Not quite done yet

June 14, 2007 at 11:12 pm 7 comments

As predicted, tonight I finished my mosaic within half an hour… then had another two to kill.  So, I decided to make some coasters.  Low labour intensive coasters with lots of uncut tiles.  :)  I’m now finished my trivet and my last class next week will be grouting that and the coasters.

HPIM0437

I pulled up a couple of pieces that were bothering me and laid it out slightly differently. Did pull a fairly typical bonehead move when I flipped the thing over to shake out the unglued pieces and the board fell out of the frame. SMACK! Right onto the table. Fortunately nothing broke. I’m happy with the way it turned out, but I’ll have to wait until it’s finished to be entirely sure.

HPIM0438

I decided to make my coasters different as I don’t care much about matching colours. Laurie glued down the black and blue one for me, and then I decided to switch my pattern on the red and green ones.

HPIM0436

This one is Laurie’s! She finished grouting tonight and got to bring her new baby home. There’s some additional polishing with vinegar to do (it’s optional and has to do with brightening the tiles) but I think it looks pretty good!

I’ve had a good yet very busy week and am happy it’s close to the end. I’m wistfully waiting for Sunday and my day off. I’ve had a fun week though. Not only did I have my classes and a friend visit from up North, but last night we went to see Evil Dead the Musical. Do yourself a favour and see it if it ever comes to your area. It is freakin’ funny. And pay extra to sit in the splatter zone, because nothing says “entertainment” like a face full of fake blood spurting out of a hacked apart Deadite. And that wasn’t sarcasm. Those people had a blast.  (You can see some bits of songs here.)

Entry filed under: Random Stuff.

A work in progress Oh, of course!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laurie  |  June 15, 2007 at 10:21 am

    Giggle! Thanks for the shout out on my Trivit Victory!! Patrick loves the picture of yours and is really impressed by the flowers!! I’m glad that bleeding for your art didn’t dampen your enthusiasm!
    And Evil Dead: The Musical… songs, fun, blood, Deadites… what else do you need for a good time?
    Laurie goes back to work humming “Do the Necronomicon…”

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  June 15, 2007 at 10:46 am

    So are you going to use it or just display it prominently on a shelf somewhere? :)

    And I admit to downloading the Houseware Employee love song last night…

    Reply
  • 3. Laurie  |  June 15, 2007 at 11:16 am

    I think I might actually use it for the teapot… I’m not sure yet…
    “Retail Harmony….” giggle.

    Reply
  • 4. Akane  |  June 16, 2007 at 11:21 am

    Netscape does not like me at all!
    Hope you feel better soon!! Let me know when you want to reschedule.
    ttyl
    R.

    Reply
  • 5. Akane  |  June 16, 2007 at 11:31 am

    I also wanted to ask:
    Have you ordered any yaoi from Aurora Publishing? I just did a keyword search at amazon.ca and six titles popped up! I might have to include a couple of titles in my next online order (a friend just gave me money to pre-order a copy of HP7 for her so I plan to buy something in order to qualify for free shipping…)…
    I noticed they had a title from the author of Yellow…

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  June 16, 2007 at 12:33 pm

    No I haven’t! Or, I don’t know if any of the titles I’ve looked at are from that publisher…

    That last volume to qualify for free shipping is always deadly…

    Reply
  • 7. pajcat  |  June 16, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    Wait… I actually have Hate to Love You on my wishlist at Amazon because it’s from the author of Yellow. I just didn’t pay much attention to the publisher.

    I’m going to see if they manage to get their books out on time – I’ve given up on DramaQueen keeping to any of their dates…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

