There’s something in my eye(s)

May 7, 2008 at 10:20 pm 10 comments

I decided to be brave after my last eye exam and give contacts a shot.  Yes, I figured it was about time that I overcame my “eye thing” and contacts would be very nice to have.  I discovered that I have a huge blinking reflex to overcome, but I’m better at putting them in myself than having someone else do it.   My eyes like to send a frantic, “Some dude’s fingers are touching me!! Get them out! Get them out!” message to my brain.  Tonight I went over to Laurie’s and got a live demonstration of taking the damn things out since that was my biggest worry.  (I was actually going to find out the location of the nearest walk in clinic just in case I couldn’t manage.)  Yesterday I spent a whole hour in the optometrists office and had to eventually get him to take them out.  His refrain was “stop digging around in there!”  but his demo was less than helpful as he didn’t actually wear contacts.

I gave them another try tonight but I’m not sure if the experiment was a complete success.  I could *feel* them covering my eyes and my vision wasn’t quite right on one of them.  It made me wonder if the lenses somehow got switched.  Not when I put them on!  I totally knew that the big “L” on the case meant that that was my left lens.  :)  I’m going to put them in again tomorrow afternoon at work and then go to the eye place (conveniently located in my hospital) and have the guy check them to make sure they’re in properly.  Maybe I just need drops or something…

But why am I putting them in tomorrow afternoon?  To see Iron Man, of course!  I went opening night and absolutely loved it.  It’s everything I could want a comic book movie to be, and I even think that comic book Iron Man is a dink.  That Civil War thing was totally his fault.  :)  But I loved Robert Downey Jr. – he was perfect.  And his little robot arm thingy in the lab could have it’s own movie.  I’d go see it.  So my second viewing is my reward for contact lens success.  It’s going to be the first movie I’ve seen since I was 12 that didn’t have my glasses framing the screen. 

Speaking of eye things, btw… there’s a new xxxHolic season/series started.  There are five episodes subtitled so far and the first story is of the grudge-holding spider that webs shut Domeki’s eye.  I loved that story. 

Entry filed under: anime, rambling.

Random sakura picture Passing of an era

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badtzphoto  |  May 8, 2008 at 12:02 am

    I hope the contact lenses work out for you. I know some people would rather wear glasses than contact lenses because of the feeling “something is in my eyes” but I heard you get used to them eventually.

    Anime xxxholic? interesting, I assume you also watch Tsubasa anime? More slippery slopes :)

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  May 8, 2008 at 12:21 am

    I hope I get used to them! I could feel the edges, but maybe my eyes were just still sensitive from yesterday. My left eye was killing me because I was told to push the contact down before squeezing it and it would rub against the rim. Ouch. :( And my left eye is a lot worse vision wise which is why I was trying to figure out if I had the contacts switched. The blur wasn’t going away.

    I watched the first xxxHolic series (manga was better, though!) but petered out while watching Tsubasa. It just wasn’t as good if you already knew the story. I’ve been getting the new OVA series (which takes place about where the manga is now) but haven’t watched any yet.

    I’ve been watching more tv shows than anime lately.

    Reply
  • 3. badtzphoto  |  May 8, 2008 at 2:10 am

    ouch, indeed. It sounds painful just reading your description. do you have eye drops to moisturize your eyes? They are supposed to help, too.

    “And my left eye is a lot worse vision wise which is why I was trying to figure out if I had the contacts switched.”
    But in that case, wouldn’t the right eye be blur also since it had to adjust a lot? I don’t know, just a guess.

    “new OVA series”
    I didn’t know these are released in north America. Interesting.

    Tsubasa story line is a bit confusing in book 16 – I don’t remember if you read it yet. So I won’t spoil it. I really enjoy the notes at the end of the books. They’re great.
    I didn’t like xxxholic at first, since the art wasn’t really *beautiful* (or rather cute a la CLAMP style – Card Captor Sakura, Wish), but I can appreciate it better now :)

    Reply
  • 4. gothclark  |  May 8, 2008 at 7:05 am

    I haven’t worn contacts in years. Be careful. The store is not a friend of contacts. It’s very dry in there.

    I went to see Iron Man again with my family and it was just as good the second time around. Robert totally rocks.

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  May 8, 2008 at 7:23 am

    Gothclark – thanks for the warning about the store. I hadn’t thought of that. The library is about to switch into “humid” mode (we have chronic paper jams all summer due to the paper curling) but I think I should invest in eyedrops. :)

    I’m glad you went to see Iron Man not once, but twice! I was half afraid I had talked you out of it last week with my crowded theatre story and had guilt. I loved that the AMC is playing it every half hour, though!

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  May 8, 2008 at 7:30 am

    badtzphoto – My vision in the right eye was super clear, which is why I thought they might be switched. They both have the same distance viewing problem but one is weaker than the other. I see better from the right eye. If I switch my glasses around I get crazy sharp vision with my right eye. But one of the lenses was much thicker than the other so I have no idea what was going on. Maybe my eyes were just pissed off at me. :) Eye drops eye drops…

    When I first started reading Tsubasa and xxxHolic I liked Tsubasa a lot better. It still has an edge artwise – you’re right. It’s a bit more beautiful/cute than Holic. But Holic is kind of… whimsical? Sharp? Not sure of the word I’m going for. In terms of story and characterization Holic pulled far ahead of the other. It was like Tsubasa had a bit too much filler that Holic didn’t really have time for.

    The last few volumes of Tsubasa have been crazy good. And caused me to wander around saying, “What’s up with Clamp and the eyes???” :) The last volume was a bit hard to follow, though. I agree with you there!

    And, er… The OVA hasn’t been released just yet. I’ve been watching fansubs….

    Reply
  • 7. cathy  |  May 8, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    I have decided that my vision problems are a combination of a new prescription and a new field of vision. Apparently I was successful at blocking how much trouble I had adjusting to my brown glasses when I got them a year and a half ago… :)

    Reply
  • 8. Laurie  |  May 9, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    And you know that you can call whenever you need help with the contacts!!
    Your blinking reflex will come in handy when it’s dry in a place! I keep my eyes open too long and they get dry!!

    Reply
  • 9. pajcat  |  May 9, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Yeah, it was a lot better yesterday. Still not used to them, though. I think I kind of weirded out my co-workers by suddenly looking different in the middle of the day. “You have blue eyes!” heh.

    Reply
  • 10. pajcat  |  May 9, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    Also, getting them out this time was almost easy! I feel soon I will have progressed to dead easy. :)

    Not wearing them today due to the whole sick/sleeping in until 3pm thing… :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

