New library manga… sort of

March 27, 2007 at 1:24 am 3 comments

Just a quick before-I-go-to-bed post.  I was messing around on Amazon tonight as well as in the library’s catalogue instead of finishing the post I started earlier.  Oops!  But my hold list is delightfully full once again, and I added many many titles to my wish list so I do feel productive.

I’ve posted March’s new manga from the TPL’s New Releases lists, in all its redundant glory.  Tsubasa fans rejoice, however, as you can now borrow a whole whack of it.   In my other random searches I also noticed that they have some volumes of the Boys Over Flowers anime.  Just enough to get you hooked, probably.  Not that I really got into the anime or manga.  No, it was the live action Meteor Garden that sunk me, especially the time I pulled an all-nighter to finish the series and ended up having to call into sick the next day at work.  *cough*  I really was sick… really.

Also, volume 18 of Fruits Basket is coming out in October.  Yay!  I read on the boards at Anime News Network that after volume 17 Tokyopop will be moving to a three month release schedule rather than four.   Of course, some people already have volumes 18 and 19… and eventually 20 whenever it gets shipped out…  heh heh.

I almost forgot!  The Newsarama blog mentioned that the first issue of Spider-Man Loves Mary Jane is online for free.  I keep bugging poor Ama about reading it in the comment sections, so I thought I’d link to it for her.  :) 

Entry filed under: library stuff, manga.

Feel my pain! Bookstore stuff

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ama  |  March 28, 2007 at 9:57 am

    Yay! I was actually looking at the library to see if they had it! (Spiderman loves Mary Jane, I mean.)

    And I was also disappointed by the lack of Boys over Flowers. :( It’s not enough dammit! I have had to restrain myself from borrowing all the volumes and get too hooked.

    Ooh! Also, I was searching the other day, and to my astonishment… TPL has Slayers :S AND ALL 21 VOLUMES OF KARE KANO! I am going to do a Kare Kano marethon now! They also filled in their missing Prince of Tennis volumes, and have up to 17, Beyblade up to 14, Here is Greenwood up to 9, Megaman up to 10, La Corda d’oro 1-2, One Piece up to 13 or so, Shaman King up to 11, the last two Ranma, and this new series Cheeky Angel 1-3 and some others I didn’t add which I found searching Viz under publisher. :P

    Also, just wondering, but have you read Paradise Kiss at all? My bff is totally not for anime/manga (Minus Studio Ghibli movies) and I got her Paradise Kiss volume 1 from TPL. A few days later, when she got around to reading it… she told me she had read it all in one day and wanted volume 2. I got shiny sparkly eyes and proceeded to put the rest on hold. The magic of ParaKiss is powerful! :D

    Reply
  • 2. Ama  |  March 28, 2007 at 4:22 pm

    I read it, and was it was a follow up to those two Mary Jane books Circle of Friends and Homecoming? :S

    Reply
  • 3. pajcat  |  March 28, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    Yeah! I keep forgetting it was only Mary Jane when it first started… I went and bought all the back issues when I started collecting the comic so I think I was getting confused on the exact titles.

    Paradise Kiss I’ve read. I borrowed it from a friend of mine but haven’t bought more than the first volume myself. It wasn’t bad. I was probably a little too focused on trying to figure out why anyone would like George, who I remember as a bit of a jerk.

    Ha, a lot of the manga you mentioned are on a list I have but haven’t posted yet to the library entry. Cheeky Angel is interesting – I have the first 40 eps of the anime, I think, and the first few volumes of the manga. I stopped collecting because they were very similar. Fair warning, though – the series is pretty long so three volumes isn’t going to get you very far. In case you don’t know anything about it, it’s about a tough, manly kid who offends a wizard and gets turned into a beautiful girl. Years later s/he’s still looking for the wizard to change her back, while trying to adjust to being a guy in a girls body and fending off the crushes of various school mates. I liked it, but I think I didn’t realize it was going to be such a long series when I started it. Not sure if I’d have the courage to start reading it again now… it’d be kind of expensive.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

