Free stuff is fun

December 2, 2006 at 11:16 am 9 comments

My bookstore won a chain-wide contest so we all got our very own iPod Shuffle.  Yay!  So… I picked mine up today and it’s very wee!  Not even two inches wide, and who decided that music devices needed to be that small??  Do they not know how huge my purse is?  (Gotta stash those hardcover books somewhere…)  I was undecided on whether or not I was going to keep it but figured out that it fits regular headphones just fine, so I guess I have a new toy!  (I absolutely cannot use earbuds.  They don’t stay in my ears and when I finally do manage to get them lodged in there the wind will blow, my hair gets tangled in the cords and the buds fall out.  arg!)

Obviously tonight when I got home I jumped over to iTunes to pick out a few songs and see how the whole thing works.  Something like iTunes is both a blessing and a curse to someone like me.  I very rarely like most of an artist’s cd (my music collection is mostly compilations or soundtracks) so the ability to buy a single song is nice… but!  I suck at remembering song titles.  And most of the new music I come across will be on the radio, and they don’t always announce the title/artist and I’ll be left liking a song and having no idea who sang it.

Actually, there was one that I really wanted but the only thing I knew about it was they sang “Oh Lord blah blah blah Heaven.”  Try searching for that in lyrics databases!  heh.  I decided to browse through the collections for the past couple of months and managed to find it.  Yay me.  (And yay for the preview feature I finally managed to figure out.)  It’s called “No Heaven” by Champion.  I also bought “Keep Holding On” by Avril Lavigne, “Welcome to the Black Parade” by My Chemical Romance and “Play With Fire” by Hilary Duff.  (Shut up.)

I’ve trained myself to tune out most of the inane, repetitive lyrics that pop songs have nowadays, so I usually judge it by the tune and rhythm.  I like music I can bop to or keep a good pace up if I’m walking to it.  (And can use to block out background conversations during my commute to work and back.)  I think that’s one of the reasons I like J-Pop so much…. it doesn’t matter how stupid the lyrics might be ’cause I can’t understand them anyway!  :)

My free iPod is probably going to end up costing me too much money, though.  Especially after I go through my Christmas cds and figure out what I have and what songs I’m missing.  I very efficiently loaded most of my Christmas and anime cds into one of those cd folders a few years ago when I travelled home… and lost it on the way back.  I had a Miyazaki movie theme song cd in there that I adored and have never been able to replace.   grr.

Entry filed under: rambling, Random Stuff.

Non traditional Christmas movies :) Dresden Files coming in January!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. melrose plant  |  December 3, 2006 at 9:35 am

    My ipod ( which I got with my indigo discount before I left ) is my new best friend.

    Have fun with itunes.

    I am loving Summers at Castle Auburn!

    You totally rock!

    Hey ! I just noticed you read Stormbreaker ! Yay Alex Rider ! I love selling it to 12 yr old boys who won’t read anything.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  December 3, 2006 at 11:45 am

    Ha, yeah I read that one because of you. I was slightly disturbed that a teenager killed so many people without apparent remorse or trauma (does it not count if you don’t use a gun?) but other than that they were pretty good.

    I’m glad you’re liking the Shinn book! I thought it was very low key. I think you’d really like her young adult books, too. (Ask me if I remember the names… I think Safe Keeper’s Secret, Truth Tellers Tale and Dream Maker’s Magic.)

    Reply
  • 3. pajcat  |  December 3, 2006 at 11:53 am

    And! I’m glad you love your ipod. The shuffle doesn’t seem much different than my discman, except that now I have issues about where I can stowe all of this electronic music without losing it. Also happy it doesn’t take AAA batteries like the discman does. The AAA size are expensive!

    But now I’m wondering if I can recharge it from my mom’s computer when I go home at Christmas.

    Reply
  • 4. XenMaster  |  December 4, 2006 at 1:57 am

    iPod Shuffle is pretty cool. I could’ve had one :(
    Oh and I hate that No Heaven song. But I love the Avril Lavigne one. BTW I came downtown on Wednesday looking for new manga and I found the latest Naruto and Bleach ONLY at WBB. As far as I know they were supposed to be released the week after, but oh well! Discounted early manga are nice :)

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  December 4, 2006 at 2:37 am

    *cough* Not saying anything about the release date thing…
    Today I downloaded Black Betty. If I drove, I’d have to keep that song out of the car ’cause I would totally speed to it…

    Reply
  • 6. Ama  |  December 4, 2006 at 9:47 pm

    And I thought I was the only one with the earbud problem..

    I’m so illegal. I have a 3000+ song collection of songs that are either from wherever, friends, or CDs from my own collection or the library. :D

    Only about a third of it fits on my mp3 player… Which is not an iPod.

    Reply
  • 7. pajcat  |  December 4, 2006 at 10:13 pm

    Well, as long as someone paid for it *somewhere* along the line!
    I didn’t even want an mp3 player… I’m kinda paranoid about getting mugged for my ipod, which is why I wasn’t going to get one. But hey. It was free.

    Reply
  • 8. pajcat  |  December 4, 2006 at 10:13 pm

    And I hate earbuds. Why do people like them so much??

    Reply
  • 9. Ama  |  December 5, 2006 at 7:05 pm

    don’t worry. I’ve never been mugged. And if you wear chunky headphones, no one can tell you have an iPod. Trust me.

    I’d be more worried if I had the new Nano.

    As for earbuds? They’re more compact than my headphones. Case and point, I’m guessing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

