But how will I find the manga?

March 5, 2007 at 11:53 am 3 comments

No post-Heroes agitation tonight – I got to watch it last night instead.   And then I saw an amazing episode of Battlestar Galactica which was a bit of a relief.  It’s been a wee bit dull lately.  I found out tonight that there won’t be a new episode of Heroes until April 23, which really really sucks.  Don’t they know I’m going to Japan around then and will miss two whole episodes??

Not a lot to post about tonight.  I wanted to update my manga list so I could gather everything scattered around my room and put it away.  The stacks of manga on my dresser have now literally reached the ceiling.  Of course, it’s only a 7 foot ceiling, but still.  (BTW, my nephew emailed me to let me know that he has reached the 50 volume/shelf and a half of manga milestone.  Aww!  I’m so proud!  sniff.)

Finally found my Ultimate Spider-Man comics.  As expected, they were in the last box I pulled out.  The one wedged into the back corner next to the pipe in my closet.  Of course the box ripped when I pulled it out.  gah!  I have found more old favorites that I was tempted to pull out and browse through.  Like my Young Justice comics.  Sigh…  I miss Young Justice.      

Saturday at work I spent some time covering the business/computer/travel section of the bookstore.  I don’t like that section – it’s scary and I can never find anything.  Of course after being assured several times that no one would ever ask me for help some guy comes up and asks me for books for his Blackberry.  uh…  Amazingly I DID manage to find him the section (under gadgets) and in less than 30 seconds, which made me look like I knew what I was doing.  heh heh. 

The rest of the time I spent browsing through the Japan travel guides.  Today I picked up a couple of phrase books, but I’m not sure which of the guides are the best.  Suggestions anyone?

Hmm.  Just flipped through the phrase books a bit looking for the most important phrase of all:  “Where can I find a manga store?”  Not there (the Lonely Planet one mentions manga, but also describes it as a cartoon.  Boo!) but bookstores are close enough. 

hon ya = bookstore

Neat!   And although the Lonely Planet one does tell me how to say “I’m high!” in Japanese it doesn’t have “No thank you, I don’t drink alcohol.”  Guess we know what their priorities are!  There’s also a section on pick up lines and sex.  That’s awesome.  I especially like some of the rejections.

piss off! = hottoyte

I think I need the geek version of a Japanese phrase book, though.

That’s it for tonight.  I’m including my list of new manga from the past few weeks after the break.    Commentary later.

A couple of these may be repeats, but they weren’t in my manga list so I’m including them anyway:

Kamichama Karin 6 (next volume is the last, but apparently Koge-Donbo started a sequel)
Kitchen Princess 1
Tsubasa 12
Tenshi Ja Nai! 6
W Juliet 14 (last volume, finally!)
Recipe for Gertrude 3
Hissing 2-3
Princess Princess 2
Gorgeous Carat 4
Absolute Boyfriend 3
Aishiteruze Baby 6 (second last volume?)
Eyeshield 21 #12
Sugar Sugar Rune 5
Crossroad 6 (second last volume)
Kare Kano 21 (last volume!)
Densha Otoko (CMX version) 2
Gravitation EX 1
The Man Who Doesn’t Take Off His Clothes (novel 2)
Junjo Romantica 2
Tramps Like Us 11 
Loveless 4 
Kurosagi Corpse Delivery Service 2
Flower of Life 1
The Moon and the Sandals 1
Rin! 2
Zombie Powder 3 
Jazz 4 (last volume)
Neon Genesis Evangelion: Angelic Days 4 
The Gentlemen’s Alliance 1
Black Knight 3
Oh My Goddess 25
Nana 5
ES (Eternal Sabbath) 4
Forest of Gray City 1
Beauty Pop 3
Backstage Prince 1
Gatcha Gacha 4
Hot Gimmick S  (novel)
Fullmetal Alchemist 11 
Hana Kimi 16
Hands Off! 8 (complete!)
Penguin Revolution 2
Yoki Koto Kiku (standalone)

Entry filed under: manga, rambling.

Blast from the past Hey! Hey! You! You!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Akane  |  March 6, 2007 at 10:45 am

    I bow to the master…my manga reading is done is waves…

    Reply
  • 2. Akane  |  March 6, 2007 at 11:20 am

    I bow the master, again… sob! If all these comments are being posted, I can not see them…

    Reply
  • 3. pajcat  |  March 6, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    Sorry! You’re still getting caught in the spam filter for some reason. :( Don’t worry – I’ll rescue your comments as soon as I see them!

    If you take the $$ I made at the bookstore last year and compare it to the $$ I spent on manga it pretty much evens out. Less guilt now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

