Lonely little robots

June 27, 2008 at 9:07 pm 1 comment

I think it’s very typical of my life that right after I said I was going to write a bunch of reviews for my new manga, my mom called to tell me that she had an appointment in Toronto and would be coming to visit.  She just went home last night, two weeks later.  We went to several restaurants, got a manicure together (a goal established three years ago that just got accomplished) and watched a bunch of movies.  Most of them with singing.  But none of that left me with a lot of time for writing.  Oops!

Speaking of movies, I just got home from seeing WALL*E  (or however it’s spelled).  Actually I saw it twice tonight, it was that amazing.  The robots WALL*E and EVE both had an astonishing amount of character considering they had a vocabulary of about three words each.  And that applies to the rest of the robots, too.  Even if you don’t consider the adorable robots (and surprisingly charming cockroach) the rest of the movie was stunning.  The landscapes!  I mean, the Earth was basically one huge garbage planet.  It had a lot more serious sci-fi elements than I was expecting (using up the Earth’s resources, the pollution, the sheer LITTER in the atmosphere… which reminded me of Planetes) and I found myself just getting sad looking at the wasteland.  Then WALL*E got to take a ride in space and it was wonderfully beautiful…

Look at me gushing all over the place.  Bah.  Go see it.  I’m probably going to go again.  I can’t decide if this knocks Iron Man out of the #1 movie spot for me, but if it doesn’t then they’re definitely tied.

Entry filed under: manga.

Sweet Admiration and New Beginnings Completely random post

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Laurie  |  July 16, 2008 at 9:27 am

    O.K.- I had read your gush on this movie and thought “yah, it looks really cute”… Now I see where the gush came from! That was the best movie I’ve seen all summer!! Romantic Comedy, seething social commentary… so good! Totally rocked!!
    And yes, the cockroach was very charming!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

