Apartment news and a small movie review

September 22, 2008 at 4:05 pm 2 comments

I have spent the past couple of weeks obsessively checking online apartment listings, determined to find the perfect place for me.  And I found one!   Though not online.  (Of course.  That’s my luck sometimes.)

It meets my requirements quite nicely, too.  Bathtub, laundry, working oven.  I even have a large storage space next to my door, which means I don’t have to throw away half of  my stuff.  :)  I’m still continuing with the rather brutal weeding of my comic collection, but I have discovered that my manga will fit two rows quite nicely in the now empty boxes.  Less manga on the shelves = tidier looking apartment + less temptation to get rid of half of those, too.

So now my evenings will go back to semi-normal, though I will have to start chucking things in boxes soon.  One of the things I have had more time for are movies and the new tv season.  I finally got to see Speed Racer, and I think a lot of the negative reviews were rather unfair.  It’s kind of odd and quirky, but you have to keep in mind the source material!  So it was kind of cheesey, and there was a little kid with a chimp that was annoying (kids with chimps are always annoying) but I really liked the colours and visuals and I loved watching the race scenes.  Lots of cars spinning and crashing and popping up to flip in the air…  Even the plot had some complications that I wasn’t expecting.  There were evil corporations using racing as a method to bump stock prices up and down.  If I had to rate it out of 10 I think I would give it a 7 1/2.  I *did* put it on my recommended movie shelf at the bookstore.  No one’s mocked me for it yet, though I admit they might not do it to my face.  :)

Entry filed under: movies, rambling.

Kurosagi Corpse Delivery Service 7 People like free stuff

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badtzphoto  |  September 22, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    yay for finding a new appartment

    “Less manga on the shelves = tidier looking apartment + less temptation to get rid of half of those, too.”
    I’ve been worried about those for no apparent reasons ;)

    Reply
  • 2. cathy  |  September 22, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    Well, I think the series in serious danger is W Juliet. I seem very determined to trade that one in. Nothing else on my shelves really stands out. :)

    Thank you for worrying about my collection though. I’m sure the manga appreciate it. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

