A welcome distraction

September 6, 2007 at 9:52 pm 2 comments

I’m already suffering from apartment hunting fatigue and I’ve only looked at one place so far.  Too much surfing for rentals last month, I guess.   The place I looked at today was very lovely, but also very small.   It only had one closet!  Definitely not enough room for me and all of my bookshelves.  sigh.

Fortunately today I have Fruits Basket #22 to comfort me.  My volume arrived in the mail yesterday and I read it in a coffee shop (got booted out of my own place while real estate agents showed it) and was getting teary.   I think this is the volume FB fans have been waiting for for the entire series – the last volume is more of an epilogue.  I don’t want to get spoilery at all, but I will say that Kyo’s father makes an appearance in this volume and the man is a dink.  A weak-willed dink of a dad who joins most of the rest of the Sohma parents in screwing up their children.  I wanted someone to slap him.

We also learn the true story of how the god invited all of the animals to his party.  sniff.

I’m going to post a couple of spoiler-y images here.  Mostly chosen for the pretty factor, but they still manage to convey what’s happening in the story, I think.  I have to say (and it’s odd to say it about a volume that’s as advanced as this one) but I don’t think that the manga-ka really manages to get much emotion across through character faces in this one.  The body language is beautifully done, but the faces seem too blank, or too off for the importance of what’s happening.   Just my opinion, of course.

Don’t look past the Uo-chan/Hana-chan pic below if you don’t want to be spoiled!!! 

fb22-001.jpg
The sadly neglected best friends get to have fun tormenting Kyo in this volume.

fb22-004.jpg
Awww…..

fb22-003.jpg
This really seems like it should be the last panel of the series…

Entry filed under: manga.

Boring old maintenance Moving, finally moving…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Roxanne  |  October 2, 2007 at 2:18 am

    woohoo!! happy ending!!! i hope your moving day goes smoothly…
    ttyl
    R.

    Reply
  • 2. mojtaba  |  December 10, 2007 at 10:29 am

    dear miss or mr
    hi
    i want all animation in japan
    please send me
    i anamtioner
    mojtaba farrokhi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

