Fun with updates

January 4, 2007 at 11:45 am 2 comments

A multi post evening!  I’m just trying to clear some of the stuff I had been meaning to do as I anticipate more free time now that the holidays/travelling/traditional post Christmas cold is all done with.  Yes, I got sick right after arriving back in Toronto and have been sniffling since.  Didn’t have much energy for much besides sleeping and watching about 30 episodes of Avatar: the Last Airbender, a series I always liked but lost track of once I switched my weekend day at the bookstore to Saturdays. 

It’s surprisingly good for a “regular” cartoon, and yes, feel free to call me snobby.  I haven’t had much interest in the cartoons on tv since Teen Titans and Justice League were both cancelled.  Avatar is worth watching though.  There’s a serialized plot (which is part of why I stopped watching it once I started missing episodes), good voice acting, consistantly high quality animation… I particularly like the fight scenes which mix martial arts with bending (if you’re unfamiliar with the show, the characters can manipulate the four elements).   Even the villain has layers and moved past the “Grr! I must capture the Avatar!” stage.  Though now that he’s slowly moving towards being a more neutral character (or at least examining his motivations) they introduced his psycho sister.  heh.

Hmm.  I didn’t really mean for this to turn into a post about Avatar.  Oops!  Ah well.  In addition to the two manga updates, I’ve also been working on my master list of what I own, some of which was surprisingly out of date.  I also turned off the comments on that page.  I got tired of people asking me to upload manga, despite me repeatedly saying it was all “real” stuff.  sigh.  Does no one read anymore?  I also added a comment for the new December manga at the library last night.  Some of it is new, some of it has been on order for a while so was already on the list.

That’s it for tonight.   I’m back at work now (darn it!) and must sleep!  It’s always so sad when vacations must end.

Entry filed under: rambling, television.

First 2007 list! Beware Ghost Hunt 6!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. XenMaster  |  January 5, 2007 at 1:53 pm

    I always liked Avatar ever since I first saw it, but I can never remember when it’s on. I’ve probably watched a total of four episodes, and one of those I’ve seen at least twice more. I’m thinking about picking up the first season on DVD after I saw it at Best Buy.

    Oh I finally finished watching the entire Rozen Maiden series a couple weeks ago. The ending of Traumend left me somewhat unsatisfied, and the two OVA episodes didn’t really help much either.

    Lastly have you heard of or seen Pani Poni Dash? It is very very strange. It’s like Azumanga Daioh on crack. Less situational comedy and much more fast-paced weirdness. I haven’t watched past the first episode because my brain started to hurt.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  January 5, 2007 at 11:41 pm

    I think I watched as much as I did because it was pretty much last on the list of the Saturday morning line up. I was usually awake by 11:30. :)

    Believe it or not, I haven’t finished watching Rozen Maiden Traumend. I was going to see if you knew about the OAV already, but I haven’t watched it yet either. The newest volume of the manga is starting a story about the two gardener dolls that’s quite different than the old man who lost his son from the anime. I’m looking forward to it!

    I’ve heard of but not seen Pani Poni Dash. I read your comment and then saw a volume of the anime on a list Damon gave me at work and marked it for ordering, in honor of you. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

