Hey! Hey! You! You!

March 6, 2007 at 11:59 pm 9 comments

I poked my head into iTunes tonight to see if there was anything new I wanted to listen to and came across a new Avril Lavigne song called “Girlfriend.”  I was both intrigued and amused by the fact that there’s also a Japanese version of the song.  Well, it’s in English and Japanese.  Yes, yes.  I bought it.  I figured if I took an interest in even a partially J-Pop type song maybe they’d look into trying to get more Japanese music in the store.  (The only ones I’ve been able to find are from Puffy Ami Yumi and I already own that cd.)  Also, I still have an absurd amount of iTunes gift certificates left from Christmas so I can buy according to my whims with a clear conscience.

It’s not bad.  All I really require from my pop music is a catchy tune with a beat I can have fun walking to.  This has both, I guess.  The lyrics are about what you’d expect – repetitive.  Even the ones you can’t understand.  :) 

Perhaps the Japanese version is in anticipation of her graphic novel coming out in April, which I am not going to be cynical about or make fun of.  (Shocked?)  However the plot may turn out, I do like what I’ve seen of the art so far.  It might be enough to make me buy it.  We’ll see.

 In the meantime, they actually put up a music video/gn preview.  Kind of neat, actually.

And I have another manga update, damnit!  I tidied my room a bit tonight and kept finding new manga every time I shifted a pile of books.  grr.

Platinum Garden 3
Twelve Reasons Why I Love Her  (a belated Christmas present that finally came in)
Bleach 17
Gals! 9 (second last volume)
Hayate the Combat Butler 2
Naruto 13
Free Collars Kingdom 1
Mushishi 1
Train + Train 1
Innocent W 2

Another fun purchase I made this week was The Cute Book by Aranzi Aronzo.  This is a really cute friggin’ book!  I mentioned it to a co-worker yesterday and she said her grandkids liked making crafts so she’d be interested in seeing it.  One look at the cover today and she was handing me $$ to buy it for her without even cracking it open.

It’s such an awesome book!  There are patterns to make little (cute) stuffed toys, like cats, squirrels, bunnies and sheep.  Towards the back of the book the patterns get a little darker – you can stitch together a kidnapper, alien or your very own bad guy.   The kidnapper is carrying a little white sack which makes him look more like a robber, but perhaps he kidnaps very small people.   Today I bought some felt on the way home and I’m going to make a little kitty first.  I will let you all know how it turns out.

I also wanted to get The Bad Book, but the wonderfully bright head office people at a certain unnamed, national Canadian bookstore chain apparently decided it was a graphic novel, because it has scenes of the figures talking to each other.  When it arrives in stores, staff can tell it’s a craft book.  I’m told there’s some sort of conflict about this.  What it means for me is that I’ve been to three different stores now that are supposed to have this book… but no one can find it.  Including my own store.  grr!

Entry filed under: manga, Random Stuff, toys.

But how will I find the manga? Late night rambling

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. XenMaster  |  March 7, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    When I first heard that Avril song I was very disappointed. Here’s an artist who went on about how stupid the whole pop princess thing was while she struggled to find her identitiy on her first album. I saw the video for this song and I must say “For shame, Avril.”

    I didn’t know it was also in Japanese, and I didn’t know she had a manga thing coming out. If the song really is related to these then maybe I can forgive her a little.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  March 7, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    Ha, well she does shout a lot of the song. Does that make it less pop-like? There’s also a french version of the song on iTunes. I’m not quite sure what she’s going for with the multi-lingual songs though. Is she going to make a Spanish version too? :)

    Reply
  • 3. Laurie  |  March 8, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    I am so glad that you finally got the 12 Reasons book. After all that wait, is it any good?

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  March 8, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    I totally haven’t read it yet. I… I… Evidently I’m waiting for a really good time so I can enjoy it properly. I’m kind of chugging through library manga right now which is never as much fun as reading something ’cause you want to.

    Cover is v pretty though. And I will lend it to you when I’m done. We MUST observe the cost per use thing…

    Reply
  • 5. Ama  |  March 16, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    Being random, cause I’ve been away all week working but…

    My friend recommends those Spiderman books.. MaryJane or something? There’s 2, and I know for a fact that they’re both in the store next door to WBB since I was there the other day. You’ve probably read them already though ^^;

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  March 17, 2007 at 11:06 pm

    Spider-Man Loves Mary Jane! Yeah, that’s a great book! I got the first couple compilations from the library and now I collect the comics.

    Unless… you’re talking about the Mary Jane novels, that are just like regular books… I read the first one but didn’t like it that much. It just didn’t seem like the Mary Jane that’s in Spider-Man.

    Reply
  • 7. Ama  |  March 19, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    ehehehe. I meant the novels :P
    I actually kind of liked what I read.

    Reply
  • 8. Samalona  |  March 26, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    It’s only a brief flip-through on some entries, but I am convinced that you got a lot of enlightening info for me – especially in the manga division. Thanks for sharing.

    By the way, I found it disturbing that Avril sang “Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door”.

    Reply
  • 9. pajcat  |  March 27, 2007 at 1:28 am

    Thanks for visiting and commenting! I don’t think I’ve actually listened to the whole version of “Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door” which is probably a good thing. I do like her music in general, but I found the idea of her doing what? Eight or nine versions of her song in different languages kind of commercial. Like someone was trying too hard.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

