Did you buy any manga?

May 30, 2007 at 11:21 am 12 comments

In Japan, that is, and the answer is of course I did!  I have to say it’s kind of torture for a manga fan to walk around a bookstore surrounded by manga that’s not only in another language, but wrapped so you can’t even flip through the books!   And I’m not exaggerating when I say surrounded.  :(  Other than some requested souvenirs, I didn’t buy a lot of books for myself, though – I’ve trained myself not to buy manga when I can only look at the pictures.  I did get Fruits Basket 23 and a fan book, an xxxHolic fan book (for the pretty pretty colour pictures), Kamichama Karen Chu 1 (yeah, I probably spelled that wrong…), Junjo Romantica 4 (because I love and adore both the story and art in that series), a random Peach-Pit manga about zombies (it made sense at the time) and volumes 4-6 of Yotsuba&!  I found out when I got back that ADV will finally be releasing volumes 4 and 5 of that last one fairly soon, but I’m still glad I picked them up.

Out of all the books that I bought, the Yotsuba&! ones are the best to look at if you can’t read the language.  The stories are all simple enough to be told through the art and I found most of the humour comes from Yotsuba herself, and that’s universal.  There was one particular sequence in volume 5 that had me doubled over in giggles.

Here are a few of the pages.  I’d do the whole thing, but that’d be too many images.  It’s easy enough to get the gist of it from these.  :)  It opens with some dude coming over while Yotsuba’s dad is gone to the store…

yotsuba.jpg

yotsuba-001.jpg

But it’s okay!  Dad comes home and knows the guy.  I have no idea who he is, but he’s now been invited in for some ramen and onigiri…

yotsuba-002.jpg

yotsuba-003.jpg

yotsuba-004.jpg

yotsuba-005.jpg

yotsuba-006.jpg

Hee hee hee! 

If you haven’t already gone out and bought Yotsuba&! do yourself a favour and do it now.  

Entry filed under: manga.

So what was your favorite part of the trip? Pika!

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TangognaT » 8 things  |  June 3, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    […] pale. I had my reasons though. 3) I recently spent a somewhat insane amount of money on yarn. 4) Yotsuba& scans make me happy 5) I just started posting as an author over at LISNews. 6) My husband has been making fun of me for […]

    Reply
  • 2. Tiut  |  September 23, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    This is from Yotsuba&! vol. 5.
    It is yet to be translated into english, so I cannot read it.
    It should be translated by Oct. 25.,

    Reply
  • 3. Tiut  |  September 23, 2007 at 6:15 pm

    The “dude”‘s name is Yanda.

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  September 23, 2007 at 10:52 pm

    Thanks for the name. And volume 5 is already on my “to buy” list. I’m really looking forward to reading it in English. :)

    Reply
    • 5. Elnxida  |  June 16, 2009 at 10:12 pm

      Go to http://www.koiwai.com for online translated yotsuba&!

      Reply
      • 6. Elnxida  |  June 16, 2009 at 10:17 pm

        See no. 10 for correction. Sorry! :/

        Reply
  • 7. LLL  |  November 28, 2007 at 10:40 pm

    1500 manga books?! whoa… I only have 10

    Reply
  • 8. Yotsuba&!  |  February 19, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    howdy.

    Reply
  • 9. tomoi kentaro  |  March 27, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    YOTSUBA is one of my favorite manga books!

    Reply
  • 10. Earl  |  February 24, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Can u put that in English plz im not that good in Japaniess :(

    Reply
  • 11. Elnxida  |  June 16, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    Correction. It’s .biz

    Reply
  • 12. Delicious Manga  |  October 16, 2010 at 6:28 am

    I’m too poor to buy manga =[

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

