Why is that there?? What is it??

October 27, 2008 at 1:01 am 2 comments

Phrases of the day as I spent hours and hours cleaning the new apartment.  I think Laurie was tired of my plaintive cries by the end of the afternoon.  My hands are utterly ravaged.  I still have the floors and a couple of cupboards to clean, but for the most part I’m done.  My two amazing friends gave me a hand today by putting together some furniture and painting my living room ceiling, which I thought would be a good idea… not sure why.  It seemed logical at the time.  My job was cleaning, which was complicated by the fact that whatever crud is caked on the bottom of the oven defeated my best efforts and four applications of oven cleaner, and by the fact that for a portion of the day there was no hot water.  Welcome to the building!

Some of my lovely surprises today came from cleaning the cupboards.  The random rice left in one… the onion peels in the cupboard above the sink… etc etc.  Favorite discovery had to be the blue gum stuck in the upper corner of the door frame.  Who puts gum up there??  Why would you leave it?  It’s kind of a shame the dude who lived there before me was so messy – the apartment actually looks pretty good.  (I have two closet door issues, but it’s in surprisingly good shape!)

I finally headed home at 1:30 to discover streams of water pouring down my street.  Who do you call about that at 1:30 in the morning on a Sunday?  I finally decided to call the police station and the switchboard person told me a water main broke on the next street over.  I admit to a certain amount of fear when I opened the door after getting home – I fully expected to find a layer of water down here!

I’m going to pack a few more boxes, then I’m off to bed.  Tomorrow I have a ceiling to paint, packing to finish and some floors to clean.  Sigh.  It’ll all be over soon…

Entry filed under: rambling.

3 am blogging My new toy

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badzphoto  |  October 27, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    “… and by the fact that for a portion of the day there was no hot water. ”
    hm, and winter is coming, too.

    I’m surprised at the stuff you found. I always thought that when a tenant moved out, the landlord always check the place to deduct $ from the deposit, no? hm, maybe the cupboard wasn’t checked!

    “… a water main broke ..”
    Yikes

    It seems that when it rains, it pours :(

    “It’ll all be over soon…”
    Only a few more days …

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  October 27, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Yeah, the landlord isn’t really into doing stuff like that. I had to ask him to have someone paint, because the walls had tape marks on them. He honestly didn’t think it was a problem!

    But the apt looks good now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

