And now we must part…

April 15, 2008 at 9:06 pm 8 comments

While I was away I ordered volume 23 of Fruits Basket off of eBay and it arrived a few days after I got home.  Now my collection of Fruits Basket is complete.  sniff.  I had such fun reading this one.

I’m not sure if I’m going to keep buying the Tokyopop edition of the book.  Quite frankly, I bought volume 18 when it came out and it’s still in the shrinkwrap.  I didn’t even bother buying their 19.  Maybe someday I’ll get them as trade-ins or if I find them used I’ll pick them up, but I’m pretty much done spending money on the manga I think.

 

I also bought the last volume of Hana-Kimi today.  I don’t always mention this one when a list of my favorites is brought up, but I always look forward to when it comes out in the store.  Along with Fruits Basket and Skip Beat, it’s the only manga I collect that I had to read ahead in scanlations.   I still loved reading the volumes, though.

I don’t think Hana-Kimi is a flashy series and to be honest I didn’t even like the art very much when I first started.  Now I think the guys in the books are beautiful, and I appreciated reading a shojo series that didn’t have a heroine breaking out in tears every other chapter or the constant break-ups and angst of the more “romantic” series.  It had a big enough supporting cast and mix of characters that the story could veer away from the Mizuki-Sano-Nakatsu triangle and still be interesting.  There were family issues to be dealt with, sports conflicts, broken hearts, dorm rivalries….  and with Nakatsu’s psychic roomate thrown in (my favorite character!) they could even have the odd ghost story pop up.

I think my next lazy day/rainy day is going to be spent curled up on the couch rereading these two series.  I can read 46 volumes of manga in one day, I’m sure!

Edited to add: I just read the last volume of Hana-Kimi and Viz made an odd omission.  There was a wedding special published that didn’t make it into the book.  Weird. 

Entry filed under: manga.

Well at least the snow was gone… Toy building marathon

8 Comments Add your own

  • […] bids farewell to two concluding series, Fruits Basket (she’s reading a foreign edition that’s ahead […]

    Reply
  • 2. Michelle  |  April 16, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Well, yes, the wedding addition didn’t make it into the book.

    Then again, I think in Japan, it wasn’t included in the tankoubon eiher, and was later added as a “special” in the magazine it was published it.

    Coincidentally, Shojo Beat, Viz’s magazine, published that wedding special in its latest issue……So it’s not that you can’t see it. It’s that you have to buy Shojo Beat.

    Reply
  • 3. pajcat  |  April 17, 2008 at 6:50 am

    Ah, thanks! That’s good to know. I don’t buy Shojo Beat though. I find it a waste of money.

    Now I’m wondering why Viz didn’t include it with the regular volume. It’s not like they didn’t know it was there or that it came out after they finished the series… hmm.

    Reply
  • 4. badtzphoto  |  April 17, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    “Now I’m wondering why Viz didn’t include it with the regular volume.”

    The very reason that it’s in the lastest shojo beat is why Viz doesn’t include it in the book :) sales!

    Btw, I’ve been wondering, is the fruits basket from Australia better than Tokyopop?

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  April 17, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    About Fruits Basket: I wouldn’t say it’s better… it’s a little different though. Like, Kyo’s speech patterns seem off after reading the Tpop version. He says things like “ya” instead of “you” a lot. Almost as if they’re trying to give him an accent, or rougher speech patterns. Things like that.

    The more I think about the whole Hana Kimi in Shojo Beat thing the less it makes sense. I have an absurd number of Shojo Beat manga, I have all of the Hana Kimi series. It doesn’t say anywhere that it will be published there… and Hana Kimi isn’t a Shojo Beat title, anyway. I mean, thanks to Michelle if I want to read the wedding special I can go check out the latest issue of Shojo Beat. But people who get into the series later aren’t even going to know about it, and if they did they still wouldn’t be able to buy it. Who keeps back issues of Shojo Beat? I haven’t seen any anywhere and I hang out in comic stores. For sure the bookstores aren’t going to keep any.

    Unless they’re planning on making some sort of “Seen only in Shojo Beat!” type graphic novel with various short stories.

    (That’s kind of dumb, though.)

    Reply
  • 6. badtzphoto  |  April 19, 2008 at 11:21 am

    I checked out the Hana-Kimi extra in the may Shojobeat issue and it’s not the wedding special. It’s a special about Nakatsu’s rommate (I forgot his name and am too lazy to look up :)). Ah well.

    Regarding Fruits basket, I suppose I’ll wait since I suspect that the change of speech may bug me…

    Reply
  • 7. pajcat  |  April 19, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    It’s probably a lot more expensive to get the FB off of eBay, too. I was paying $15 – $20 per volume when you factor in shipping.

    I totally forgot to check Shojo Beat at the bookstore today! But I’m actually more tempted to buy it if it’s Nakatsu’s roommate. He’s my second favorite character! (But I’ll probably just read it instead.)

    Thanks for letting me know!

    Reply
  • 8. Roxanne  |  April 20, 2008 at 12:51 am

    I bought the may issue SB issue and found a one-shot special instead of a wedding special… It was cute but not what I was expecting…
    So if you wanna borrow the issue, let me know…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

