It’s called a trivet

June 7, 2007 at 10:34 pm 4 comments

Tonight my friend and I went to the first of three mosaic classes we signed up for.  I am making a trivet and I decided on a flower pattern.  The instructions were fast and simple.  Basically, here are the pliers… don’t grab the tiles too far into the centre or they’ll crack… here’s how you make a circle… a petal.  I got off to a bit of a late start and had to pick my pattern, but I managed to get all four of my flowers done (two red and two pink) and next Tuesday will have to complete the stems, leaves and background (blue!).  Thursday we’re grouting.  Hopefully I get everything done in time, but I’m okay with signing up for more time if I need it. 

It’s fun so far, yet vaguely hazardous, what with all the glass chips flying everywhere.  I kept hitting Laurie with mine, and I kept getting showered by the woman sitting next to me (who had laid out an elaborate star pattern with teeny rectangles, then banged her trivet at the beginning of gluing everything down… ouch!  She had start the layout from the beginning again.)  One particularly nasty square broke a little too hard and one piece few off to hit Laurie in the face while another chip got stuck in my hand.  Dangerous!  I’m not sure if I was holding the pliers wrong or what, but it was kind of disconcerting.  Plus, I dropped three of the petals while I was making them but only managed to find two.  heh.

I will take a picture when I am done to show everyone my new crafty project.  I think members of my family may be getting mosaic projects for Christmas…. :)

Speaking of pictures, I’ve uploaded more of my trip pics to Flickr.  These are some of the ones I took in Daishoji, Ishikawa. You know… when I said I’d have so much time for emails and blogging because I was in the country. We actually managed to stay quite busy. Between sightseeing, shopping (like, grocery store shopping and other little excursions) and watching season one of Supernatural, I didn’t have much time to write.

Let’s see… Amy is quite close to the sea, so she took me to Amagozen Point.

HPIM0212

HPIM0210
(This is Amagozen.)

Random scenery!
HPIM0202

HPIM0208

I liked the way the rocks were so smooth and worn. They hardly seemed like rocks at all in places.

One of the weirder things around where Amy lives is a giant golden Buddha sticking up out of the scenery.  I’m told it’s a failed amusement attraction, but we didn’t have a chance for me to get a close up look at it.  But it was neat to keep seeing it as we drove around.

HPIM0362

One of my favorite things to do was going to Jusco. Not so much the interior or anything, I just found it really funny after watching the live action Kamikaze Girls. They have a whole segment with country folk posing in their every day clothes and saying, “I got it at Jusco!” much to the disgust of the Lolita Goth character.  heh. So of course every time we pulled into the parking lot of one I had to geek out and say it…

HPIM0296

The night we went for ramen, one of Amy’s friends brought us to a used music/dvd/manga/toy store so I could look for some cd’s. (I ended up getting a High and Mighty Color cd and about 20 cd singles in a bundle for 500 yen!) This Voltron statue was just outside the door, and was deemed to be quite awesome. They also had a giant model of Astro Boy in the door, but I was lured in by the toys at that point and didn’t stop to take more pictures.

HPIM0295

Oof! That’s it for tonight. Next I’ll put up some festival pics that I have and some from a couple of temple visits.

Entry filed under: rambling.

Big big floats

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laurie  |  June 9, 2007 at 4:40 pm

    Cool pics of Japan!! And not to worry- I’m gonna make sure I wear more protective gear for the 2nd mosaics class! You should wear gloves!

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  June 9, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    I’m telling you – we should switch places! I’m going to be doing more cutting than you again – don’t want either or us to end up in the hospital!

    Reply
  • 3. Gromitgirl  |  June 11, 2007 at 2:16 am

    Mosiac is a very dirty buisness…and bloody too!

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  June 11, 2007 at 7:06 am

    Hey, I’m willing to suffer for my art! :P We’re bringing our cameras with us tomorrow night so we can record our trivets in all their stages. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

