though I would if it were cheaper and only in Japanese. I generally resent paying more for an English dub I’ll never use. Most of the anime I buy is used. But I find it easier to read manga rather than watch the same series as an anime – the time commitment is a lot different!

    I’m vaguely jealous of your iphone, even though I know I’d never use it enough to justify the expense!

    Reply
  • 13. Jeremiah The Litigeous  |  November 19, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    I pretend the english dubbs do not exist. Seriously though… but buying used anime? So you get the left overs that came out in Japan from years ago that someone else didn’t want any more… What about all the great series airing in Japan weekly like Michiko e Hatchin?

    You are missing out on sooo much great stuff! Do you feel like you are stealing when you bittorrent? Or is it that you just don’t know how? If it’s the later, let me know and I’ll teach ya. Eazy Peazy ^_^

    Reply
  • 14. cathy  |  November 19, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    Oh, no I use bittorrent all the time – I just feel guilty because I feel like I should be watching/buying the anime when it comes out here. I don’t even support it for free on tv because it’s all in English. I’m a dub snob, to the core. (except for early Viz stuff, which I quite like and Ghibli movies for some reason) The time thing is a huge factor as well. Easier for me to shove a book in my bag than fiddle around with everything that would let me watch anime while on the go.

    Buying used anime lets me buy the official versions, but at a fraction of the cost. I do wish the prices would drop more, though. I’d buy something like Azumanga Daioh or Fruits Basket in a minute if they were cheaper, but to be honest I’d rather use the $70-100 to buy 7-10 volumes of manga I’ve never read before.

    Or on food. Food is good.

    Reply
  • 15. Jeremiah The Litigeous  |  November 20, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    Or you could spend zero dollars on manga and read it from onemanga. I also understand the time issues though but I read manga at school on my laptop or on my iPhone.

    The biggest thing I think you are missing out on is anime not based on manga. Like Code Geass, Samurai Champloo and Michiko to Hatchin. And also dont discount anime that is much better than the manga, like Soul Eater.

    Reply
  • 16. pajcat  |  November 21, 2008 at 12:06 am

    Hmm.. no, I generally don’t read licensed manga online. I buy it – that’s what I have my bookstore job for – or I borrow it from the library or read stuff at work. Also, with the amount that I do read, I find reading at my computer uncomfortable. I generally think that companies that publish manga should be supported. I’m not sure how long you’ve been reading, but I started when I was 17, there was no internet distribution and the only thing I could find was Ranma or Oh My Goddess comics. And volumes of manga were $30. Right now is a paradise, believe me!

    With a full time job plus part time job not watching anime is a time issue with me. I tend to get fairly obsessive when I watch stuff, so it’s a big committment to start a new series. So I alternate between anime (I’m starting Haruhi Suzumiya right now), tv (almost finished watching Wonderfalls which is fantastic) and asian dramas (Coffee Prince is up next).

    I haven’t seen Code Geass, but watched Samurai Champloo when it first came out. V good series – I recommended it to a lot of people.

    Reply
  • 17. pajcat  |  November 21, 2008 at 12:10 am

    By the way – that wasn’t a “grr! people who read manga online are BAD” commentary. Just a personal preference. If I can afford to buy manga I think I should. That was always the premise behind fansubs and scanlations – support it when it gets licensed.

    Reply
  • 18. Jeremiah The Litigeous  |  November 22, 2008 at 2:31 am

    The people who did Samurai Champloo also do Machiko e Hatchin, so if you like the former, you will enjoy the later.

    Have you watched the Oran Host Club (may have screwed that name up) anime at all? Very funny, and it has alot of Shojo aspects that some of the anime you listed have in common.

    I don’t support any anime or manga through buying media. I’m not a capitalist at all and don’t really care if I don’t send Shonen Jump a few more dollars to throw into the ocean of money they are already swimming in. The anime makes plenty of money off of advertising and merchandise in Japan so I don’t feel bad downloading that either, plus it takes forever to come out over here and is often censored.

    Summary = I just don’t care for the rich getting richer.

    Thanks for the discussion, I usually can’t talk about or debate anything on my blog because thoughts about particular subjects just get swallowed in the flood of comments that ensue after each manga release.

    ^_^ Your blog = subtle awesomeness!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

