Kurosagi Corpse Delivery Service 7

September 10, 2008 at 12:52 am 5 comments

I haven’t finished reading this one yet – I’m only two chapters in – but I loved the first story in this volume.  Here are a few scenes from it.

Spoilers for the first story commence!

Business has been slow for the Kurosagi crew, and there was never much money in the corpse business to begin with, so Sasaki (the hacker/info guru) has the guys on moving jobs.  Unfortunately the first one isn’t exactly an easy one…

That would be the forklift breaking down in the last panel.  It’s all grunt work from here on in!  Sasaki eventually finds them some help in the form of a robotic power suit developed by some scientists at a nearby university but it breaks down before the job can be finished.  

That doesn’t stop her from accepting their next job, though…


I admit here I felt better about packing and moving my measley 30 boxes.  Fortunately the scientists show up at the otaku complex (the manga artist lives in one of the apartments upstairs) and are ready to lend a hand.

Mr. Helper Unit Two is even better than the first one…

Um.  Of course you know there are going to be some complications from that.  Turns out there’s a little more of the game cartridge programming left than the scientists had accounted for.  Oops!  Mr Helper decides to go for a wander around the shopping arcade.

Next, a shocking discovery!

I love how horrified the scientists are here.  Because, yes!  Mr. Helper isn’t a true robot – he’s moving around through the power of a reanimated corpse!  That can’t be good.

But wait, there’s more!  A disturbance in the arcade brings the crew to a video game store where yet another twist is added to the story.

Heh.  Die, Die Zombie-Kun.  I love that title.  It doesn’t bode well for the shoppers in the arcade, though.  The guys track down Mr. Helper and take him down, but the reprieve doesn’t last very long.

And the otaku digs just keep coming!

Okay, I’m not giving away any more of the story.  If you want to find out if any otakus survive or Mr. Helper’s mysterious identity, you’ve gotta read it yourself.  Or, just ask and I’ll tell you.  :)  But seriously, this one was a pretty fun read.  It had a lot of the twisty, dark humour I’ve come to expect from Kurosagi.

The second story in the book is about some horrifying after effects of plastic surgery.  It works as a creepy enough story on it’s own, but goes on to further the story behind the ghost that’s following Karatsu around.  I can’t spoil this one, though.  I don’t know how it ends.

If I have any complaints about Kurosagi, it’s the way that Dark Horse has done the translation.  Or… didn’t.  I’ve complained before about sound effects in adult manga not being translated, but I’m not sure if I’ve ever mentioned that Kurosagi is actually the reason why I stopped buying manga that wasn’t “finished.”  I got incredibly annoyed by the chirpy little message in the back of the books that tries to make it seem like a favour that they haven’t distracted the reader by letting you know what the background noises and atmosphere cues are.  Which wasn’t a huge deal until… the story where people were being killed by the background noises at a busy street corner.  I couldn’t handle the irony, I guess.  :)

I guess in a scene like this I feel like I shouldn’t have to NOT know what’s going on.  In this case, they explain it on the next page (the glossary at the back has it as: Hyuba – giant sword coming down) but Dark Horse “suggests that the reader NOT constantly consult this glossary as they read through, but regard it as supplemental information, in the manner of footnotes.”  Um, okay.  Footnotes…. yeah.  Sigh.

But just so I don’t end on a negative note, Kurosagi rocks and I’m always happy to see a new volume come out.  :)

Entry filed under: manga.

My new friend looks just like my old friends Apartment news and a small movie review

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MangaBlog » Blog Archive » Still here, still reading manga  |  September 10, 2008 at 6:37 am

    […] David Welsh reviews vol. 1 of Red Colored Elegy at The Comics Reporter. Cathy takes a look at vol. 7 of Kurosagi Corpse Delivery Service, complete with some peeks at the art, at It can’t all be about manga. Lori Henderson reads the […]

    Reply
  • 2. badtzphoto  |  September 10, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    comparing to 200 boxes of manga, 30 don’t sound so bad …
    I’ve read about this series before and all good reviews, too, somehow, the title doesn’t sound like my cup of tea – a horror story, but reading these panels you provided, it does look funny :)
    I may check it out

    Reply
  • 3. chacha-chan  |  September 12, 2008 at 10:39 am

    Hmm…I was hoping they would expand on the story on Yaichi, the mysterious scarred spirit that protects baldy. But nonetheless, likewise, I do love any new volume thats been released, this being one of my few faves. Thanks for the insight!

    Reply
  • 4. cathy  |  September 12, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Well, he was in the second story, but it didn’t seem like there was much revealed about him. Just a sinister plot devised to trap him.

    I ended up enjoying the rest of the volume, but that plastic surgery story was just creepy. :)

    Reply
  • 5. cathy  |  September 12, 2008 at 10:44 am

    Badtzphoto – it is funny, but people get murdered a lot, so there are a lot of drawings of corpses and so on… about what you’d expect from the title!

    Rest of volume (aside from the plastic surgery story) was the crew going out to help in the filming of a horror movie where the cast keeps “running off.” DUN! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

