When festive decorating and obsession collide

December 11, 2006 at 11:06 am 9 comments

Last week when I went to the library to pick up my holds I heard something horrible.  “You have 36 books signed out.”  I have not had that many books signed out at once since they introduced the utterly useless receipt system for keeping track of due dates back when I was in college.  Sooo, that’s where I’ve been all week.  Reading my way through some of the pile and for the most part ignoring not only my blog, but also my computer.  Today I returned 7 of them… and picked up 4 more holds.  Damnit! 

Fortunately much of what came in was manga that I had had on hold forever, so at least once I start on those it’s easy enough to get through.  Of course, I also had to watch the last three discs of the Freaks and Geeks set in one week in addition to the reading…

I did manage one festive task this week, and that was decorating the little mini tree my mom made for me a few years ago.  I bought wee little glass ornaments for it, but it was looking kind of plain, so I improvised some thematic decorations.  And since this is me we’re talking about here, of course they’re anime themed!  Finally a use for all those little chibi keychains I’ve been collecting over the years!  (No one has THAT many keys.)

I haven’t quite managed the trick of reducing glare with my camera, so some of these are hard to see, but here’s the weird little tree I ended up with.

hpim0066.JPG
On this side I’ve managed to combine my Robin fangirlishness and my love for Fruits Basket and Chococat.  (That long rectangle near the bottom is a Kyo keychain)  Anything that looks overexposed and too white is an Inu Yasha figure.  :)  And that’s the edge of the stacks of manga I have covering the back of my dresser in the background.

hpim0065.JPG
This side has Yuki, Shippo and Mr. Saotome tucked into the back.   The two white glows are Inu Yasha and Sesshoumaru (I had to buy a whole package of them to get the Sessoumaru one, which is why I have so many.  Kagome and Miroku are on the other side of the tree.)  And… er… another stack of manga on the other side of the printer.  This is most of my new stuff that I haven’t posted about yet and threatens to topple over each time I sit down at my computer.

Sadly, my tree has no angel perched on top.  Could I even find something appropriate?

If you want to make your own mini tree, you can find instructions here.  Now I’m off to wrap presents, and read more library books.

Entry filed under: anime, rambling.

Dresden Files coming in January! Snowball fight!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. melrose plant  |  December 12, 2006 at 7:41 am

    wowzers. Are you allowed to have that many books out at oncE? That is sooo impressive!

    I love your tree.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  December 12, 2006 at 8:10 am

    I’m tripping over the books. :) Last time I checked the limit was what? 50 books? I don’t know if that’s gone up or not.

    Reply
  • 3. TangognaT » Age Ranges, Anime Xmas, Manga Commentary  |  December 12, 2006 at 9:55 am

    […] How to incorporate your anime collection into your holiday decor […]

    Reply
  • 4. melrose plant  |  December 12, 2006 at 9:39 pm

    Hey Pajcat ! you and your Veronica Mars dvds rock my world !

    you are the bestest person ever and I am sending warm fuzzy festivus fun greetings your way!

    *huuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuug*

    :)

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  December 13, 2006 at 12:10 am

    You FINISHED?? Or… you just got them. I need to know how you felt about the last two episodes! Logan! The Dean! arg.

    Reply
  • 6. melrose plant  |  December 13, 2006 at 7:58 am

    I didnt finish them yet……..I was squealing in anticipation/

    Will do my Mars-watching homework tonight !

    Over and out ,

    a Duck.

    Reply
  • 7. SAM-urai  |  December 14, 2006 at 7:48 am

    ohhh sooo cuuuuute! You’re so creative! ahhaah love those keychains. We always buy so much of those and they just collect dust, so it’s cool that you’re putting them to good use…

    So yes…inspired by you, I am trying to update all my anime/manga info and put it on my livejournal…we’ll see how that works *wish me luck please*

    see ya!

    -Sam

    Reply
  • 8. Gromitgirl  |  December 14, 2006 at 11:55 pm

    Hey Pajcat, so i made up a new name for myself based on my bog! Guess i couldnt use my own (very new to this blog stuff) as that would destroy my secret identity and the loss of my magical teaching powers! I loved the tree so very you! I went through a huge key chain impulse buy when i first moved here in Japan…they are sitting in a box at the moment…you have inspired me as well! I must have bought the entire cast of Bleach by now…still havent found an Ouran host machine though! BTW Melrose Plant!! You Duck! How are you doing??!!!!! Would love to hear from you…my email is still the same. I have to say loved Veronica Mars season 1 almost quit after season 2 not so good, but liking Season 3. Am so so so so so sick of Logan though…not my favourite character, but way better than that Kane guy. My current obssesion is Lost season 3…cant wait until Feb!
    gromitgirl

    Reply
  • 9. pajcat  |  December 15, 2006 at 12:39 am

    I am depending on you to not let me leave Japan with nothing but a suitcase full of keychains. Seriously. And season 2 of Veronica Mars was a disappointment, though there were individual eps that were very good. Season 3 is less sprawling, so I’m enjoying it more. Sad to say, though, I’ve given up on Lost. I just didn’t care anymore. This year is all about Heroes and Supernatural. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

