I think I need more shelves…

October 25, 2007 at 11:03 pm 18 comments

So my unpacking has slowly progressed, with interruptions from the two jobs, new Fall tv and my unwise decision to start watching the Korean live action Full House.  You can’t just watch one episode of Full House

The mess began with this:

HPIM0469

and this:

HPIM0467

and I’ve been working on one room at a time ever since. It’s kind of annoying that I will get one set of boxes unpacked and the place looking decent, then it’s a mess again as I move on to the next set. So far I’ve done the kitchen, living room and organized my books and dvds. I’m currently working on the manga.

I started out with a very neat contained pile of boxes.

HPIM0470

My manga will never be that compact again. 

I decided I wanted to lay everything out on the floor because I thought it would be easier to find everything to put on the shelves. I had to stop when I realized that if I kept going I wouldn’t be able to reach the first row anymore. Also, I still needed to use the living room. :)

HPIM0479

HPIM0480

So I moved into the kitchen for the last batch…

HPIM0478

There you go. That’s what 1500 volumes of manga looks like when it’s all plopped onto the floor.  :)

I admit to being kind of blocked about how I want to arrange it all. My shelves at the old place kind of evolved over time as I ran out of room, as a series ended, or fell out of favour… Now I have to start from scratch and figure out what goes in the living room, the hall and the bedroom. What’s hidden in the back rows, what I want to look at…

Arg.

Entry filed under: manga, rambling.

Migration complete!

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tim  |  October 26, 2007 at 12:33 pm

    Holy mackerel there girl. I’m…. speechless.

    You know, they have medication that can help this kind of thing. :-) (Except, instead of collecting manga, you collect Enya and Apple stuff!)

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  October 26, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    I like to think of it all as a natural extension of my life long reading obsession. I’ve just switched genres, that’s all. :)

    That said, I can never ever quit my bookstore job. That’s totally my manga money. Hmm… actually my manga love is *good* for the bookstore as I make a lot of order sheets for them. I’m sure I’ve made them thousands and thousands of dollars by now!

    Can’t see me ever getting into old Apple computers though…

    (And how much room do *they* take up??)

    Reply
  • 3. XenMaster  |  October 27, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    Geez I knew you had a lot when I first saw the shelves in your room, but seeing them all laid out is just something else.

    Oh and I did hear that the Korean Full House was pretty good. Coworker from my old job told me about it. I’m tempted to get a copy. Also i still have Haruhi sitting here for you.

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  October 28, 2007 at 2:44 am

    Yeah, it really makes a difference when it’s double/triple layered… Plus, I bought a lot of new manga in a year and a half. Two more today in fact. (The new Tsubasa is really really good, btw)

    One of the reasons it always takes me so long to watch the dramas that Sam lends me is I know they’re going to be addictive. I actually had to call in sick one day while I was watching Meteor Garden because I pulled two all nighters in a row and then started to get dizzy. Sad but true story.

    Full House is pretty good, though. Funny and romantic without being really over the top about it. Not too corny yet, tho I am only about 8 episodes in.

    Reply
  • 5. Laurie  |  October 28, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    Wow- OMG!! Patrick and I just looked at the pictures… wow. That is a lot! Looks very decorative on the floor tho- consider it an “In Progress Art Project!”

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  October 28, 2007 at 1:41 pm

    It’s definitely easier to find my books now…

    I’d like to be able to open/close the living room curtains and window though. :)

    Reply
  • 7. Ama  |  November 10, 2007 at 12:08 pm

    One word… Wow. I don’t think I’ll ever own that much manga.

    Reply
  • 8. pajcat  |  November 10, 2007 at 11:57 pm

    Ah, you have time! Just get a part time job and only buy manga with the $$ you earn for a few years. That’ll do it! :P

    (Actually, don’t do that. It’s kind of embarrassing to admit to your co-workers that in fact you work for free every week due to your absurd book buying habits.)

    Reply
  • 9. Kat  |  November 20, 2007 at 3:39 pm

    Cathy! Those pictures look like Receiving!!! :D Especially since it’s all book boxes!

    Reply
  • 10. pajcat  |  November 20, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    Well…. that IS where I got all of my boxes from… :)

    Reply
  • 11. girl  |  December 25, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    OMG. so many mangas. I miss looking at so many rows of mangas that are not in bookstores. haha. even though my siblings and I have way more than that— all packed away in boxes *sniff* by my mom because all of us are overseas and she hates mangas.

    Reply
  • 12. Ryuuzaki Kusakurin  |  January 10, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Omigod you have exactly 9 times more manga than me.
    I’m moving in with you.

    Reply
  • 13. Jonathan  |  January 15, 2008 at 8:29 am

    And there I was, thinking I was all big and clever with about 7 manga books on the shelf at home…

    That is some collection you have there.

    Reply
  • 14. maxthaphreak  |  March 1, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    Your My idol ! ^_^ Just thought I’d let you know, Tehehe… >.>

    Reply
  • 15. pajcat  |  March 1, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Ha, well the collection isn’t exactly complete. I’d need all the people I’ve lent manga to to send me pictures too. :P You have what… my Kamichama Karen series? :)

    Reply
  • 16. maxthaphreak  |  March 4, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    Haha, Yes… Read tho, Ill send those back along with one of your PoT DVD sets. Much thanks for the extended lending time….. ^_^ ‘ …… hehehe…… V.V ‘ And sorry… lol

    Reply
  • 17. pajcat  |  March 4, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Ah no rush. I forgot you had some of my PoT. Obviously I was missing them horribly. :)

    I have to go to the post office tomorrow and mail everything out to you guys so you can pick it all up at Nana’s.

    I should probably go find all of those dvd’s I said I’d lend you….

    Reply
  • 18. Sam  |  April 11, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    dang! i just saw this..don’t ask me why it took so long… 1500 manga on that date?!?!?! And here i thought 750 volumes was good… T____T hahahahaha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2007
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

