Trip pics: Spring blossoms

May 14, 2008 at 11:15 pm 11 comments

I haven’t forgotten that I was going to post some pictures from my trip to Japan some weeks back.  (Only a little over a month!  Why does it always seem so long ago?)  I had Flickr issues.  Specifically, I had to decide if I wanted to pay for an account so I could organize my pictures or just not bother.  I finally decided on the account.  :)

I’ve just started messing around with it, but I have created my first set of pictures from the trip.  So if you’re interested, here are some of the sakura and plum blossoms.  It’s a mix of photos that I took on our first and second trip to Kyoto (a week apart so the trees had time to bloom a little more) and the garden Kenrokuen in Kanazawa.

japan 2008 086
This is a close up of some plum blossoms with sakura in the background.

japan 2008 095
Some of the branches on a rather spectacular sakura tree.

japan 2008 085

japan 2008 080

japan 2008 070
My half-hearted attempt at being artistic… :)

If you’re interested, you can view the rest of the set here.

Slideshow is here.

 

Entry filed under: Random Stuff.

A brief housekeeping note Deeeaaaaannnn!!!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badtzphoto  |  May 15, 2008 at 11:13 am

    “… spectacular sakura tree.”

    That is indeed spectacular!!! Thanks for sharing :)

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  May 15, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    I have to say that these pictures look much better on my new monitor!

    Reply
  • 3. badtzphoto  |  May 15, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    a flat screen I assume :)

    btw, what do you think about Gatcha gacha 7? It left me with a sense of dread that there is some twist in #8 which I may not like …

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  May 15, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    It’s very thin and pretty. 19 inches and widescreen. Heh. I so shouldn’t have bought it…

    I was actually a little disappointed by Gatcha Gacha 7! I liked the first story, but put the book down when that curly haired guy showed up. I’ve skimmed through the rest of it but haven’t read it properly yet. I was basically just looking for the Prez stuff. :)

    #8 is the last one, right? I actually kind of like that this series is messed up enough that I can’t tell exactly what’s going to happen. Like it and dread it…

    Reply
  • 5. badtzphoto  |  May 15, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    “I so shouldn’t have bought it…”
    Well, you need one anyway ;)

    “I was basically just looking for the Prez stuff. :)”
    Same here. End of #5 and #6 show the best stuff :)

    And #8 is released dec 08. Oh the wait! I’ll try to get the Japanese one if I can find it – I can’t wait that long.

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  May 16, 2008 at 7:38 am

    I justified the new monitor as being cheaper than the laptop my friend bought at the same time. I had vague laptop envy, even though I don’t particularly want one. :)

    I must keep reminding myself that the Prez is NOT the main character…

    My favorite purchase this week was actually Wild Adaptor 5. I love Kazuya Minekura. Of course, now I probably have to wait an eternity for the next book…

    Goes off to check.

    Reply
  • 7. pajcat  |  May 16, 2008 at 7:39 am

    arg. June for Saiyuki Reload, December for Wild Adapter. sigh.

    Reply
  • 8. badtzphoto  |  May 16, 2008 at 10:58 am

    “I must keep reminding myself that the Prez is NOT the main character…”
    hee, but he’s part of the gang, isn’t he? Even Yabe likes him now :)

    I don’t understand the wait … is it because the series doesn’t sell well or something? Sometimes I wish I could read Japanese …

    Reply
  • 9. cathy  |  May 16, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    Ha, I blame Tokyopop for everything like that. I’m so unreasonable. I just assume they’re up to no good. Fruits Basket has coloured everything with them for me now!

    (did that make sense??)

    And I remembered my justification for the new monitor. I got my tax refund back, that’s why I bought it. Obviously that *really* stuck in my mind…

    Reply
  • 10. badtzphoto  |  May 16, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    “And I remembered my justification for the new monitor. I got my tax refund back, that’s why I bought it. Obviously that *really* stuck in my mind…”
    Hee, no need to justify, besides, you need that flat screen to watch anime ;)
    Good for you to get tax returned – it’s always a good reason to splurge on something :)

    “(did that make sense??)”
    yeah.
    That’s why I kind of stay away from anything tokyopop and move to viz since their release is much more reasonable except for Ouran high (what’s up with its schedule nov 08? – sigh). I’m so spoiled…

    Reply
  • 11. pajcat  |  May 16, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    I actually don’t mind waiting if I know there’s a good reason, like the series is close to what’s coming out in Japan or (like Viz) is being released as a serial first.

    It’s when it’s just dragged out for the sake of dragging it out that I get ticked.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

