Not going to be about Heroes

February 26, 2007 at 11:14 am 4 comments

Normally I mean to post something on Monday night and end up not doing it.  I’m always afraid it’s going to be a variation of “OMG!!!  Heroes was sooo awesome!!” which I try to avoid.  Er.  But tonight I really really mean it.  What an amazing hour of television that was.  My favorite evening of television tends to alternate between Monday and Thursday now.  (That’s for Supernatural, of course.)  heh.  I’m easy and they’re both kicking ass this year.

Moving on!

I’ve updated my library manga list for January and February, but it looks like some of the stuff I posted back in August is just now showing up on the new books list. 

Hmm.  Speaking of manga at the library… last week I popped into comic store #2 for my comics (add me to the list of those underwhelmed by the conclusion of Civil War) and ended up getting into a conversation with a couple of guys that were talking to the store owner.  One of them was doing some sort of business pitch that I interrupted when I came up to pay for my wee stack of comics. 

I asked if they had Ultimate Fantastic Four #3 since I had borrowed the first two trades from the library and wanted to keep reading the series.  So:

1) The store owner laughed at me.  This is not the first time I’ve gone trolling for trades or back issues after borrowing stuff from the library.  I’m so very easy.

2) The sales dude was amazed and astonished that they had comics at the library.  “What?  They have comics at the library?  Which branch??”  D’oh!  I just replied “All of them” instead of putting on my library geek hat and explaining the catalogue and inter-branch reserves.   (Do they still call it interlibrary loan if it’s all from the same system?)  Gosh, I hope he asks for help if he does end up going in.

3) The sales dude’s friend got very excited about my reading UFF and told me that I had to read Marvel Zombies which apparently ties in somehow.  He was very insistent, so I suppose I’m going to have to look for it somewhere.  I think I promised.  The same guy also made me swear (“NO!  You have to swear!”) not to read the last issue of Civil War when he heard that I couldn’t remember if I had the previous issue.  (I did)  Heh.  He was funny.

I realized after I left that I felt guilty for barging in on their conversation so didn’t really chat with them as much as I normally would have and was trying to figure out if I came off as unfriendly… then felt guilty for that too!  I’m pretty sure I was the only one who cared.

So yes.  I started to reread UFF from the library and quite liked the first two.  I had bought the first few comics and didn’t really stick with it – I’ve never really been a Fantastic Four fan.  Unfortunately I then had the urge to read the Ultimate Spidey issue where Johnny Storm enrolls in Peter’s school so I dug out my Christmas gift certificates and trundled off to the comic store to pick up volume 12.  I discovered on the train ride home that this volume also has the story where Peter and Wolverine switch bodies, which is weird, but one of my favorites.  I got a LOT of stares while I was reading this one and choking back giggles.  Very embarrassing but worth it.

usm.jpg  
Peter discovers his new body comes with claws.

usm-001.jpg
These two have very different priorities…

I had been meaning for some time to replace my USM comics with trades and once I got started… fortunately I had gift certificates left and then found about 8 more volumes at a used bookstore.  er.  And some Astonishing X-Men.  And UFF.  And… I resisted the temptation to buy out their supply of Ultimate X-Men, but it was close. 

Wow.  So much for my short post.  I had decided not to write about any of my new manga tonight because I thought it would take too long.  Oops!

Night, all.

Entry filed under: comics, rambling.

Anime: good for what ails ya Blast from the past

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. XenMaster  |  February 27, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    That was one amazing episode of Heroes. It was almost like a reward episode for the fans that have been watching it from the start. Awesome.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  February 28, 2007 at 12:49 am

    I know! They did a perfect mix of answered old questions/introducing new ones. Like, just how much will Mr Bennett remember? Ooooh. Next week looks exciting too – Nathan vs Nikki?? Rock.

    You know it might be on Sunday night, right??

    Reply
  • 3. Akane  |  March 6, 2007 at 2:38 am

    I liked the first three trades of Astonishing Xmen, and the 1st trade of Ultimate Fantastic Four too… Trying out Ultimate Xmen right now.
    Mr. Whedon hasn’t lost his touch!
    Am interested in the direction he plans to take Runaways during his stint with that series… I gobbled the first six digests in less than a week. Enjoyable teen cheese.

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  March 6, 2007 at 3:05 am

    I *really* liked Astonishing X-Men! I’m happy about Whedon taking over Runaways, and I got to push it at the store on the weekend to a customer who liked his Astonishing books.

    The Buffy comic is starting soon too. Yay! Gonna have to put it on my pull list at the Emporium.

    If you feel the urge to read Ultimate Spider-Man, let me know. I have the easily-lendable trades now. Well, most of them anyway. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

