Feel my pain!

March 26, 2007 at 2:42 pm 6 comments

When I haven’t been at work the past couple of weeks I’ve either been reading or sleeping.  Or watching Supernatural, heh heh.  Ah… work.  Saturday I hauled myself into the bookstore and flat out told my manager I wanted a pat on the head and a cookie for making it in.  (Though I do realize I shouldn’t need to be rewarded for actually showing up for a scheduled shift.)  I spent the first hour blissfully shrink wrapping manga in the back – a job I like because 1) I can pull all the new releases and get them ready to go out before random restock titles and 2) I get to check out all the new releases and pull stuff to read or buy for myself.  It’s a win win situation.   Also, I usually pull all the yaoi to go out.  I just feel so responsible for them. 

I’ve started and deleted a couple of posts lately after realizing that I was only writing them because I was in a bad mood.   I won’t go into the first one, but the second was an oh-so-typical experience at the bookstore this week that involved me spending fifteen minutes trying to find a dvd for a customer.  Dr Mabuse the Gambler.  I looked under Dr, Doctor, Mabuse and in desperation eventually started in on Gambler.  I checked Classics, Criterion (even though it’s not a Criterion movie), behind the counter, the boxes of new stock in the back, Foreign, the regular dvd section… even our weird Drive In/Horror section.  Finally I told the customer I couldn’t find it but would keep trying if he wanted to call back the next day.  My manager and co-worker came back and I asked them if *they’d* seen it anywhere.  The manager started searching many of the same places I checked, my co-worker finally found it in the Criterion section. 

Under effing T. 

Because we have a Criterion edition of a movie called Testament of Dr. Mabuse.   gah!  God help me I actually know why it was shelved there (it’s sort of a “if they like this movie, they might be interested in this one, too” thing) but I have to deal with this kind of thing a bit too often.  It drives me nuts.  I felt incredibly stupid having to apologize to the guy for not thinking to look under “T.”   If they’re going to shelve stuff like that, why not put it under Dr???   When I told this story to a co-worker at the library, she suggested they put a place holder on the shelf directing customers from where it should be to where it actually is.  ha!   That’s such a library answer.  And now you have another idea of why I like to spend time away from my section – it helps keep my blood pressure down. 

More later – I read a lot of manga on the weekend and feel like writing about it.

Entry filed under: manga.

Late night rambling New library manga… sort of

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ama  |  March 26, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    That must have been really annoying. :(

    God, I would hate to have to look around for stuff like that all the time.

    Reply
  • 2. melrose plant  |  March 26, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    I LOVE Shrink wrapping in the back.

    That was what I would do on stat holidays when certain managers were on the prowl, we were open abysmal hours for no reason and there were no customers.

    HIDE HIDE HIDE

    Reply
  • 3. XenMaster  |  March 26, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    I miss doing mag returns and shrink wrapping in the back for just that exact reason….minus the yaoi stuff.

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  March 27, 2007 at 1:06 am

    Ha, well if I’m going to hide I might as well be useful at the same time. It’s better for everyone if I’m not around. :)

    XenMaster… you only wish that we had yaoi stuff while you were there. BTW, I totally have a bunch of non-manga reading guys at the store who now know what yaoi is. heh heh heh.

    And Ama, it’s not so bad looking for stuff if it’s actually where it’s supposed to be on the shelf! Then you look smart when you find it. :P

    Reply
  • 5. Ama  |  March 27, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    But then you look dumb when you don’t find it. I’d curl up into a little ball and die if it wasn’t where it was supposed to be. D:

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  March 27, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    Well… I usually just say, “we’re supposed to have it.. someone may have stolen it, or picked it up and put it down in the wrong spot. I’ll have my manager correct our inventory.” Always blame the shoplifters!! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

