Moving, finally moving…

September 23, 2007 at 11:08 pm 2 comments

Thankfully my big apartment search has come to an end after far too much surfing online but relatively few apartment viewings. I found a nice place exactly in my price range and within a ten minute walk of a subway station. Everyone I’ve talked to is very enthusiastic about the location, so obviously I lucked out there.  The only thing it doesn’t have is laundry, but I liked the place enough that I didn’t care anymore. Plus, the laundromat is about a three minute walk away from the house, so really. How lazy am I planning on being? I can buy a new wire wheelie basket, pack a book and hit the cafe next door for a tea while I wait for my clothes to get clean. It’ll be worth it. I mean, the place has two closets, a storage space and clearly defined rooms that are bigger than a cubicle. What more could I ask for? (Heh. I got scared into lowering my standards after visiting about 6 apartments that were either smaller than my current bedroom or had ceilings that were less than 6 feet in places. I was just happy to find a really great new home.)

So I’ll be moving on the 4th of October and will have to get around to finishing my packing. Fortunately: 1) I’ve packed about 98% of my books already and 2) the house has been sold so I no longer have to worry about leaving random boxes in the middle of the floor in case a real estate agent drops in. In fact, I think all I have left to do are my cds, one more box of dvds, my clothes and my manga.

Ah… packing the manga. I’m putting far too much thought into it, I think. I wanted to pack as I meant to unpack, and that means trying to decide how to shelve it all in the new place. And I really have no idea right now. I had planned on doing straight alphabetical by title, but that will mean far too much shifting as I buy new stuff. I’ll have to sort it by finished and unfinished series instead. Finished series will go in the back layer of the shelves, currently collected titles will have to go in the front. And after sorting through the year’s worth of manga piled on my dresser, I discovered that arranging things by publisher/type will probably be really boring looking. I blame Viz and Shojo Beat titles for that. Really, do they all need to have identical looking spines?? :)

I have a mover booked for the proper day, a bed that will be delivered the day before I officially move in and will be hitting Ikea for lots and lots of shelving.  It’ll all be good, if rather expensive. 

Now I’m off to pack at least one box of manga.  Once I do the math on how many I can fit into one box (and really, I recommend working at a bookstore if you ever need kick butt moving boxes) I can figure out how many my manga will finally take up.  I’m supposed to email an inventory to the movers.

I probably should have done that today instead of seeing Resident Evil 3….

Entry filed under: rambling.

A welcome distraction Surrounded by boxes, ready to surrender

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laurie  |  September 24, 2007 at 8:19 am

    Yah, but Resident Evil 3 was worth the lack of packing… and we didn’t pay full price, the music was good… zombie gore… what would you rather do, pack or watch zombie gore?

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  September 24, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    Heh. The movie wasn’t *that* good. I mean, it was $6 good, but not enough to overcome packing guilt…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

