People like free stuff

September 25, 2008 at 11:36 pm 4 comments

Tonight I discovered that if you offer free comics on Craigslist it takes about five minutes to get rid of them.  My living room is so much cleaner now!  And I still have another person coming on Tuesday to take away even more… Sigh.  It’s one of those good things/bad things.  Bad I’m getting rid of my comics, good that they’re going to someone who’s going to enjoy them.  And the Tuesday person is a 10 year old boy, so I decided to give him my Impulse books too.  I haven’t read them in years, he might as well have them.

Another plus in the good news column is I now have three empty comic boxes waiting to be filled with manga.  Well, one of them is already half filled, but I’m sealing each volume in a comic bag first, so it’s a bit time consuming.  It’s a good way to keep busy while watching the new tv.

(And good grief!  I just watched the first half of the Heroes premiere!  WTF??  Has everyone gone insane??)

Entry filed under: rambling.

Apartment news and a small movie review 1 job down, 10 to go

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badtzphoto  |  September 26, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    “People like free stuff”
    very true, that’s why 4 for 3 deals always do damage to my pocket book ;)

    “I’m sealing each volume in a comic bag first, so it’s a bit time consuming.”
    You do take good care of your manga. It is to prevent water damaged and what else?

    Reply
  • 2. cathy  |  September 26, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    It’s mostly to prevent possible water damage. I’m moving into a basement that has had a previous water leak, so I’m a little paranoid. I mean, they found the problem (drainspout too close to the house + incredibly rainy summer) and fixed it so I don’t really think it’s going to happen again, I’m just operating on the better safe than sorry principle. Or possibly I’m just being anal. :)

    I’m not sure if it helps with discolouration, though.

    I buy more books at Amazon than I want just to get the free shipping. It’s like buying something just so you can get the free gift with purchase. :)

    Reply
  • 3. badtzphoto  |  September 26, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    > I’m just operating on the better safe than sorry principle.
    It’s a good policy when it comes to books/mangas, methinks.

    > … discolouration
    I always thought sunlight is the main cause – so if your bookshelf is in direct sun-light, then your books/mangas are in danger of discolouration, unless I misunderstood.

    > a free shipping
    it’s an enabler, let me tell you.

    > It’s like buying something just so you can get the free gift with purchase. :)
    the thing is you’ll pay almost the same amount for shipping, why not put it into books, right?

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  October 3, 2008 at 1:03 am

    I think the air is enough to yellow a book. I know in the bookstore you can tell which books have been there longer than others, and there’s definitely no sun in there! :)

    I’m kind of jealous of the Amazon.com free shipping thing you can subscribe to. If it were available in Canada I would definitely sign up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

