2 different lists this time

November 22, 2006 at 11:14 am 9 comments

Thankfully it was a very light day at the comic book store today and I only bought one title, Gals volume 8.  (Which reminds me… Super Gals: Season 2 – The Heart of Shibuya is being released on dvd December 19.  Cool.  I haven’t seen season 2 yet.)  I also had a box of Christmas shopping that I ordered from Amazon waiting for me when I got home today that included a present for me – Lovely Sick volume 1.  I like presents for me.

Last week I picked up:

Recipe for Gertrude 1-2 (my comic store friend recommended it)
Hayate the Combat Butler 1
The Day of Revolution 1
Punch 1
Yakitate!! Japan 2
Fullmetal Alchemist 10
W Juliet 13 (next volume is the last one, thank goodness!)
Chocolat 4

I have a shameful amount of manga lying around that hasn’t been read yet.  I really should get caught up before buying more.   I did order volume 2 of Her Majesty’s Dog tonight from the bookstore since it never did show up at the comic store and volume 3 should (should!) be out soon.  Go Comi has good titles, but man they’re a pain in the ass to get!  They’re also late a lot.  grr.

I also updated my library manga list tonight with the titles that came up on the November new books list.  As usual there may be some duplication and I didn’t check for missing volumes.

Aaaand, since I get hit on a regular basis with searches looking for manga stores in Toronto, and tonight I saw a posting on the DMP forums looking for TO stores that sell yaoi books, here’s my personal (and very rough) list of stores I check when shopping for manga.  Hope it helps.  (And I’m too lazy to look up addresses/websites/phone numbers.  Check the phone book or Google them.  Whichever works best for you.)  They’re pretty much all located downtown because that’s where I work and hang out.  There could be the Best Comic Store Ever two miles away and I will never know it.  This doesn’t bother me.  I can check 6 stores within two hours if I plan my route right and that’s awesome for someone who can be obsessive when she’s trying to find something.

Hairy Tarantula – couple blocks north of the Dundas subway station.  Tons of manga titles, lots of anime, regular sales and a discount card you can buy.  They usually have stuff in stock if I’m looking for it.  Lots of yaoi titles.  My favorite manga store ever.

World’s Biggest Bookstore – one block north of the Dundas subway station.  The manga section is getting better all of the time and is (she said, blushing) one of the best in the chain.  There are several dedicated manga fans working to get new stuff in all the time and there are no sad attempts to organize by age rating, which never works.  Anything not in stock can be ordered through the computers (as with any Indigo/Chapters/Coles store) and unlike the website you can pay cash in the store for orders.  No credit cards neccessary.  Yaoi titles are carried, but not in great supply and are mostly from BluManga.

1 000 000 Comix – close to the Wellesley subway station.  Lots of manga, some yaoi.  They also have anime (and last time I was there still rented it) and carry merchandise like bags, hats, figures, etc.  Also good for comics and graphic novels and they have regular sales and a membership program.

Silver Snail –  Queen St, about a 15 minute walk from the Osgoode subway station, just before you get to Spadina.  Not as good as other stores for the manga but they have a lot of figurines and toys.  Anime is upstairs.  Not a bad store, but they’re not open late so I find it a pain to get to if I’m not in the mood to rush.  Their window displays kick ass.

Kikiwai – 222 Spadina, between Dundas and Queen.  (Yes, I know the address on this one – it’s in huge numbers on the building.)  Lots of manga, both in English and the original Japanese.  They also sell imported merchandise – bags, toys, music, keychains, cell straps, figurines, accessories, costumes, stuffed toys, art books etc.  Go up the escalator and keep turning left until you get there.  :)

Anime Xtreme – Dundas and Spadina (ish).  A lot of manga (including yaoi) and anime to buy and rent.  They also sell figures, music, shirts etc.

And!  Check the library for manga to borrow for free.  Link to a list of many titles available is above, check their catalogue and on the shelves of your local branch.

(edited to remove a comic store I will no longer be directing manga fans to…)

Entry filed under: manga.

By your command Happy birthday, blog!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. melrose plant  |  November 23, 2006 at 7:54 am

    oooo! this World’s Biggest Bookstore of which you speak sounds very tantalizing indeed.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  November 23, 2006 at 8:29 am

    Yes, indeed it is…. unfortunately some unlucky ducks don’t live in Toronto anymore…

    Very sad, very sad.

    Reply
  • 3. XenMaster  |  November 23, 2006 at 2:35 pm

    Those are pretty much all the stores I go to for my occasional downtown manga/anime runs, although I don’t go along Spadina that much except to eat. Another minor addition could be the Game Shack in the Atrium across from WBB. Their selection may not be as big as the others, but their prices are well worth a look at least.

    Reply
  • 4. Ama  |  November 23, 2006 at 5:08 pm

    Um, I usually go Paradise Comics. 3278 Yonge St.
    (Four Blocks North of Lawrence Station). ^^; i had a discount card, but I think it’s not valid again. :( I like to buy manga at word on the street too, usually from Beguiling booth. :P

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  November 23, 2006 at 6:34 pm

    I usually think of the Game Shack of being an anime store, but yeah the manga’s there… I usually check the Hairy T and the Game Shack first when I need anime.

    And a new comic store! I’ve never been up that way before, but thanks for the tip.

    Reply
  • 6. Ama  |  November 25, 2006 at 11:05 pm

    You’re welcome.
    Hehe, I know it’s stupid, but today I went to Yorkdale and my friend was saying I should come see you at WBB. XD

    Reply
  • 7. Ama  |  November 25, 2006 at 11:12 pm

    Oh, I’ve been meaning to ask for a while, and this is off topic, but… Was Swapping Lives by Jane Green any good? I bought Bookends by her a while back, and haven’t gotten around to reading it, and wasn’t sure if it was good.

    Reply
  • 8. pajcat  |  November 26, 2006 at 5:19 am

    Today was BUSY at the store. Everyone’s starting their Christmas shopping.

    Swapping Lives wasn’t bad… I think Bookends was her best book – I keep thinking her books are going to be as good as that one but they never are. Eh. It wasn’t anything “special” if that makes sense. Nothing I’ve read lately has been mind-blowingly good. :(

    Reply
  • 9. Ama  |  November 26, 2006 at 1:23 pm

    Hehe. Maybe if I have some free time after Christmas is over I’ll come see you. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2006
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

