3 a.m. The blogging hour

April 15, 2007 at 3:52 am 5 comments

I realized tonight that it has been two weeks since my last post.  It never feels like that long, since I’m still doing things like answering comments, or checking out other things online like email, etc etc.   My last post is also around when my last trip to the library occurred and I picked up about 20 holds that had come in.  I’ve been reading ever since.  :)   Nothing earth shattering – a few volumes of One Piece that continues to entertain, and the first 7 of Y: The Last Man which was good, but not as good as I thought it would be from the raves I’ve read.  Still, I’m glad I was able to get them all at once so as not to repeat the really really expensive Powers trauma of last month.  (Long story short, I borrowed the first two graphic novels from the library, LOVED them and had to go out and buy all nine since I couldn’t get any more for free.  Thank goodness the Silver Snail was having a blowout Spring break sale – I managed to get almost all of them for under $100.  arg.  Read Powers, though.  It’s awesome.)

So what’s new:

I can now say that I am going to Japan next Friday.  Next Friday, people.  That’s amazing.  Please note that the most exciting trip I have taken to date is to Halifax, Nova Scotia to visit relatives.   Aside from all of the local stuff I’m going to get to see and visit where Amy lives, we’re also going to be spending a couple of nights in Tokyo and I think we’re also going to be visiting Kyoto. 

Last Saturday at the bookstore I spent 6 hours fixing the documentary section, only to see it ravished by a customer half an hour after I finished.  Damn his cold black heart.  One day I’m going to work up the nerve to tell someone to stop making such a mess while browsing.  Yesterday I blew off any work to be done in my section to make up a manga list.  Some sort of ball was dropped somewhere and we missed getting about two weeks worth of Viz stuff.   No Bleach or Naruto on order but THANK GOD someone thought to get a bazillion copies of that crappy crappy Death Note in!  Honestly, I can’t even read it for free anymore it’s so badly written.

While wandering through Chinatown on Friday I found a copy of the second Death Notemovie… which I bought.  Damnit!  Kind of hypocritical, huh?  :)  I haven’t seen the first one yet, but I figured a live action movie would have to be more entertaining than the manga.  I also found a live action called Angel, which is based on the manga by Erica Sakurazawa.   It looks cute but I haven’t had a chance to watch it yet.  I have no idea what else I picked up though.  The sales girl planted herself in front of me and started thrusting movies at me things saying only “This is good, this is good” and I didn’t have the nerve to put most of them back.  Ah well.  I found a couple with Takeshi Kaneshiro in them and I’m happy with those.  :)   (Do yourself a favour and see The Returner.  Delightfully fun, cheese filled movie.  You can also play at trying to figure out which other movies show up in this one.  ET, Terminator, Pretty Woman…)

Speaking of movies, last week we tried to go see The Host but the online movie listings LIED about the showtimes and we ended up seeing The Reaping instead.  Not a great movie.  I’d give it a C-.  I admit I kept getting confused about which plague was supposed to be coming next which was distracting, and when they did arrive they weren’t really all that terrifying.  The worst was the locusts, the most disappointing was the rain of frogs.  Seriously, there were only about 20 of them that fell into the water.  It was more funny than anything else…  

I finally did get to see The Host and it was pretty good, though not what I was expecting.  From the reviews that raved about the monster being better than Godzilla, and the focus on the aunt I didn’t really get a good picture of what the movie was really like.  Plotwise:  mutated fish monster goes on a rampage on a beach (awesome scene, btw) and kidnaps a young school girl.  Her family finds out that she’s still alive and sets out to rescue her.  This attempt is hampered by government agents trying to get the family back into custody (there are suspicions of a virus caused by the fish-thing), family squabbles, the fact that no one really knows how to go about looking for the kid, they keep getting knocked out/passed out and go back to their store a lot to rest.  (I had a hard time figuring out the time line in the movie considering all of the rest stops and captures.  How long was this girl expected to survive on her own??)  It was a fun movie despite the odd pacing and the ending surprised me.  I thought they also did a good job on the monster special effects (it was graceful, yet skidded around a lot when it was on land which was believable considering the flippers).  Rating?  Hmm… B+ I think.

Entry filed under: movies, rambling.

Bookstore stuff Aw, such nice people

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ama  |  April 16, 2007 at 9:27 pm

    I LOVE DEATH NOTE =(
    I understand we have a difference of opinion, but that manga is sooo good to me.
    I saw Blades of Glory recently and that was GREAT A++++ Go see it! lol
    But Disturbia pretty much sucked. Most of the good bits were in the trailer. I’d say B- or C cause it did scare me, but it was pretty average.
    I LOVE Erica Sakurazawa manga so damn much that I have prevented myself from taking it all from the library.
    And what’s POWERS? :S

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  April 16, 2007 at 9:34 pm

    I watched the first half of Angel today at lunch. It’s so cute! I’m really enjoying it so far… If you can get yourself to Chinatown I would recommend it.

    Powers: Two detectives who work in the powers division – basically whenever there’s a crime involving a person with super powers they handle the case. Not much they can do, but they try. The story follows two partners, one of whom is an ex-power. The art style is like Batman: The Animated Series, it’s written by Brian Michael Bendis, who rocks. Very noir-ish. Lots of exploding people, naked women and people say the “f” word a lot. I really really loved it. It was like graphic novel crack. :)

    Death Note: Like the art (it’s kind of crazy), the concept was decent, it’s just badly written. Sorry. :(

    Reply
  • 3. Ama  |  April 17, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    Powers sounds good. But I haven’t really been into the whole superhero thing lately… MINUS SPIDERMANNNNNN

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  April 17, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    Nah… it’s not so much about the superheroes. They’re just the cases. It focuses on the detectives and they’re normal. Like, they solve murders, but the victims happened to have super powers. :)

    You should read Ultimate Spider-Man if you haven’t already. It’s really really good.

    Reply
  • 5. Ama  |  April 21, 2007 at 4:40 pm

    :D Ahahaha…
    I just bought myself an iPod
    So unless they have it at the library, I can’t afford to buy it. xD

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

