Oh, of course!

June 18, 2007 at 10:45 pm 5 comments

I read via the Newsarama blog that Viz sent cease and desist letters to fansubbers working on the Death Note anime.   Instead it’s available for sale on the Viz website.   But!  When you get there, it says in RED letters:

This product is only available for purchase in the US.

Of course!  Now, I’m not feeling worked up about this at all (I can’t stand the manga so haven’t bothered with the anime) but this is fairly typical.  What kind of cheeses me off about including Canada as a country it’s licensed in, yet denying us the ability to pay for legal downloads is that if you actually go for the dubbed version it’s probably being done by Canadians.  Nice, eh?  (Please note Canadian inflection on the “eh”)

Hmm.  No, I just checked it out and it’s the subbed version for sale.  That’s unusual.

Now I’m going back to rereading Twelve Sharp and watching the Dr. Who Christmas special, which is playing on CBC.  Heh.  I just got to see the Tardis high speed chase again…

Entry filed under: anime.

Not quite done yet I’m done!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ama  |  July 1, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    GOD, I HATE VIZ SOMETIMES.

    My mom told me she read in the paper that some idiot in Japan is trying to get Death Note banned because of the content. Because they kill people. I found it funny how she even read it, but even if they ban it, I don’t care, as long as I have all the volumes (which I do, because book stores are dumb and release manga before the actual release date)

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  July 2, 2007 at 12:51 am

    Eh. Viz is pretty screwed up on release dates right now. I heard at my comic store it’s because they made some sort of deal with major bookstores so now the listed ship times are wonky.

    I can’t see them banning Death Note here (especially now that the series is over anyway) but I think your mom might be thinking of China. Students are getting their books and stationary confiscated over there right now. Could you imagine them trying that here? I don’t think it would work…

    Reply
  • 3. Ama  |  July 2, 2007 at 10:04 am

    Well, I asked her what country, and she wasn’t sure, and probably the country of origin, so I assumed Japan. If that’s what’s going on in China, it’s possible it’s happening there. But then again, not. I mean, look at all the crazy religious nuts who’ve tried and failed to get Harry Potter banned.

    :S And what’s this about people in China? I wasn’t aware of what’s happening there, but I think it could work anywhere, so long as the nation was something of a dictatorship.

    And yeah, dunno what’s up with Viz, when Death Note 11 came out, it wasn’t available at Yonge&Eglinton Indigo, I had to take the subway down to the Eaton Centre Indigo, buy it, and get back to my school in time for my meeting. It didn’t help that it was at 3:30 and my friend and I parted ways at 2:30. I was a little late, but just a little. Now if manga were properly distributed, that wouldn’t have happened. D:

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  July 2, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    Ah, blame the screwed up ordering methods of Indigo there. They’re not terribly consistent in what they get for which store. Like, the Coles up where my family lives gets Del Rey and Tpop stuff, but never Viz. It’s like no one ever told them the most popular manga out right now is from Viz. But the arrival time is different at comic stores/bookstores/online stores right now. It used to be all bang on. :(

    Reply
  • 5. Ama  |  July 2, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    I don’t like Coles. It’s small and unfriendly. They had a Coles near my house, at the mall, before they tore the mall down to build condos. They tear a lot of things down to build condos. :'(

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

