Big big floats

June 10, 2007 at 11:23 am 3 comments

Rather than completely wimping out of posting tonight, I’m going to put up a few more pictures before going to bed.  I’ve had two full days at the bookstore, and I am wiped out.  And burned, because I had to make too much effing popcorn today and the machine didn’t get a chance to cool down.  

One of the day trips we took while I was in Ishikawa was to a festival in Nanao.  If I caught the name of it I can no longer recall it (I *love* having no memory for names!) but it was neat to go to a festival and see a lot of the things I see in manga and anime.  (Though no one was wearing yukatas as far as I could tell.  Not that kind of festival?)   The games were there, though.  The goldfish, water balloons (?) on strings, the masks, the food….  I didn’t eat much of the food, though I did have sweet potatoes that were cut into huge fries.  They were dipped in sugar, which I thought was a bit odd.  I probably would have preferred ketchup.  :)  I had my first encounter with a traditional Japanese toilet, though.  I went into a porta potty, saw the urinal in the floor and retreated in confusion.  I really couldn’t handle it.  (I used one later, but it was in an actual bathroom, not a wee little plastic cubical.)

So at the festival there were these huge floats that the townspeople had to push from the temple where they started down to the water.  And when I say huge, I’m not exaggerating.  Also, the wheels don’t seem to make the job much easier.  We got there at around noon and the first float was just leaving the lot next to the temple.  When we left at seven we could walk from where the float stopped for the night back to where it started in about 15 minutes.  Crazy.  Amy says there’s also lots of sake involved, but we didn’t stick around for much of the pushing so I didn’t see it for myself.  Seeing the floats was great, watching them push it for seven hours would not have been.  :)

HPIM0235
This is the temple where the festival began.

HPIM0217
This is a full view of the floats.

HPIM0220
The view from the other side. There were kids in costumes up at the top, but they came down when the floats started heading out, I think.

HPIM0221
A second float.

HPIM0223
The first float making it’s way down the street.

HPIM0242
Yakitori!

HPIM0246
The third float at night.

HPIM0230
Jellyfish! If you look closely, you can see at least two. (Hint: bottom left of the picture for the biggest one.) I’d never seen a live jellyfish before. There were even babies! It was kind of hard to get a good picture of them with my camera, though.

Entry filed under: rambling.

It’s called a trivet A work in progress

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gromitgirl  |  June 11, 2007 at 2:13 am

    The festival is called dekayama!

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  June 11, 2007 at 7:05 am

    Thank you! I knew you’d come through if you read this one. God I wish my memory worked…

    Reply
  • 3. DybAUggg  |  November 16, 2007 at 9:34 pm

    aw
    aw

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

