Bookstore stuff

April 1, 2007 at 1:58 am 12 comments

I got to watch this year’s Doctor Who Christmas special tonight.   The Tardis was actually involved in a high speed car chase on a highway.  How especially awesome is that? 

drwhoxmas.jpg

My bookstore shelving angst of last weekend was repeated two more times on Saturday.  My first two customers!  The pain continues, but only until the bitterness overwhelms me and I give up.  Sometimes I want to beg someone to let me work in fiction, but I’m half afraid they’ll say no because they think I’m always in a bad mood.  Not many people at the store see me in one of my bubbly, tee hee moods….

I did end my evening on a rather triumphant note, though.  I foiled a shoplifter who was ripping a tag off of a box set.  Go me!  It was actually kind of funny – he had the ripped off tag in his hand, but when I heard him I made a noise and he realized I was standing right behind him so he put the dvds back.  Then I had to do the “Can I HELP you?  Oh, is that garbage in your hand?  Let me throw it away for you.  No, really it’s no problem, I’ll take it.  Oh, is this a tag off of one of our sets?  Did you find it on the shelf somewhere?  Is that the noise I heard?” while he fumbled around and tried to tell me that the set was already torn and that’s why he pulled the tag off.  Oh, right!  So I made a bit of a deal about it and made him come back to the shelf with me so he could show me what the set was… and it matched the description on the security tag so I let him leave with a cheerful “you shouldn’t really rip the tags off, you know.  That’s what the shoplifters do.” and my best one-eyebrow-half-raised-you-are-so-full-of-shit look. 

Then I went to the manager and told him that the guy he saw me talking to earlier was going to steal something (I was a bit taken aback when he didn’t even slow down when he heard me ask the dude why he was ripping our security tags off) and he said, “Yeah I know.”  Um, thanks for the back up?  Is there a reason he didn’t alert the security guard when he was going that way anyway?  Even if he didn’t take anything that night she could have made note of his description.  And it was even more ironic because the guard is this really intense, really paranoid woman who runs up to Multi every time the alarm goes off.  (And last week the alarm was malfunctioning and would go off for no reason at regular intervals.  I’m sure you can get the mental picture yourself.)  She would have loved marking a potential thief! 

Reason #11 why I rarely bother to interrupt work to stare at customers who may be stealing.  No one else cares.  Sigh.  But still, go me!

Going back to reading manga now.  I asked a friend to lend me her D.N.Angel books because I’d had the urge to reread the series due to some foggy-on-the-details memories though I remembered that I quite liked the series.  I was on volume 7 by the time I clued in to the fact that the reason my memory was so bad was because I hadn’t actually read past volume 5.  *cough*  I have volume 10 left to go and I’m going to see if she has any more of them. 

I think this is a series that I’d buy if I didn’t have the chance to borrow it.  I love the art, and the story is unfolding slowly but steadily.  Lots of character development of Daisuke, Dark and Satoshi and I’m getting enough hints about Dark’s mysterious origins and curses and people’s relationships.  And the love… shape is quite interesting with the Daisuke-Riku-Dark-Risa-Satoshi thing going on.  How will it all end?

Hmm.  Amazon’s description is:

Daisuke Niwa is an ordinary middle school student who has an inherited an interesting family tradition. Upon seeing Risa, the girl he adores, he transforms into a daring phantom thief. When the phantom thief sees his own object of desire, he turns back into Daisuke. The only way to cure this craziness is if Daisuke can get Risa to fall in love with him, but how can she love someone she can’t see?

Things get a bit more complicated than that once Daisuke gets dumped by Risa and starts falling for her twin Riku, and Risa falls for Dark, but Riku hates Dark which is bad because he’s part of Daisuke…  Either someone is going to end up very unhappy or they’re going to have to give Dark his own body.  :)  Satoshi, of course, is Daisuke’s rival- with the police in trying to capture Dark, but liking Daisuke more and more even as he tries to remain aloof.   And I’m not normally one to do/see the slash thing (I’m completely in favour of allowing fictional guys to just be really good friends) but good grief, some of the scenes between Satoshi and Daisuke absolutely screams for it.   :)

Entry filed under: manga, rambling.

New library manga… sort of 3 a.m. The blogging hour

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. XenMaster  |  April 2, 2007 at 11:47 am

    Yeah I’m a big fan of D.N.Angel as you may remember. I didn’t like how the anime series played out, but I’m still planning on keeping it because of the astounding quality of special features.

    As for the manga I think it’s a lot better than the anime, but those borderline yaoi scenes can be a little…irking. Especially that play where Daisuke was in drag and Satoshi was Dark. Umm…

    Also good job with almost getting that shoplifter! Look at you busting crime like some sort of…Veronica Mars. Did she bust crime? I haven’t really seen an episode.

    Reply
  • 2. Ama  |  April 2, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    ..:S Wow some people are sooo slow. Don’t you know you only rip tags off when you know no one can see you? lmfao wow. :S I’ve never done anything like that before though, too afraid.

    Reply
  • 3. pajcat  |  April 2, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    Well, I’d hope you wouldn’t do it because it’s wrong! We hate shoplifters in my store. Hate ’em!

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  April 2, 2007 at 9:11 pm

    Ha! Don’t forget the scene where Satoshi dresses in drag and tries to kiss Dark… And I was going to clarify your yaoi statement, but I don’t think you want me to go there. :)

    BTW, when I was looking DNAngel up on Amazon they had a bunch of series by the same author, like Candidate for Goddess and a couple of others. I might look into reading one or two of them.

    And Veronica Mars totally busts crime. Except she’s tiny so she occasionally gets tossed around a bit. That’s why she has a taser. Hmm… if Ferg had his way we’d all be carrying tasers…

    Reply
  • 5. Ama  |  April 3, 2007 at 10:35 am

    :S I’ve actually never stolen anything… Well, ok, I take that back. I steal books from my school’s libraries every now and then, however rare it is. lmfao XDD But yeah, no, I’ve never stolen anything, and I’ve never really been tempted. Because I get free music, movies, manga and books from the internet anyways. :P

    Reply
  • 6. Akane  |  April 7, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    Your MOD should have given you an i-Thank you or two for your efforts!

    As far DN Angel, I would have to start over from the beginning…it has been at least a year since I last picked up a volume… I am tempted by the anime boxset but I wanna finish up my Marmalade Boy collection before starting on another series…not to mention the boxset of Magic Knight Rayearth and Ranma 1/2 slim pack boxset… Too much anime! Not enough time!
    Happy Easter!
    take care,
    R.

    Reply
  • 7. Akane  |  April 7, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    I also wanted to ask… Have you read Night of the Beasts V3? If yes, did you order it online? It has a march 25 on sale date at amazon.ca but Hairy T does not have it in stock yet…
    = (
    ttyl
    R.

    Reply
  • 8. Ama  |  April 7, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    Ehehehe… DN Angel isn’t a very good anime, too fanservice-y. Manga’s wayyyy better.

    Reply
  • 9. pajcat  |  April 7, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    I haven’t been collecting Night of the Beasts. I didn’t feel like picking up another series that felt so similar to Her Majesty’s Dog, but I read the first volume at the store and was surprised at how much I liked it.

    Haven’t seen volume 3 around anywhere yet.

    Reply
  • 10. pajcat  |  April 7, 2007 at 7:44 pm

    Aww, I liked DNAngel. Everyone had such big, cute ears!

    I now have two series to read that people have lent me multi-volumes of. Please Save My Earth and Vampire Game, most of which I will be rereading.

    Ah… manga!

    Reply
  • 11. Akane  |  April 8, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    If you want, you can borrow my copy of volume 2.

    Reply
  • 12. pajcat  |  April 8, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    Oooh! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

