At least it was free

January 25, 2007 at 11:32 am 6 comments

A friend gave me a pass for a free preview of Blood and Chocolate, which I went to tonight.  If you’ve never heard of it, it’s the story of a werewolf-type girl who lives with her pack in Romania and falls in love with a charming American artist who is making a graphic novel about… werewolves (dun dunnnn!).  The leader of the pack creepily wants to mate with the young girl himself and so he and his equally creepy son try to drive the two apart.  Then there’s chasing and guns and… er… wolves… 

(Okay, I just checked out the trailer I linked to and that’s the ENTIRE movie!  In like, half a minute.  Ha!)

The good:
Hugh Dancy is very cute and has an adorable mop of hair.  I’ve never seen him in anything, but Melrose mentioned him in her blog this week, so when he came on screen all I could think of was “Hey!  It’s that dude Melrose likes!”  Also, I didn’t have to pay for the movie.

The bad:
Er… the acting, the plot, the bad dialogue, the cheese…. oh dear God the cheese….  Even the special effects (which weren’t that bad – the people would kind of leap and glow and then wolves would land on the ground) were made worse by a LOT of dramatic slowdowns, spinning in mid-air (I was reminded of the acrobatic tennis playing in the Prince of Tennis live action movie as a matter of fact…) and just… well, I could go on but that would entail reliving the movie and I don’t want to do that.  It didn’t make much sense, though.

There was a lot of spontaneous laughing in the theatre at moments that weren’t actually supposed to be funny.  I was both amused and horrified by the movie and was also entertained by my friend’s sighs and the way she would clutch her head in her hands on a regular basis.  (She’s read the book, I haven’t.  Supposedly that helps.)  Seriously, though.  Save your money on this one unless you want to rent it with a group of friends to heckle while drinking.

I could go on but then I’d be swinging off into unnecessarily harsh territory and hey – it’s not like I paid for it.  If I had wasted 12 bucks then I’d make more fun.  It was not, however, worth missing what was apparently a completely kick ass episode of Supernatural.  I’m now sad.

On a totally different note, when I got home this evening there was  a voter registration card waiting for me that had an interesting variation of my name on it.  I’m used to my last name getting mangled in both spelling and pronunciation, but not my first.  They actually wrote down Katherane.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen it spelled like that before.  For the record, I’m “Catharine” and do take note of that second “a” in the name, for it’s a total pain in the ass. 

Up until the age of 16, I had been just plain Catherine.  Then I went on a trip to Halifax and got a copy of my birth certificate from the hospital where I was born and we discovered that when my dad filled out my forms he spelled my name wrong.  Or spelled it right and then forgot.  Whatever.  He was pretty defensive about it and I never really did get a clear answer from him.  So now some of my ID has the “e” and some has the “a” and I always have to chase after people to spell it right.  I’m happy to report that my passport will have the correct name on it.  I made him double check. 

No, there was no real point to that.  I’m just breaking my blogging dry spell with random chatter before going to bed.  There was an actual reason I stopped for about a week, and I’m planning on sharing it.  Just not tonight.  :)

Entry filed under: movies, rambling.

Five things International traveller

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ama  |  January 26, 2007 at 5:30 pm

    No offence, but the entire premise of that movie sounds dumb.

    Reply
  • 2. cathy  |  January 26, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    No offense taken! I only went ’cause I had a free pass. I’ve heard the book is much much better.

    Reply
  • 3. melrose plant  |  January 27, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    all about the hugh dancy !

    He was in Ella Enchanted and a bunch of British stuff.

    very cute !

    Not paying for movies is a good thing …so are adorable mops of hair !

    Have fun at the WBB post-Christmas extravaganza ( far be it for that store to actually have a Christmas party at Christmas. That would just be breaking the rules ! )

    Reply
  • 4. cathy  |  January 27, 2007 at 6:00 pm

    I felt kind of bad for him. I think he could have been better if he had had more than inane dialogue to work with.

    Not planning on staying long at the party, though. Last time we went there I was swearing too much at the fooz ball table. Very shameful behaviour. :)

    Reply
  • 5. XenMaster  |  January 29, 2007 at 3:04 am

    I think I’m good with “Cathy”, thanks. I don’t even know who you are anymore…

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  January 29, 2007 at 6:30 am

    I am obviously a woman of mystery and many identities.

    Or… not.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

