Happy birthday, blog!

November 30, 2006 at 11:45 pm 3 comments

cake.JPGYes, today is my blog’s first anniversary.  Ooooh.  Let’s see…. I figured I’d have about four of my friends reading this a couple times a week but thanks to spammers and searches from people looking for illegal manga downloads, my numbers are much higher than I thought they’d be.  Kidding, kidding.  Sort of.  :P  Seriously, though people.  No downloads here, move along.  Sooo, for posterity, I have:

52 357 Total page views
205 Posts
859 Comments (but I answer all my comments, so about half of these are me)
2228 Spam comments  (go spam!)
7 Unfinished/Draft posts (which I will finish someday, I’m sure)

My most popular post by far is the first Ouran anime summary/screencap post.  People do love Ouran.   And I *will* finish the rest of the series.  I stopped screencapping half way through, but observers of my anime box on the side may notice that I’m still watching Ouran, even though it’s been finished for a while now.  That’s because I still haven’t watched the last three episodes.  Once I do it’s all over (sniff!) so I’ve been putting it off.  That’s kind of lame.  I should finish those up.  heh.

(Oh, God.  I’m listening to my Christmas music folder and “What Do You Get a Wookie For Christmas (When He Already Owns a Comb)” just started.  Apparently it’s love and understanding.  Please!  It’s Chewie!  Get him a sonic wrench or something.  Brain…. bleeding….)

Er.  Okay, what’s new with me.  Today at work I asked if I could go to the OLA Superconference (and got an immediate “go register!”) so that’ll be interesting.  I’ve never really gone to a conference before – if there’s one on in town and there’s a seminar on copyright I’ll usually go with the ILL person but that’s about it.   I ended up registering for two days and picked a mix of Library/Web 2.0, medical lit searching and a seminar for dealing with confrontational people.  There’s probably not much use for that one for the library (we rarely have problem people at the hospital) but I think it’ll be useful for me personally.  I don’t always deal with conflict well.  And I was good and didn’t sign up for any of the graphic novel sessions… though I’m sure they’re all teen oriented anyway.  sigh.  I want libraries to remember that adults read graphic novels too…

And it was obvious at the bookstore last week that Christmas shopping has officially started.  It was so busy, and so many people were walking around checking off lists.  This is the best time for dealing with Christmas shoppers.  Everyone is still relaxed, and vaguely smug about starting early and efficiently, so they’re all in a good mood.  :)  It helps that what they’re looking for is usually on the shelf or they have plenty of time to order what they want.  It’s much harder closer to Christmas when people are stressed from going from store to store trying to find exactly what they want but it’s sold out everywhere and it’s too late to order it in time.  I hate having the poor shoppers leave still unhappy and stressed because I couldn’t help.  Last year everyone wanted March of the Penguins, but it’s not obvious yet what the hot dvd of this season is.  Hmmm…..  I’m sure whatever it is we’ll be sold out of it quickly and won’t get it back in until two days before the big day.  :P

I myself started shopping two weeks ago and am about half done.  This is partly because I’m flying home this year and refuse to do so with a suitcase full of presents so have to mail them early, and also because I seem to have been hit by the Christmas spirit early.  It’ll be interesting to see how this will effect my usual Christmas freak out, which involves me being overtired, overheated and getting banged around in the Eaton Centre while having a really bad hair day.  It inevitably happens at some point and means that I end up at my hair dressers semi-tearfully begging for an appointment for the next day.  This year I’m not only going to be finished shopping early, but also kept my hair long the last time I got it cut so I don’t have the same issues that I usually do.  Do I mess with tradition and just go get it done early or do I wait for the freak out?

We also got tickets to go see the Nutcracker Ballet in December, and I’m really looking forward to it.  I’m familiar with the music and the story, but I’ve never seen the ballet performed before.  Actually I’ve never watched a whole ballet performance, period.   One of the doctors at the hospital was raving about the young people chosen to do the performance as well, which really got me interested.

Okay, now I’m babbling while tired (I just deleted an entire paragraph… be thankful) so I’m signing off.   I’ll do a new manga post tomorrow.  After more Christmas shopping.  :)

Entry filed under: blogging, rambling.

2 different lists this time Non traditional Christmas movies :)

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brigid  |  December 1, 2006 at 7:48 am

    Congratulations! I really enjoy your blog, although I’m usually just a lurker. Keep up the good work.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  December 1, 2006 at 8:35 am

    Thank you! It’s been fun so far.

    Reply
  • 3. Anna  |  December 1, 2006 at 10:50 am

    Happy Blog Birthday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2006
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

