Dresden Files coming in January!

December 4, 2006 at 10:58 pm 2 comments

I was trolling for Battlestar Galactica previews on the Sci Fi Channel’s website this morning and came across the Dresden Files!  I couldn’t get the preview to work, but I found it on YouTube so got to watch.  I’m not entirely sure how I feel about the clips (and I tried to ignore the cheesey voice over) but I’m more than willing to give it a fair shot.  And it’s starting in Canada on Space in January as well, so I get to watch it during its first run! 

(Totally off-topic, but the other thing I’m really looking forward to in January is Heroes restarting.  Tonight’s episode was amazing!  The end sequence completely blew me away.)

BTW, the pilot of the Dresden Files was filmed here in Toronto, so we’ll also get to play “spot the landmark” while watching.  That’s always fun. 

If you’ve never heard of Harry Dresden, you’ll want to check out the books by Jim Butcher.  (Storm Front is #1 in the series.)  The basic premise is that Harry is a wizard who works as a PI and on retainer for the city police.  Whenever they have an odd, unexplainable case Murphy (the head of the special department) will call in Harry to help.  The books bring in magic, vampires, werewolves, talking skulls, angels, holy knights etc etc.  A very entertaining series, and it’s a bonus for me that while Harry has a hero complex and will take an unbelievable amount of damage during the course of the story, he also doesn’t have completely unrealistic power-ups every book that will eventually give him god-like powers.  *cough*Anita Blake*cough*  If you watch the preview for the series, it’s actually a pretty good representation of the character, though it’s hard to tell if they get his coat right.  Harry’s leather coat is practically a separate character in the books… Also they did something to change little blonde Murphy….

Entry filed under: books, television.

Free stuff is fun When festive decorating and obsession collide

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. goth_clark  |  December 5, 2006 at 8:22 am

    I thought Heroes was brilliant! I’m glad to see that we’ll get to watch the Dresden Files.

    My lj feed gives me a link to your post so I thought I would come on over and comment here since you said you didn’t get the other comment in some way.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  December 5, 2006 at 8:29 am

    Howdy! I am completely loving Heroes and hate the fact that I have to wait a whole month for new episodes. And I don’t get why people get so confused by this show. I guess all that sci fi/comic book reading pays off sometimes… :)
    That last scene with Peter and Nathan? Ooooo! Was it really Peter or was he channelling Ted?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

