Sweet Admiration and New Beginnings

June 12, 2008 at 10:32 pm 14 comments

I didn’t get to read any manga today (I was finishing up the new Diana Wynne Jones book instead) but last night I squeezed in another volume and a novel before bed.

Sweet Admiration by Yuuki Kousaka is a yaoi novel from June.  Katsuya is a young salesman who applies for a job at the company where his childhood crush works.  Shio and his younger brother spent a summer vacationing in Katsuya’s town and he’s never forgotten the older man.  Unfortunately he not only finds out that Shio is just an investor in the company and doesn’t actually work there, but then Katsuya’s company housing falls through.  Fortunately the president finds him alternate housing… at Shio’s condo!  At first Shio is cold and unfriendly but soon the two find themselves getting closer – a situation complicated when a third brother shows up and tries to get between Shio and Katsuya.  This is a fairly tame novel, with no real “events” to perk up the action of the book.  I guess the main point of interest in the book would be a reversal of the usual yaoi type roles.  Katsuya is the outgoing, athletic younger man who turns out to be the uke, and Shio is the cool beautiful man who surprised me by being the aggressor in bed.  I liked the book well enough, but it was a bit bland.

New Beginnings is a shonen-ai manga by Kotetsuko Yamamoto and one that I very much enjoyed reading.  And the whole volume was one story!  Joy.  The story opens with Chihiro, short and cute, being groped on the train.  His response is violent and establishes him as a spunky, tempermental guy.  Standard fare in manga.  :)  When he gets home that night he finds out that his mother has agreed to have his childhood friend Keigo come and live with them.  Keigo was timid and bullied as a boy (Chihiro always protected him) but then moved overseas with his parents.  Eventually he became a shut-in until his parents agreed to let him return to Japan.  Keigo shows up on their doorstep shortly after, taller and better looking than Chihiro and way too happy to see his old friend.  It’s not long before Keigo confesses to Chihiro that he’s been in love with him for years. 

Chihiro, however, is in love with a girl in his class and not interested in Keigo beyond friendship.

Angst and confusion reign as Chihiro spies Keigo spending more and more time with the girl that he’s in love with and rumours begin to fly that the two are going out.  Drama!  Misunderstandings!  Tears!

The two boys develop a new friendship as Chihiro tries to figure out why Keigo is in love with him, Keigo has to deal with Chihiro’s reaction to his confession and the fact that his feelings may never be returned.  There was a lot of shouting, a lot of blushing…  I don’t want to say much else, because I did have a lot of fun reading this one and don’t want to spoil too much of the story.  Two thumbs up on this one, I think.

Entry filed under: manga.

Restart Lonely little robots

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badtzphoto  |  June 12, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    Hey, I just started Diana Wynne Jones’ new book, too :)

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  June 13, 2008 at 8:02 am

    House of Many Ways? Gotta love a Wizard Howl book…

    One of the best things about Harry Potter is that Diana Wynne Jones books came back in print.

    Reply
  • 3. badtzphoto  |  June 13, 2008 at 11:01 am

    Yes, that’s the one. I didn’t know it was out until last week.
    Interestingly enough, my friend keeps telling me to read “Howl’s moving castle” and I kept putting it off because of the name Howl (sounds a bit savage to me – and I’m a scarty-cat!). Only after the anime came out that I had to read the book before watching the anime – and the rest is history :) End the twist of the castle in the air is just awesome…
    There is a fan fic of Howl’s moving castle written from Howl’s pov which I really like …

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  June 14, 2008 at 6:53 am

    I was so disappointed in the Howl movie. It was like they sucked all the charming bits out of the book and somehow turned it into a war movie. I had to console myself by rereading the book after I saw it. :)

    Reply
  • 5. badtzphoto  |  June 14, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    Yeah, that’s the exact reason why I always read the book before watching its movie adaptation :) I’m just weird! I reread that book many times. Have you read “the dark lord of Derkhom” (sp) and its sequel “the year of the griffin”? how about “fire and helmlock”?

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  June 14, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    I have read every single Jones book published in North America. Fire and Hemlock was my favorite for a while, but what I like about her books is that they’re not always easy to figure out.

    I prefer to read the book after I see the movie (if I haven’t already) that way I’m not disappointed by the movie.

    Saw the Hulk just now. If you’re ever curious about what Toronto looks like, go see it. :) The big fight at the end is filmed on Yonge St, which is just steps from the bookstore I work at, and a lot of the exterior building shots were at the University of Toronto. It made the movie more fun. (Okay movie, not great.)

    Reply
  • 7. badtzphoto  |  June 24, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    I finally finished Jones’ new book – so fun. It reminded me how much I enjoy Howl’s character – had to reread Howl’s moving castle :) Charmain and Peter are great fun. I like bookworm character. Read any new good mangas lately?

    Reply
  • 8. cathy  |  June 24, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    He was so much more dramatic in the first book. Howl was almost… mature in this one. Tho the lisp was hysterical.

    My mom came for an impromptu visit so I’ve barely been reading anything (seen 5 movies, though!) and definitely haven’t had time to write anything. And I probably would have too, since it’s been raining buckets in Toronto lately and I’ve been staying in.

    I did read the first Umbrella Academy trade yesterday, though. I really enjoyed it. The weird/odd humour in it appealed to me.

    Reply
  • 9. badtzphoto  |  June 27, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    here is an q&a with Ms Jones on the book: click me

    “Howl was almost… mature in this one. Tho the lisp was hysterical.”
    Yeah, he steals all the scene he’s in :)

    Please send some rains my way, we seem to have a drought and I like rains …

    Reply
  • 10. Louis Vuitton Bags  |  June 5, 2014 at 5:00 am

    Hello everyone, it’s my first visit at this website, and piece of writing
    is really fruitful in support of me, keep up posting these types of posts.

    Reply
  • 11. Dr Dre Beats  |  June 8, 2014 at 12:10 am

    Hello there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if
    you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m
    having problems finding one? Thanks a lot!

    Reply
  • 12. Christian Louboutin Pumps  |  June 11, 2014 at 1:47 am

    Hi, its good post about media print, we all understand media is a wonderful source of information.

    Reply
  • 13. http://www.akilsizbilge.in/profile.php?id=60062  |  July 7, 2014 at 6:50 am

    Thanks for the good writeup. It in truth was once a enjoyment account it.
    Glance complex to more brought agreeable from you! By the way, how can we be in contact?

    Reply
  • 14. Louis Vuitton Bags  |  September 8, 2014 at 8:55 pm

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you
    create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz respond as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to know where u got this from.
    thanks a lot

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

