Late night rambling

March 14, 2007 at 2:07 am 10 comments

I did it.  I finally bought my ticket for Japan tonight.  Don’t ask me what took so long, because I have no rational explanation for you.  I will not subject you to my irrational one.

I also checked out the Studio Ghibli Museum website tonight because I wanted to see where it was and how easy it would be to get to.  At that point I didn’t know where in Japan the museum was located – I’ve never had the option of going before so never bothered to look it up.  It’s funny, but the English how-do-you-book-tickets pages never actually tell you what city it’s ineither, though they have a map with directions.  Fortunately, I (sort of) know where Shinguku is which is where they start from.  :)

We sent to see 300 this weekend and I had a blast.   Yes, it’s kind of shallow with a basic plot, but it’s also very very pretty.  Very violent movie, but the kind of non-realistic violence that made me laugh and say things like “Did that guy’s leg just go flying off??” as opposed to Pan’s Labrynth which had me periodically cowering in my chair ready to cover my eyes again every time the damn Captain would come on screen.  The Greek king was Scottish for most of the movie, which I was okay with – I loved his accent and was always happy to hear it.  The narration was melodramatic and over the top, too… but I just embraced the mood and went with it.  You have a lot more fun at the movies if you can do that, I’ve found. 

I was easily distracted during the “normal” parts of the movie, though.  Some half-naked person would go scampering by, and all I could think was “Aren’t they cold?”  And I’ve never understood the concept of warrior training by running around in only your underwear in the winter.  Frostbite doesn’t care how tough you are, people! 

And that’s my cue to go back to bed. 

Entry filed under: rambling.

Hey! Hey! You! You! Feel my pain!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gromitgirl  |  March 15, 2007 at 2:04 am

    The musuem is in Tokyo. I know those sights suck, they just assume that everything worth seeing is in Tokyo, and they are usually right at that! As for 300 very jealous you saw it as it doesnt open here until June. It does look very pretty, and I loved the graphic novel, and since I do have a Classics degree it will be all the more wonderful! I can cut it historically up! Man, Gladiator STILL bugs me!

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  March 15, 2007 at 7:10 am

    Oh no! Don’t be one of those people!! heh. I haven’t read the gn, but some of the pictures I saw from it matched the movie, especially when the King would put on his helmet and stand there looking ominous. :)

    And I was trying not to assume it was in Tokyo – that’d be kind of like saying everything worth seeing in Canada is in Toronto. Well, it sort of is, but you don’t like to say so…. :P

    Reply
  • 3. Akane  |  March 17, 2007 at 12:58 am

    I have a copy of Last Portrait (Drama Queen title). Let me know if you wanna borrow it.
    ttyl/have a great weekend

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  March 17, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    Oooh! I was waiting for that one. The online bookstores have April 1 as the release date for *everything* so I was waiting until then to see what was going on.

    I have Your Honest Deceit which is I think by the same author. Can’t remember if I lent that one to you or not…

    Reply
  • 5. Akane  |  March 18, 2007 at 1:20 am

    virtuoso di amore is also available… i saw them at the beguiling…
    =D

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  March 18, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    Ooooh. You know I was going to go to the Beguiling on Thursday but I popped into Silver Snail first and they were having a 40% off sale on graphic novels. Sheer guilt prevented me from thinking of hitting another comic store after that…

    On the bright side, I now own most of Powers, which is an awesome awesome series. :)

    Reply
  • 7. akane2040  |  March 18, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    so is hairy t at the end of the month… but must resist more spending… sigh. online stuff is starting to also come in… will have to read through White Guardian…

    Reply
  • 8. pajcat  |  March 18, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    I really really don’t need to hear that…

    Have fun reading the new stuff. I have guilt about the old stuff lying around still unread.

    Now I’m going back to Black Knight…

    Reply
  • 9. Ama  |  March 19, 2007 at 9:27 pm

    Oh! I popped into Silver Snail on Saturday, but it was only TWENTY percent off :( Poo. I ended up getting YGO Duelist 9-10, and FMA 11. It was my shopping spree day after all.

    Reply
  • 10. Akane  |  March 20, 2007 at 2:10 am

    I have the same issue…

    currently reading: Dragon Voice V1

    What did you think of the first issue of Buffy Season 8?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

